This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp


7°39’53.1"S 38°3’53.3"E

Reviews of Lake Manze Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

208 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lake Manze Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lake Manze Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

25% success

Wild dog

53% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

94% success

Striped Hyena

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 151-160 of 208
Duration
Arrival date
Mr C
West Sussex

"Great start to a superb two-centre safari"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2010
"# the excellant camp fully met our expectations NB. the description in your brochure / website (& Adventure Camps of TZ) were spot-on in contrast to the overstated marketing hype that is still a feature of some operators literature.

# we appreciated the thatched 'hall' combined the bar, dining-room and lounge. Each time we entered as at least one member of staff was present and each were genuinely interested in our experiences and encouraged our attempts at Kiswahili.

# Pleasantly surprised to be bug free (in July) despite the adjacent lake.

#Vehicle tracks were often very poor and clearly very little of the Selous Reserve's income is used to maintain the infrastructure. We would certainly support any proposals to have the northern tourist blocks upgraded to National Park status.

# the boat rips were a particular feature and we enjoyed both a lake and channel trip - each time ELTON was our very experienced and truly excellant boatman.

# excellant food and being served under cover in the day in the impressive thatched 'hall' meant it was easier to interact with the staff.....and still enjoy the passing elephant or two!

# recommend the full day safari option to the hot springs, with an a delicious picnic lunch. We enjoyed the company of our guide EMMANUEL and driver OMARI MKOMA, who is fun character - promised photos of the hot springs 'team swim' will be posted shortly.

# impressed by our walking safari from the carefull briefing though to getting our proverbial dung recognition & tracking certificates!!

# Plenty of wildlife passed thought he camp but the Masai guards were pros and we felt very safe in their hands.

# Our regular landrover team was guide ADAM and driver ABUU - their combined spotting skills and knowledge was impressive and very much appreciated." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms MP
Belgium

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2010
"We loved this camp and really enjoyed all our road, boat and all-day safaris.

Our guides Adam and Rashidi and driver Abu were absolutely excellent and put so effort into making sure we had a brilliant time." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss & Mr B
Herts

"Back to basics at Lake Manze Camp"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2010
"We had a wondeful time at lake manze camp. The staff there were fantastic, always helpful, friendly, warm and knowledgeable. Richard and Sara who manage the camp are both very welcoming and make every effort to ensure you have a great safari experience.

The camp is very much back to basics, no electricity and showering under the stars. The tents are clean and comfortable and provide everything you need. The guides are fantastic and our favourite part of the holiday was the lake safari's with rasheedi.

The evening dinner is quite an experience, a communal dinner out amongst the wildlife, if you don't like creepy crawlies you may stuggle a little as there are thousands of them, including all over the dinner table, I did find this hard to get used to, but enjoyed the experience nonetheless." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Green Season Safari in Selous"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2010
"We chose this style of camp because having experienced a number of safaris in Africa before our goal
was to be 'Close to nature' and this style of camp was as close as you could get (except mobile camping).
Generally, the more 'Up Market' a camp becomes the further away from the 'Close to nature' experience the lodge/camp becomes.
Therefore the level at which this camp is set is not for who desire fine wines and nouvelle cuisine but Lake Manze provides more simpler offerings and of course the price reflected this, however the food was good and the beds
clean and comfortable and we have no complaints in the area. The only thing I would mention was the taste of the drinking water,
it comes from the lake and I'm not too suprised it has a 'Special' flavour so I would stick to bottled water if I was you.
The staff were friendly and obliging, the guides were keen and enthusiastic and Richard kept them all in toe and was always there to see you off in the morning and also there on your return back from your venture into Selous. Excellent birthday cake made by Suleiman (thankyou).

Would I go back there ? - problably !" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Barnstable

"Amazing Game from the moment we landed"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2010
"Carlson and Abbu mad ethe visit absolutely unforgettable.... their determination to find the unfindable was infectious, and other passing Land Rovers were stopping us for information.... they were the best...

From an Elephant in the middle of the camp, to a Puff Adder in the bar.... how much wilder could you expect to be?" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs E
Sydenham

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Jan 2010
"Set amongst the wilderness and resting on the shores of Lake Manze, the camp here is a must for those who enjoy the outdoors and who love being amongst nature. The variety of wildlife here is incredible and much of it can be seen in and around the camp (including elephants who frequently walk amongst the compound), whilst more can be heard at night as many of the animals come to the lake to drink.

Being in a tent you get a real sense of living and sleeping in the very world which the animals inhabit whilst having the opportunity to travel further afield during the day to witness the diversity of animal and bird life in the surrounding areas. This can be done either in a jeep, by boat along the river or simply by walking into the bush, all accompanied by very helpful guides who are only too happy to teach you about the animals and their behavior as you watch them in their natural habitat. (Safari on foot is superb as it gives you a chance to stop and see details that you would perhaps miss whilst driving.)

The food here is both simple and familiar, a lovely mix of fresh salads, meat dishes, rice, pasta and desserts. Cooked breakfast is available every morning, lunch is often in the company of passing elephants whilst dinner is usually held with all visitors to the camp under the stars. (Be sure to check your plate before each mouthful here as the insect life is abundant!) After dinner a Masaai guard will guide you back to your tent and once there you will rely on candle and torchlight as there is no electricity. There are torches in the tent but we recommend you bring your own! (There are some power points in the bar area if you need to charge camera batteries etc.)

All the staff here are very friendly and incredibly helpful, whilst eager to talk to you about your day and what you have experienced. We spent four days here and saw more than we could have hoped for, but a shorter stay would be just as rewarding.

Overall an amazing and memorable experience and we would thoroughly recommend it." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr I & Mrs W
Dorset

"A real safari experience on Lake Manze"

5 nights Arrived 13 Dec 2009
"A great place to get close to wildlife. The boat safaris are probably the higlight of this camp and if time permits it is well worth doing one both morning and evening as the experience can be quite different. The truck safaris were good, but given time of year (Dec) when game has dispersed there were long periods of driving to locate the animals - however the scenery is great so no real hardship. We were lucky enough to see Wild Dog 3 times during our stay including on a walking safari.

The camp itself is well run and the standards very good given the logisitics of supporting a camp in this remote location. Food was at times an interesting mix of dishes but all very good. We both thoroughly enjoyed the communal aspect of dining, and it was a great opportunity to share the days adventures. We had regular appearances of a Genet Cat and a beautiful Skops Owl to entertain us at dinner.

The regular appearance of Elephant, Cape Buffalo and Hippo in the camp added to the experience, but the highlight was the 4 pairs of lions eyes 30 metres away picked out by the torch of the Masai guard one evening as we walked to dinner." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Vanessa
Essex

"Lake Manze safari"

3 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2009
"This was our first safari and the experience lived up to our expectations. The camp is in a beautiful setting. The big attraction for us was the easy access - only a 40 minute flight from Dar Es Salaam.

All the staff were friendly and welcoming and the guides were very knowledgable.

The camp was very quiet when we were there so we were fortunate enough to have a guide exclusively for us most of the time - an added bonus.

Overall the food was good and there was plenty of it. Tea and coffee was available all day/evening which was a nice touch. Drinks were very reasonably priced." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs F & Mrs M
IOW

"Wonderful Safari at Lake Manze"

4 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2009
"The setting for Lake Manze Tented Camp is beautiful. The tents have all that you need for a stay in the bush. We loved the varied terrain and variety of game (large and small)

Our original guide had to leave us on the last day, for a hospital appointment, and our replacement was unfortunately not of the same standard. We did discuss this with Richard, so he is aware of it.

The boat safari with Elton was extremely interesting and rewarding because he was so enthusiastic about the birds.

All the staff were friendly and very welcoming. With Richard being a wonderful host.

The game drives were very good, with so much to see and watch. The highlight being the Wild Dogs trotting up the track in front of our vehicle and the 6 pups having a "game" with a warthog !!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Devon

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2009
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 151-160 of 208
93%
208 reviews of Lake Manze Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
147
54
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (69 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa