This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Reviews of Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

82 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Taj Pamodzi Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 82
Duration
Arrival date
Mr P
Nottingham

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2012
"They were expecting me the day before, but no real problem." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Dr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Good place for a relaxed one-night stay"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2012
"Stayed for one night after arriving on the Emirates flight in the afternoon. Good option." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms C
Canada

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2012
"I only spent one night at the Taj Pamodzi hotel right after getting to Zambia. Its a good location for a one night stop in Lusaka." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr H
Isle of Man

"An impersonal but good enough hotel"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2012
"We arrived at about 7 p.m. and although our reservation was found, the receptionist tried to claim that the room had not been prepaid. After encouragement from us, they accepted the Expert Africa voucher and agreed that we did not have to pay for the room.

Dinner was fine but there were few guests and the atmoshpere after the camps was a bit imperonal.

Breakfast began at 5.30 so we were able to eat before leaving for the airport to catch the morning BA flight. However, the breakfast buffet had obviously been cooked hours before and the food not yet properly re-heated. Overall, a poor epxerience and we wouldn't stay again." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
The Sand Martins
Oxon

"Overnight stay at the Taj Pamodzi Hotel"

1 night Arrived 23 Mar 2012
"We stayed one night here prior to catching the early morning BA flight back to London. The hotel is a good choice, and is only about 20-25 minutes from Lusaka airport by taxi." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs D
London

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2011
"Oh dear, the Pamodzi hasn't improved in the last 30 years! We first went there in 1980 and have stayed there quite a few times since on various press trips and I'm afraid it got a universal thumbs down from the group. The reception from the receptionist was uber chilly and we were kept waiting for a considerable time while passports were photocopied and various forms filled in but were not invited to sit, rather were left standing.

The only half good thing was a glass of fruit juice from the porter, who did his best to be friendly. The receptionist then announced grimly that one of the twin rooms was a smoking rooms and when we remonstrated we were grudgingly given an altenative. But all was still not well and when we got there we found the alternative was a double bedded room. When we moved to another on the same floor we found it was a smoking room. The other two of the group who were in an ostensibly non smoking room, reported that it smelled very strongly of smoke. So far, not so good.

The mini bar was stocked with a coke and tin of tonic water. Nothing else!

We asked to see the Duty Manager, who proved not to be a charm school graduate. He told us that we had paid a discounted rate for our rooms, the inference being that even though we had booked executive twins, we were pretty lucky to have got anything. We encouraged him to smooth ruffled feathers and he offered us a complimentary tea or coffee, which didn't appeal as it was 8pm by now. Eventually four glasses of wine arrived but not with any grace or enthusiasm.

Having waited to be served for some time, we eventually attracted the attention of a waiter and asked if he knew the Kwacha/dollar exchange rate so we could work out the cost of a bottle of wine. Further long delay before another waiter was able to answer this.

A grim buffet dinner, dry, tasteless and the not at all the standard to be expected from an international hotel. The breakfast was OK but all too much at 5am." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Terrible
The W Group
Berkshire

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2011
"Typical snooty unhelpful receptionist of this type of hotel, who wasn't minded to help us with our minor mix up re transport.
Nice restaurant, with good food, but v expensive.

However, looking at Lusaka this is a good place to stay in a smart hotel." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 9n in Zambia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs L
Surrey

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"The room allocated had obviously been used by someone on a late check out after it had been cleaned as there was a dirty glass that the porter took away, used shampoo and signs that someone had lain on the bed. Other than that it was OK.

We were not met at the airport by Voyager and had to get the hotel shuttle which fortunately was picking up someone else on a different flight. We thought we were going to have to use the hotel shuttle back to the airport in the morning but fortunately Voyager turned up.

The staff wanted to charge us for one room even though they had the vouchers for 2 rooms passed to them when we checked in. When we question this they said OK. Obviously trying it on." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
W Midlands

"Taj Pamodzi Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 6 Mar 2011
"Our short overnight stay prior to catching an early flight was uneventful other than a mix up over our pre-paid room." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"A convenient overnighter"

1 night Arrived 9 Jan 2011
"We stayed one night in transit on our way back to London and were satisfied with the arrangements and accommodation" See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 82
78%
82 reviews of Taj Pamodzi Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
45
15
2
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp, situated 14 kilometres from Lusaka's international airport is ideal for a night's stopover at the end of your trip.


79% (122 reviews)
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a small but comfortable, boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style.


93% (58 reviews)
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck looks like any other Zambian house in the road, but inside you'll find it to be an interesting and eclectic little hotel with a real flavour of Zambia.


84% (38 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


83% (38 reviews)
Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi is a boutique lodge on the outskirts of Luaska, located on its own game farm in a lovely rural setting.


92% (10 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa