This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
InterContinental O.R. Tambo
InterContinental O.R. Tambo
InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental O.R. Tambo


26°7’59.1"S 28°13’50.7"E

Reviews of InterContinental at JNB

Wildlife sightings and reviews

27 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited InterContinental at JNB and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-27 of 27
Duration
Arrival date
Dr K
Singapore

"InterContinental O.R. Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 11 Apr 2015
"Stayed overnight to catch onward flight.

Very convenient within 50 m of exit from departure lounge- able to push airport luggage trolley to the hotel reception.

Easy to shop and eat in airport. Breakfast good." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Wonderfully Convenient"

1 night Arrived 6 Jul 2014
"Does what it says on the tin!

Could not be easier to get there from the airport terminal and it works as you would expect from an InterContinental.

Very convenient that you can take the airport trollies with you to the hotel." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 6n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mr A
London

"InterContinental O.R. Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2014
"A good hotel, conveniently located at the airport." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms V
Chelsea

"Intercontinental is great"

1 night Arrived 13 Dec 2013
"Great hotel. Well placed for the airport. Extremely helpful and I was able to leave a bag here so I wasn't overweight for the helicopter to Azura. Good rooms.

Only slight disappointment was the swimming pool which was a bit small but perfectly adequate" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia; 3n in Mozambique; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"InterContinental OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2013
"Such a convenient location - literally only across the road from the arrivals hall at JNB.
This was our first use of this hotel.

On previous visits we have used other hotels very close to the airport and we now wonder why it has taken so long to get round to using the InterContinental. Whilst more expensive the extra cost was well worth paying. The standard of staff and quality of food were in a higher league when compared with other hotels nearby." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Abu Dhabi

"InterContinental O.R. Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2013
"We were met at the airport and escorted to the hotel. It was after midnight when we arrived after a long day of travelling and we were checked in quickly.

They already knew when we were being collected the next day and arranged for us to keep our room til then." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr H & Ms W
London

"Intercontinental Tambo Airport"

1 night Arrived 18 Apr 2009
"We had a stop-over in Johannesburg and can recommend the Intercontinental Hotel at Tambo airport as a good place to stay near the airport. The location is fantastic, the rooms are well-designed and the facilities including pool and spa are also a highlight. Having the airport so close as well means that you are able to visit the shops etc. there very easily without needing to get a taxi.

Overall, a great option for Johannesburg when not staying in the city for a long time and just looking for a place to rest and unwind before/after flights." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Showing 21-27 of 27
96%
27 reviews of InterContinental at JNB by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Johannesburg

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge JNB

About 300m from International Arrivals at Johannesburg's O R Tambo International Airport, City Lodge makes a very convenient, well-priced stopover.


84% (163 reviews)
The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand Hotel is reasonably priced overnight hotel situated a short drive from Johannesburg O.R. Tambo International Airport.


76% (10 reviews)
Safari Club SA

Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA is an original guesthouse with nice gardens and a relaxed atmosphere only a short transfer from Johannesburg International Airport.


78% (8 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa