This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge

Reviews of Canyon Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

96 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Canyon Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Canyon Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Oryx

80% success

Zebra

60% success

Giraffe

40% success

Wildebeest

40% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 96
Duration
Arrival date
Miss T & Mr B
London

"perfect customer service"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2010
"Everything you could wish for if you were running the lodge yourself, service was spot on.

Could do with some better sign posting on the access roads to the lodge" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Woking

"Oasis at the end of a nightmare"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2010
"The lodge is wonderful and the staff (especially Madolyn and Selma) delightful.

The road in was horrendous - our first stretch of gravel road, 137 km long and (we later learned) in uncharacteristically poor condition. It was very badly corrugated for most of the way and had us wishing that we'd stayed at home. But rounding the final bends to see the lodge was a very pleasant surprise and we had a great two days here.

We were in the furthest of the bungalows (23) which felt wonderfully isolated, with beautiful views from the terrace - and another upmarket cave for a bathroom. Loved the way they had built into and around the rocks without compromising on comfort. The guided drive to the canyon was interesting and enjoyable - we particularly enjoyed stretching our legs on the walk to the hikers viewpoint." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Stockport

"Beautiful location at Canyon Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2010
"Everything about this place was perfect for us.
We had a great room with fantastic views. I love the boulders jutting into it.

A really good buffet-style evening meal with a very good choice for the vegetarian one of us.
Really lovely gardens at the front of the building.

Not too far to go to see the canyon and in a beautiful location." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Berkeley

"Impressive lodge design in stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2010
"A real oasis after a long hot dusty drive - our first real introduction to gravel roads. The "garden" is lovely. Friendly "happy" staff, excellent food - straight from their farm - very impressed (especially the grapefruit juice - delicious!).

Extraordinary setting amongst the boulders with chalets built ingeniously around the rocks. Fabulous views at sunset both from the lodge and the swimming pool.

Fish River Canyon fantastic and easily accessible from the lodge. Would recommend that three nights would allow time to visit the Canyon, the farm and Ai-Ais in the south without lots of difficult driving. We stayed two nights and wished we had stayed a third as we had to miss out the farm visit.

We didn't use any activities organised by the lodge e.g. Canyon Visit, horse riding etc." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"Great guides"

2 nights Arrived 4 May 2010
"We had a very long drive to the lodg from Bagatelle; and the final roads were very bumpy, but it was well worth it. The front garden was a riot of floral colour!

We were happy with the accomodation which had amazing views. The food was very very good and the staff very attentive. The swimming pool has an amazing view; but was not for the faint-hearted as even with the hot sunshine it was very cold!

We enjoyed our trip to the Canyon and felt it was good value for money. Howver, perhaps the highlight of our stay here was a visit to the farm and self sufficiency centre where we met other staff and saw the farm animals. This was free of charge and really worthwhile.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here and after reflection on the whole trip; felt that Canon Lodge was a really great place to stay for 2 nights." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 May 2010
"We stayed in Room 13 which had an amazing view. We could not fault this accommodation.

We did our own thing and didn't take part in any of the excursions organised by the Lodge.

The staff were friendly and extremely helpful." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr I & Mrs A
France

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2010
"Canyon Lodge was a fantastic place to stay. We were very impressed by all the staff and also the fact that they provide almost 70% of the produce from their own farm is a model many other lodges could learn from. It had a very positive feel.

The communal areas were well laid out and the restaurant was lovely. They also have the best swimming pool of all the lodges were stayed at with breathtaking views and an amazing place to watch the sunset with a gin and tonic in hand (or whatever you like).

" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr W & Mrs L
Belgium

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2009
"Very nice location, nice chalets, very nice swimming pool.

Food and staff very friendly . Had a super bbq... Ideal located to visit the canyon.

" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Norfolk

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2009
"The room was dark ,oppressive and extreamly hot with no a/c yet (to be installedshortly) we decidedo leave after only one night but ere offered a move to the Canon Village to an air conditioned light spacious room which was much more us.

Thank you as this was a great finale to our trip in Namibia.

The outdoor BBQ was a great alternative in the warm evenings and much enjoyed" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms J & Dr S
London

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2009
"Beautiful location and our room (no.25) was lovely: with integrated granite boulder walls, and lovely views. The pool is really nicely located - make sure you go for a dip! We had a good 8km hike (trail is well marked) which stretched our legs nicely after a 400+km drive. Food was good, with a nice salad & main course buffet. Beware the red horsefly thingies by the water features in the gardens - I got stung/bitten as I passed by.

The only reasons we don't rate it as 'excellent' are: on our departure morning, someone was waiting outside our room from before breakfast (7.30am), waiting for us to leave; and when we did leave it took over half an hour to check-out, as they were having problems with people paying by credit cards. I was paying by cash and eventually someone told me how much we owed and I just put down the cash and left, as my partner had been waiting in the car all this time (and it was hot...)." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 61-70 of 96
89%
96 reviews of Canyon Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
50
41
4
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

Perched on the lip of Fish River Canyon, Fish River Lodge has some of the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


93% (59 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa