This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho
Beho Beho

Reviews of Beho Beho

Wildlife sightings and reviews

160 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beho Beho and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Beho Beho.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

31% success

Wild dog

71% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Eland

62% success

Striped Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 160
Duration
Arrival date
J&B
Wirral

"Wonderful Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2019
"Everything about our stay at Beho Beho was absolutely first class. Beho Beho is a short (40 min) flight from Dar but it feels like a world away. The camp is a 5 minute jeep drive from the Beho Beho International airstrip – with its cute “terminal”.

We stayed for 4 nights in early November – a very good time to visit. The camp was very quiet with only 2 other guests during our stay. Selous was green and beautiful as the short rains had arrived in October. This made for some interesting jeep rides – they really are phenomenal pieces of kit and coped very well – and although water was plentiful for the animals, we were fortunate to see lots of animals and birds. We did have some rain but this tended to be at lunch time or overnight. The Beho Beho policy of rotating the guides works very well, as does the communal dining with guides and guests at different locations throughout the property.

Many thanks to our expert guides Saningo, Mike, Godie and Idrissa – we learnt so much from you. The walking safari and boat safaris are highly recommended. Rooms are fantastic and we had “visits” from Elephant, Hippo and Water Buck. The shower was great and the WIFI worked well. The communal area is very comfortable and we liked the lack of WIFI here, as it meant that everyone spent more time in conversation or enjoying the views. Very few mosquitoes and Tsetse flies. Anyone planning a trip to Selous could not do better that Beho Beho.

It was sad to leave – but nice that Elephant and Wild dogs came to the runway to see us off!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs G
Michigan

"A return to a favorite camp"

5 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2019
"In five safaris, Beho Beho is the first camp that we have visited more than once. We loved it when we were here 5 years ago, and we were delighted to find that they have maintained the same standard. They even improved it with the addition of private plunge pools at each banda.

While Beho Beho is in a remote setting in the Selous, we enjoy having an airstrip only a 5-minute drive away from camp. One rarely sees cars from other camps, so the game viewing is essentially private. The camp is luxurious but very comfortable. They serve delicious lunches and dinners in a variety of settings and the tables are always beautifully set. The bandas are so spacious that they have a variety of places for lounging, and the addition of a walled patio with chaises and plunge pools makes it a place that's hard to leave.

While we saw fewer lions on this trip than we had in the past, we were delighted to watch them up close one morning as the 11-member Beho Beho pride greeted us from the camp's watering hole. Giraffes, elephants, and hyenas were found frequently, as were a host of crocodiles and hippos at Lake Tagalala and Lake Manze. We did one walking trek which found us dodging elephants to try to get to the riverbank for our sundowners.

This is a stunning camp with equally stunning food and service. We'd love to go back again for visit #3!" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

T & S
North Carolina

"Beho Beho - Selous Game Reserve - Perfection"

4 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2019
"Beho Beho – Selous Game Reserve

Absolutely one of the best camps, a must stop with a staff that takes care of everything that you can’t think of. Holly is the perfect hostess with a fascinating background and sharing meals with the guides, Indrissa and Godlisten, gives you more opportunity to learn about them, their country and the wildlife. You are made to feel like family. In fact, because we were the only ones there for three days, we were treated like royal family! And “No! It was never boring or too quiet.” It was a privilege.

The rustic bandas are very large with huge beds warmed by hot water bottles and hippo serenades at night, sofas and chairs, a day bed and a plunge pool all look out over a cleared area and the trees near the river. Tea and coffee and biscuits arrive at dawn. We watched a bull elephant, a lion mother with cubs and impala without leaving bed! At the waterhole you can observe huge hippo, a pride of lions, water buffalo, baboons all come to drink while you eat dinner.

The food is beyond superb! Who expects lobster thermador in the middle of the Selous? The Masai dinner served in a special location was delightful as were the guides’ recounts of their time in boarding school. Meeting the chef and his staff so we could thank them topped it off.

Finding wildlife in the Selous requires an educated guide because of the immense area of the private reserve and Beho Beho’s are the best. The fact that the reserve is private means you rarely see another vehicle and the guides don't call to each other unless a sighting is particularly rare or unusual. Wild dog, albino lion cub, elephant teaching their babies to find water under the dry sand river beds, giraffe, water buffalo, hyena, leopards, and the trip to Lake Tagalala is an experience you must have. Huge crocodile every ten feet, fleets of hippo watching you go by twenty feet away, including an albino hippo, and birds from heaven.
" See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Striped Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr MG
SE London

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2019
"This was our first safari experience and it far exceeded our expectations. We stayed at Beho Beho upon recommendation from a friend who had stayed over 6 years ago and rated it their best trip ever, they were not wrong.
On many of our drives we didn't see another jeep which show's the remoteness of the camp, all our guides were amazing, we have to give a special shout out to Idrissa and his amazing skills spotting the wild dogs – this truly was the standout moment for us on the trip.
On every game drive we saw a variety of animals from lions, elephants, giraffes and we were exceptionally lucky to see the wild dogs and a leopard. One of the best experiences was the walking safari that allows you to get a completely different view point of the animals and the area, whilst slightly nail biting it’s a must do experience if you stay here.
The banda has a private plunge pool and all the facilities in the room were pure luxury, the bed is super comfortable, the turn down service and wake up calls with fresh cookies and tea are the extra touches which makes this place so special. On our first morning we were woken up by an elephant walking past our room, the experiences you get at Beho Beho are unbelievable. The main area and pool are stunning and relaxing and you never feel that your space isn’t your own, the guides and staff are always around if you want company. Eating at the camp, was a true fine dining experience every night was something new and exciting. By the end of your stay will feel like you can’t eat another thing.
You are spoilt at Beho Beho and nothing is too much to ask, the staff are friendly, polite and fun. We don’t have enough words to explain how truly grateful we are to have had this experience with Beho Beho. Our memories will last a life time and this was the best honeymoon we could have asked for.
" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Eland

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr M
Islington

"Beho Beho - July 2019"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2019
"One of our favourite camps in Africa.

The lodge itself is stunning - every detail has been beautifully designed and maintained (and the bandas now have their own plunge pools!). The dining arrangements are carefully planned out so that you rarely eat in the same spot twice. Dinner in front of the watering hole is particularly special - it's not everywhere that you can see lion, buffalo, elephant and civets right in front of you during dinner!

The wildlife is not as densely concentrated here as it is in the Serengeti or Ruaha, but there is a real sense of wilderness - we only saw two other vehicles during our whole stay. Beho Beho has an excellent reputation for walking safari and we always fit one in when we visit - their guides are fantastic and the varied terrain near the lodge is so fun to explore on foot. The vehicle safaris (including boat safari) are always great and you have a better chance of seeing wild dogs in Beho than in most other places in Africa.

We would strongly recommend! " See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Lee H
Briarcliff, NY

"Close enough to perfect"

4 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2019
"A beautiful setting, marvelous views from the room and from the main building. Also we had hippos on the grounds every night, and an elephant on the last day!

The people were all superb. Friendly, welcoming, very good English, great service. A pleasure just to be around them. Food was excellent, every meal was delicious.

We went out with every guide at least once, and they were all great! Each trip out (8 in 4 days) was a treat!

The park is wonderful. A beautiful natural setting, and we saw lots of animals. We had a bit of a close call on a walking safari when we met a lone male elephant in must. The guides spotted him before he spotted us, we got off the trail and up on a small hill. The elephant gave a couple of quick feints toward us. We were very glad that we had the two guides with us.

The boat trip on the lake was a special treat. So many hippos, and so many birds!!
" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Suffolk

"Great Safari at Beho Beho"

5 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2019
"The main difference on arrival at Beho Beho was the heat! We were met by Idrissa, a young guide we felt will be good in time. Heribert, assistant manager and guide with eight years experience showed us around before lunch. It is a very smart and comfortable camp.

Unfortunately there seems to be an atmosphere amongst the guides and Vanessa (F and B manager) which made for stilted conversation at the communal meals, which made us feel uncomfortable. The opposite to Ikuka where all was jolly.

The grasses at Beho Beho were short and we saw more game but fewer birds.We had wonderful daily sightings of African Wild Dog, packs of 23 which was tremendous.We saw a clan of eight Hyena, 34 giraffe together and herds of buffalo, wildebeest, eland, zebra and some elephant. Had three sightings of lion and also two cubs and a leopard and quantities of hippo.

We also got severely stuck our first morning. The guide, Sanningo, called for the cavalry on his radio, who arrived after 20 minutes and got stuck too! My husband quickly realised the winch was not operational. After a great deal of jacking up and stones laid strategically, an hour later we were at last freed, clouds of black smoke and a hippo lumbering by where I had just had a pee.

The heat was intense but the new plunge pools are a great asset. It would be nice to have umbrellas to give shade there.

For all the very smart, comfortable and beautiful camp and game, the tricky atmosphere may put us off returning." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

5 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Safari addict
UK

"Wonderful Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2019
"Second visit to Beho Beho did not disappoint. Yes it is expensive but you do get what you pay for.

You will not see the volumes of animals that you would in the Serengeti but when something is spotted you will nearly always get the viewing to yourselves. The location, ambience, staff, food cannot be bettered.

What particularly makes this place is the family atmosphere and the enthusiasm of the people - particularly the guides." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Luxury camp - great guiding"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"We have stayed in a number of camps in Africa over the past number of years and Beho Beho is definitely in the top league from every point of view. It is a beautiful luxury camp with a real family feel to it, all the staff keen to ensure that your stay was as comfortable and exciting as it could be. All the staff were very attentive and helpful which my wife greatly appreciated, due to her limited mobility having recently broken and dislocated her ankle

Each of the thatched, stone built rooms, or bandas, overlook the Selous reserve. Each has an open veranda area with day bed and very comfortable chairs in which to relax. The central area of the lodge is very relaxing, and there is a small pool area in which you can cool off after the morning game drive or lunch.

The food produced by Vanessa and her team was excellent and varied, we are always amazed at the level of cuisine in the camps given the dificulties in supply etc. Varying the locations within the camp area for each evening meal, which were communal, was another nice touch. We much prefer the more informal communal approach to evening meals where everyone can swap stores and anecdotes. In addtion the guides dine with the guests which is an added bonus.

Unlike the majority of camps we have stayed in over the years, Beho Beho has a policy of rotating the guides during your stay so over our four nights we got to sample the different styles of
Roel, Heribert, Godlisten and Saning'o. All were excellent, providing differing insights into the African bush.

Roel was our guide for the day trip to Lake Tagalala which was a very different form of safari and enabled us to see hippos, crocodiles and a wide variety of birdlife from a totally different perspective. That, coupled with the breakfast on the banks of the lake made it a very special trip indeed.

A warm and friendly camp with excellent guiding - thoroughly enjoyable." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr S.
Albuquerque

"Beho Beho review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"Best guides we have ever had! I really liked that they rotated the guides among guests as it gives more perspective. The accommodations and food were the best.

A suggestion for Beho Beho is to have name tags for the staff. While they were all introduced, the names of the staff were not easy to remember and pronounce with out seeing written." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 160
100%
160 reviews of Beho Beho by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
158
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (67 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa