This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp

Reviews of Pioneer Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

120 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pioneer Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 101-110 of 120
Duration
Arrival date
Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"OK as an overnight stop before flying home"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2010
"We had been undoubtedly spoilt with the four previous accomodations, and the Pioneer Camp was a bit of a disappointment. The "luxury" chalets are in need of renovation and refurbishment (damaged blinds, scruffy bedding and towels). Paul the manager was helpful in doing our BA check-in.

The evening meal was more pub than restaurant. It was a bit of a disappointment all round at the end of an otherwise perfect holiday. In its favour it was nearer the airport than the hotels of Lusaka. It is a campsite and looks like one." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Plymouth

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jun 2010
"It was very nice to go to another camp rather than a hotel in Lusaka and the owner and food were very good.

However, the room we were given was very dark and curtains would not draw. Also the bedside lampshade was burnt at the top. It just needed a bit of cosmetic tender loving care!" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Ms D & Mr B
Berks

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Jun 2010
"The last night is always a difficult one and we've tried Taj Pamodzi and Chaminuka before. It's hard for us to judge because we arrived after dark and had to leave very early in the morning.

One thing we didn't appreciate was being dumped late at night with our bags and then trying to find our way back to the dining area in the dark. Turns out there was a portable light in the room, but we didn't recognise it as such.

The owner was friendly and realising our tiredness began cooking our dinner order whilst we were being taken to the chalet so that we could just eat and go to bed." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Service:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
MGC

"very convenient for airport"

2 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2009
"pick up[ service from airport was good, accomodation was to a high standard and very quiet. Evening meals were good and chef can do veggie specials upon request" See all these reviews: 17n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The D Family
Ontario

"Pioneer Camp was a quiet out of the way place"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2009
"The camp was very accomodating for us. The food was good.

The matresses in the room were quite old and used - we got a lot of insect bites from the mattresses??
The rest of the facility was good.

It was quite far from the city of Lusaka, so visitors have to be aware that a taxi ride to anywhere will cost more than 150,000 kwacha ($30) one way." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms C
Italy

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2009
"Nice and quite place.

The staff has been very kind. The room was very spacious and extremely confortable.

Great food!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Glos

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2009
"Not much to say, really. It was somewhere to stay at the end of our trip.

Much more backpacker/laptop/mobile phone/just out of town atmosphere.

Good location being handy for the airport but out of town." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms C
Italy

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2009
"Nice camp in a calm and quite area. The room was spacious and very confortable." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Leeds

"Pioneer - o/k to over-night."

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"This was just an over-nighter.
Further from the airport than anticipated, but o/k.
Nice welcome from the owner - Paul.
Food better than anticipated.
Rooms really only average, but o/k.


" See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"simple stopover"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"Simpler than the Jaj in Luzaja this is fine for 1 night. Food OK, but not to Tafica standard.

Room is large and OK, but short on some things - soap, light, water very slow. But who cares at the end of a bushcamp visit." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 101-110 of 120
79%
120 reviews of Pioneer Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
32
55
28
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Lusaka's Taj Pamodzi Hotel is a typical large hotel, which may be useful as a stop-over for the beginning or end of a safari in Zambia.


78% (82 reviews)
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a small but comfortable, boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style.


93% (58 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


83% (38 reviews)
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck looks like any other Zambian house in the road, but inside you'll find it to be an interesting and eclectic little hotel with a real flavour of Zambia.


84% (38 reviews)
Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi is a boutique lodge on the outskirts of Luaska, located on its own game farm in a lovely rural setting.


92% (10 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa