This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Azura at Quilalea
Azura at Quilalea
Azura at Quilalea
Azura at Quilalea
Azura at Quilalea
Azura at Quilalea

Reviews of Azura at Quilalea

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Azura at Quilalea and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-17 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Brentwood

"Great time at Quilalea Island"

6 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2008
"A wonderful place to finish a holiday. The snorkelling off the beach excellent with access to fish and coral only metres away from the edge. Great variety of fish and noticeably different at varying tide levels. We were told that the diving was also very good as were the diving instructors.

The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble for them. Inevitably fish and shellfish were the foundation of the menus but if asked prior to mealtimes they would always find an acceptable alternative. The bungalows were very attractive beautifully furnished with a lovely balcony and sundeck all looking over the sea as indeed were all windows for the main part of the room.The sundowner snacks at the bar were delicious as was your private picnic on Turtle Beach and your special private dinner.

It has now changed hands as from 1 September but the Resort Manager does not believe there will be any changes to the experience for guests. Nathan, the Resort Manager, was quite exceptional having been Chef for the first 4 years of the Islands operations and progressed upwards to his current position. Exceptionally knowledgable about the island, the resort, marine biology and the birds of the island.

A grat experience and one to be treasured." See all these reviews: 6n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
The bee-eaters
Cyprus

"Quilalea Island Resort review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2008
"We loved the location but unfortunately the weather was unseasonally windy which made marine activites rather difficult." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 7n in Mozambique; 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The Leopards
Jersey

"Quilalea Island - Paradise found!"

7 nights Arrived 10 May 2008
"WOW - what can we say. Truly paradise. We were met at Pemba airport by Meila who looked after us very well. Helicopter trip was amazing - would recommend this mode of transfer - views over the coast and other islands fantastic. From the time we arrived we felt totally relaxed and the staff really did make you feel extremely special, nothing was too much trouble, it truly felt like your own little tropical island.

Fantastic rooms with your very own private beach view. Loved the shower with its doors opening to the outside. Opened window shutter every night and woke up with the sunrise every morning. Food was fantastic and plentiful, at times is was almost an effort to eat everything on offer!!

We went scuba diving, snorkelling - one of our party used to be a dive master in the Caribbean but reckons the marine life was better than anything she's ever seen! Sunset dhow trip was lovely, very relaxing and the kayaking in the mangroves was great fun. We also did the trip to Ibo island which was really good. What a fascinating place and history, it would be really interesting to return in a few years time and see how it has developed.

All praise to Nathan and his wonderful staff - one of our party was a novice scuba diver and Brendan really looked after him. Couldn't really single out anyone, they were all so friendly and attentive pandering to all our needs without being intrusive. On our last day and night we were the only guests which made it even more special. The staff even baked us a huge chocolate birthday cake and presented it to us after dinner along with a fantastic song and dance display - music provided by any kitchen instrument they could lay their hands on - great fun!!!

Really sad to leave but our return helicopter flight was even better with yet more stunning views and we were met once again by Meila who again looked after us extremely well.

Truly, truly memorable." See all these reviews: 7n in Mozambique; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs Guineafowl
UK

"Magical Quilalea"

7 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2007
"We had a gorgeous time arriving by boat across that turquiose sea! About 5 staff met us on the beach - Inez then took us on a guide of the resort. To be honest, we were quite exhausted by the time we arrived and would have loved to have flopped with a cold drink for an hour and then to have had the guide. However, we were thrilled with all we saw and adored our rooms.

We thought Janine was quite the most professional diving guide - Juliet did her first dive with her and was so impressed. The rest of the young loved all the dives and snorkelling. We were led to believe by the list of boats sent to me that there would be waterskiing - I misunderstood the description of skiboat - a great shame but understandable considering the currents there.

I also expected the fishing to be better - a leaflet I was sent talked about the wonderful flyfishing off the beach at Quilalea - that was a particular disappointment as the plan for the last week of the holiday was to be really active - particularly for the boys in the party who were mad keen flyfishermen. Also, the deepsea fishing boat was out of order - they might have resorted to that even if the boat had been working. Nathan did his best on our last afternoon - thank you Nathan - to get the boys into a fish - but no luck.

Other activities were great - kayaking in the mangroves, the trip to Ibo, snorkelling etc. etc.

Inez was a very caring and helpful person. Laundry was pretty non-existant - especially as we had arrived from safari with many dirty clothes - we had to chase them up a bit. The staff in the diningroom were gorgeous - again, we loved eating out under the stars - all lots of work for the staff but much appreciated.

Our general impression of Quilalea is gorgeous. We all had a wonderful time and left it with very heavy hearts." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Miss W
Sheffield

"A beautiful resort"

8 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2007
"We arrived at Quilalea minus our luggage (which was still in Dar es Salaam), so it wasn't the best start to our paradise honeymoon! However the staff at Quilalea bent over backwards to help - we were taken shopping in Pemba on our way to the transfer and so had managed to buy a few essentials. Once on the island some other guests lent us clothes and our bags arrived after 3 days.

The island itself is beautiful - and our villa was spectacular. It was nice to meet in the bar each evening to discuss if we wanted to do any activities the following day. We did a Discover Scuba course and enjoyed it so much that we went on to dive nearly every day (accompanied by the Divemaster Janine).

The marine life and corals were beautiful and we also had the most amazing experience of snorkelling with dolphins.

Mark was also the first ever guest to do the 4 1/2 hour kayak to Ibo island (with Nathan, one of the staff.) We also chartered the Islands' catamaran for half a day which we really enjoyed as a change from diving and snorkelling.

The food on the island was superb and the restaurant staff very friendly and chatty. It's a pretty laid back place with a very relaxed atmosphere. As with the other lodges we stayed at, we couldn't find fault." See all these reviews: 9n in Mozambique; 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Marshalls
UK

"Barefoot luxury on an intimate island"

10 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2007
"We had a wonderful stay. Even after 10 days we left wanting more, especially as our days could get busy with two dives.

We had room 9 booked and confirmed but when we arrived we were allocated another room. We showed our voucher and luckily room 9 was to be used by other guests arriving that day so a swap was possible. Not sure what would have happened otherwise! Definitely go for rooms 8 or 9, then 6/7. Rooms 1-5 are nearer the generator which runs 24 hours.

Great dive school. Well organised, and everything arranged for you, including carrying of heavy equipment to the boat.

Great food too with lots of delicious local seafood. Staff very friendly and willing but their English was often limited to the extent they could not answer queries or take instructions, eg, coffee ordered for 7.15 came at 7.45. Language barrier also a bit of an issue with the massage girls as you could not tell them anything about the treatment you hoped for.

Good other range of activities - kayaking, walking round the island, picnic lunch, visits to other islands. The trip to Ibo, while very worthwhile, was rather overpriced at $400 we felt compared to the cost of other boat trips." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 10n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms N & Mr H
London

"Quilalea"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2007
"Overall the experience was excellent.

Some of the activities appeared a little expensive, eg the trip to Ibo Island." See all these reviews: 7n in Mozambique; 3n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Showing 11-17 of 17
98%
17 reviews of Azura at Quilalea by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
15
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Mozambique

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Mozambique.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Quirimbas Archipelago

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Ibo Island Lodge

Ibo Island Lodge

Ibo Island Lodge offers an amazing insight into traditional Mozambique island life, plus relaxing dhow trips and canoe excursions.


98% (8 reviews)
Vamizi Lodge

Vamizi Lodge

Vamizi Island is the ultimate barefoot getaway, with stunning beaches, wonderful private villas and fantastic food.


92% (5 reviews)
Ibo Dhow Safari

Ibo Dhow Safari

Island hopping safaris offer swimming in turquoise waters, stunning snorkelling, camps on sandy islands and beaches, and exploration of the islands' history.


100% (2 reviews)
Medjumbe Private Island

Medjumbe Private Island

Medjumbe Lodge stands on a tiny and fairly remote private island, in the middle of the Quirimbas. It's the flagship lodge of a small chain and the snorkeling and diving in this area is excellent.


No reviews yet
Vamizi Island Villas

Vamizi Villas

Vamizi Island Villas offers an exclusive beach getaway. The individual Villas are hosted by a dedicated hospitality team.


No reviews yet
Mogundula Private Island

Mogundula Private Island

Brand new to the Quirimbas Archipelago, Mogundula Private Island looks set to be a superb luxury option.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa