This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge

Reviews of Canyon Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

96 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Canyon Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Canyon Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Oryx

80% success

Zebra

60% success

Giraffe

40% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 96
Duration
Arrival date
Mr T & Mr B
UK

"Location Location"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2009
"Good location, friendly staff, good food and effiecient service. The room is probably the smallest we stayed in Namibia. Room numbers 24 to 29 are on a higher elevation which have better view. We were given room 27 which gave us a beautiful view of the distant mountains and glorious sunset." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr R
Hampshire

"Great place at Canyon Lodge"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2009
"This lodge is in a fantastic location and the individual chalet rooms are unique - the layout of the lodge is really special. We really enjoyed the food, and the staff were really helpful.

The location of the swimming pool and honesty bar is stunning - we didn't swim, but it was inviting. Good place for trails and hiking and we enjoyed the views from the top of nearby mountains.

Wished we could have stayed for another night." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R & Mr G
Hants

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2009
"We loved the accommodation fashioned from local stone, reeds and wood and we got the one featured in all the publicity - a bit of a trek to the restaurant but what a perfect view and unspoilt silence.

We went on the sundowner walk to the top of a small hill, not all those who set out completed the walk because for the elderly, it was quite challenging, but for those of us who did, our guide was knowledgeable and amusing and the views were spectacular.

Supper was accompanied by roaring fires and very attentive service. By the second night the accommodation continued to amaze, please and exceed expectation, and we were greeted by hot water bottles!!

" See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia; 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs J
Warwick

"Return to Canyon Lodge after walk."

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2009
"Prompt friendly pick up from Ai-Ais by Rudy, who spotted game etc.
This time stayed in chalets, great locations.
Dining room very atmospheric, with several fires.
" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Victoria

"Canyon Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2009
"Loved this place and wish we'd stayed another night." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs J
Warwick

"Canyon Lodge base before FRC - standard room"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2009
"Good base for Fish River Canyon hike, half hour from Hobas, lodge provides transfers.

We omitteed to note that South African time was one hour ahead - staff did not bat an eyelid when we turned up for breakfast at 5.30am and served us willingly!

Hot water bottles provided in beds much appreciated.

" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Ms J & Mr R
Bath

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2009
"This was one of our favourite places. The cabins are lovely and very picturesque. The food was excellent as was the service. And the sundowner walk was a nice extra. Great location for the Fish River Canyon.

It's worth stopping off at the Quiver Tree Forest and Giant's Playground en route." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
MrB & DrT
London

"Canyon Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2009
"I loved the layout of the individual chalets amongst the Kopje (?sp), with dassies scurrying around.Helpful staff took us for a sundowner atop one such rocky outcrop. There were other activities eg guided drives and walks, or horseriding, or you could lounge by the wonderful swimming pool with a beer from the honesty bar.

Food was plentiful , including game, salads, and produce from the Lodge's own farmstead,and quality was very good,meals were self service from a buffet counter. Good wine list.

The choir entertained us with singing on Mothers Day which was very enjoyable.

The Lodge is obviously popular, and a large coach party occupied much of the dining room during our stay, if you wanted a smaller, more intimate and personable place to stay then consider the Canyon Roadhouse, (same owners) - we had lunch and coffee here twice and the staff remembered us. It had a nice relaxed feel to it." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Two couples
Bucks

"Canyon Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2009
"The Manager was away for three weeks and it showed. This is a strange Lodge, in some ways it is excellent - for example the cooking - but in others it is quite dreadful.

The negative part first. After a long flight from London and then a two hour transfer from Windhoek we were pretty exhausted but were given a nice friendly welcome when we arrived and then were shown to our rooms. Our room was the furthest from the house and was dark and unwelcoming. The duvet covers looked tired and washed out. As we entered the bathroom the first thing we saw was cigarette ash left in piles around the toilet area and, on closing the bathroom door a pile of dirt facing us in an area which cannot have been cleaned for months.

I informed the Manageress about the problem but she couldnt do anything about it until the cleaning staff came back mid afternoon so we had to hang around and wait to have our room cleaned - not a good start to the holiday. The problem was further compounded by the fact that there wasnt any soap in the shower and when we asked for some we were told we would have to buy it! The lack of cleanliness saga continued with cigarette butts dropped along the pathway to the rooms and then, to finish it all , when we were leaving and doing a 'final check' under the bed we found a pair of someone else's dirty pants which must have been missed by the cleaners.......

On a positive note the situation is lovely and Niko our guide took us out for a lovely sunrise drive and walk which was magical. He was full of information and stories and looked after us very well during our trip. The kitchen staff produced wonderful food (especially the homemade bread which was delicious) and we had a nice braai.

Canon Lodge is expensive for what it is. Nothing is included in the price which makes this quite an expensive place to stay - compared with Sossusvlei Wilderness Camp this lodge was a dump.

It was a shame that we had such a dirty, tired room - nowhere else in Namibia did we come across such a problem. Infact everywhere else it was quite the opposite. This lodge needs to lift its standards." See all these reviews: 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"Canyon Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Dec 2008
"The best feature here now is the new pool area with great views across to the mountains, also there is a fridge full of cold drinks in the small shady section (honesty list for this).

It was particularly hot on this visit and the room has fans which were a godsend at night. Friendly and helpful staff especially for luggage as we were in room 23 ,the furthest from reception." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 71-80 of 96
89%
96 reviews of Canyon Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
50
41
4
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

Perched on the lip of Fish River Canyon, Fish River Lodge has some of the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


93% (59 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa