This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
InterContinental O.R. Tambo
InterContinental O.R. Tambo
InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental O.R. Tambo


26°7’59.1"S 28°13’50.7"E

Reviews of InterContinental at JNB

Wildlife sightings and reviews

27 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited InterContinental at JNB and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 27
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J
Ealing

"InterContinental O.R. Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Sanur, Bali

"InterContinental O.R. Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 23 May 2018
"Excellent transit hotel. One of the best transit hotels i have ever stayed at, with an excellent room service meal. Also really accommodating to our requests." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 4n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Intercontinental O.R. Tambo"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2017
"Top quality service with all requests acted upon quickly and pleasantly." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr K & Ms S
Roswell

"Comfortable and Convenient"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2017
"We stayed in the InterContinental twice for overnighters - once on our arrival in J'burg from the US, and again after our safari and before flying back to the US.

The InterContinental is a full service hotel, which partly means that it is very luxurious and partly means that it is very expensive. However, it is hard to beat for convenient access to the airport without having to use taxis to get around.

We had the bed-and-breakfast package, which provides a very substantial full breakfast as part of the package. We both ordered from the menu, but I looked over the buffet as well and was amazed at the size and variety offered." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr H
Isle of Man

"Perfect for an overnight stay at OR Tambo"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"We stayed overnight en route to Malawi from Botswana.

The hotel welcomed two dusty travellers with a warm welcome and excellent service." See all these reviews: 9n in Malawi; 4n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Mr F
Chicago

"Very nice airport hotel!"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2017
"Hotel is right across the street from the airport international terminal. Very comfortable stopover between safari & the beaches of Malawi. Room service was excellent & hotel has a really large, modern gym." See all these reviews: 4n in Malawi; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family A
Scarborough

"InterContinental O.R. Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2016
"After a long overnight flight it was a great relief to find exactly how close to the arrivals hall the hotel was, especially as I was on crutches at the time.

It was exactly what we needed and we will use it again in the future." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr C
Harrogate

"Excellent"

1 night Arrived 10 Jan 2016
"Very convenient, modern hotel. Excellent rooms." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa; 4n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Netherlands

"Comfortable stop over hotel."

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2015
"Comfortable hotel if you have to spend the night between two flights." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in Mozambique; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Netherlands

"comfortable stop over at Intercontinental O.R. Tambo"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2015
"Great hotel if you have to spend the night between two flights." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in Mozambique; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 27
96%
27 reviews of InterContinental at JNB by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Johannesburg

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge JNB

About 300m from International Arrivals at Johannesburg's O R Tambo International Airport, City Lodge makes a very convenient, well-priced stopover.


84% (163 reviews)
The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand Hotel is reasonably priced overnight hotel situated a short drive from Johannesburg O.R. Tambo International Airport.


76% (10 reviews)
Safari Club SA

Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA is an original guesthouse with nice gardens and a relaxed atmosphere only a short transfer from Johannesburg International Airport.


78% (8 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa