This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge

Reviews of Canyon Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

96 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Canyon Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Canyon Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Oryx

80% success

Zebra

60% success

Giraffe

40% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 81-90 of 96
Duration
Arrival date
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Good place to visit the Fish River Canyon"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2008
"We stayed in Std Rooms ("S" rooms), which were simple but clean and more then adequate to serve as a base to visit the Canyon region. Staff at the lodge main building were helpfull and friendly. Morning sunrise walk and afternoon scenic drive enjoyable.

We drove ourselves to the Canyon : fantastic scenery all the way. Pitty Ais-Ais was closed and we could not drive to the base of the Canyon." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Berkshire

"A beautiful location"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2008
"Canon Lodge is like an oasis in the middle of the Gondwana Reserve. We were lucky enough to have no. 13 and had spectacular views of the surrounding area and the wonderful sunsets. They are just finishing a new swimming pool in a lovely setting overlooking the plains.

The optional drive to the Canyon was worth doing. A very good guide.

The resturant and food was very good. Especially their own produce, all very fresh and well prepared." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Lincs

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2008
"We were really impressed with helpful, cheerful and friendly service. Surprised by the beautiful gardens in such a hostile desert climate." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B & Mrs C
Fleet

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2008
"Wonderful location, good standard of service.

No flights over the canyon were available at the time of our visit, which was a bit of a disappointment, but otherwise a lovely stay." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Elegy

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2008
"very much liked the room designs. Rock Hyrax's were fun to watch." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr B & Mrs E
Surrey

"It's a long way down"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2008
"Because we had booked very late (having expected to be at Fish River Lodge) our rooms were almost at the end of the resort (nos 27 and 30 of 30). It was therefore a very long walk to and from the central facilities and a long haul with luggage.

The rooms were fine but not much space outside - rather cramped little pathways and no real terrace to sit out and look at the strange rock formations or watch the sunsets which were very impressive

We took the trip to the Canyon as a foursome which was OK, but rather expensive for what was on offer - the trip in an old vehicle and about an hour there, then a drive back.

Breakfasts were something of a trial as the staff did not seem to appreciate how much some people ate. Many items ran out very quickly and refilling did not seem to be a priority. As an example, the fresh fruit salad had all gone within a few minutes of service starting one morning and it took almost half an hour before a small bowl of tinned tomatoes replaced the salad! Not much good with Corn Flakes.

We took a walk around the site and found a substantial development project underway which looks as though it will significantly increase the size of the place and the numbers of people staying - we hope the central facilities are to be expanded accordingly." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Teddington

"Lovely hobbit-houses"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2008
"Great fun. The 'hobbit house' we had amongst the granite boulders was lovely.

The food in the restaurant was good too, and the staff very helpful. The star was Fritz, the chief guide (and main mover behind the organisation of the place). His knowledge was prodigious, and he was really good company. He gave us a first rate tour of the Fish River Canyon, with an in-depth account of the geological history that I (as a professional geologist) couldn't fault.

He persuaded us it was safe to drive down to the Orange River, which turned out to be one of the best drives of the holiday, albeit the most lonely (we didn't see another person or car until we got to the road along the Orange River, and only saw 6 other vehicles in 260km)." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dune larks
Sheffield

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2008
"Wonderful location - we got the room/bungalow that was in all the postcard pictures so impressive views! Staff very pleasant and helpful and made the stay great.

Took the opportunity to be taken to the Canyon by John, one of the guides and it was great to talk to him about the geology and fauna which was very informative. Food good." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Bitterns
Twickenham

"Among the rocks at Canyon Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2008
"Fantastic location (we had a lodge facing the desert) and very helpful staff. Good food, most of which is grown locally on the Lodge's own farm. enjoyed riding here on a rather sleepy mount and very friendly resident black cat liked our biscuits. Cold at night here in June and the open fire in the restaurant was most welcome." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
The Dassies
Cumbria

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2008
"Canyon Lodge is quite a large lodge and because we arrived at the same time as several other guests we felt the welcome was a little impersonal. It was quite a drive from the lodge to Fish Canyon for sunrise and sunset photographs.

As we are keen photographesr it may have been better to stay at Grande View Lodge." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 81-90 of 96
89%
96 reviews of Canyon Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
50
41
4
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

Perched on the lip of Fish River Canyon, Fish River Lodge has some of the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


93% (59 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa