This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 321-330 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Dr M.
Loughborough

"Great dining experience"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"Perhaps because of the buffet system in Etosha, I really appreciated having waiter service at Okonjima and to be able to be seated with other guests.

The room view here was marvellous with a sense of quiet isolation even though the main camp was quite close. The game drives I had here were conducted by a very knowledgeable guide, Peereu, and the whole experience was by turns exciting and relaxing.

The oryx that night at dinner was superb, as were the choice of wines!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Mrs S
UK

"Okanjima - dont miss it!!"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2009
"Probably our favourite place we stayed on our trip to Namibia. Its not really about the accommodation here, its about the cats, but we had a view room ( a few minutes walk from the central building) which was very very spacious and comfortable, and as the name suggests has a panoramic view over the surrounding bush where springbok, oryx and warthog roamed freely. The other garden rooms, although we didnt see inside them, gave the impression of being smaller and were in close proximity to where dinner etc is served.

We were a little put off in the first few hours of our stay as we couldnt get any clear information about what activities we could do when, but once allocated a guide (Michael, who was excellent) this was much better explained and organised. The activities were very good, trips in open landrovers to see the cheetah, and leopard tracking was both fun and successful. We werent expecting to see as many other animals (especially giraffe) so that was an added bonus. We did the night drive which was also worthwhile as we got fleeting glimpses of a good number of animals.

Food was very good, breakfast, freshly baked/cooked food for afternoon tea, and dinner (much better one night than the other). Would recommend you to budget for the activities here, as you can't do much on your own, and whilst they are quite pricey if you do a few of them they are what make the stay as good as it is.

We learnt alot about the work of the foundation and the characteristics of the cats in general here, much more so than any other place / safari we have been on so far. We went on to Etosha and in comparison saw relatively few cats there (lion) so if you want guaranteed big cat then do stay over here even if only for one night." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Belgium

"excellent cats watchings with luxury lodge"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2009
"First night in bush camp; second in main camp.

Exellent on all the points." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Mr B
UK

"Memorable stay at Okonjima Bush camp"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2009
"This the best run lodge we have stayed during our 16 days in Namibia. We were booked for Main Camp but upgraded to Bush chalets so that was nice.

The staff are super efficient, friendly and willingly to go extra mileage for their clients. The staff were very helpful with communicating with the lost luggage office in locating our lost luggage.

The guides are knowledgeable and friendly. Seeing the female leopard and her cub sitting on the tree was one of the highlight of our trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Hexham

"Bush Lodge in Okonjima"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2009
"Upgraded form Main Camp to Bush Lodge. Could have stayed 2 or 3 nights here.

First class service and excellent food in beautiful surroundings. Can see why people go to private game parks. Saw a leopard and 6 cheetahs." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
London

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2009
"A great place to stay, in a spectacular setting and surrounded by fantastic wildlife. Seeing both Leopards and Cheetahs was brilliant, and the quality of the guiding outstanding, reflecting the specialised activities which the tourism aspect of the camp supports.

The shared tables at dinner are different, but also an interesting change from solitary dining; while the accommodation is very comfortable." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms P & Mr D
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2009
"Amazing. We were upgraded from the main camp to a bush chalet at the bush camp. We didn't go to the main camp but the bush camp was beautiful and incredibly well run. Nothing was too much trouble and the bush chalets were fantastic, with canvas sides that rolled up in the day and I especially enjoyed having our own bird bath and complimentary bird seed which put around the bath and then sat back and watched the birds come. Hot water bottles were to be found in the bed once we returned from dinner!

The food was exceptional and being on a half board basis we found we didn't need lunch as we were full from brunch after the first activity at 9.30am through to tea and cake time at about 3pm. The activities were very well organised in small groups - we shared a vehicle with one family of four and our guide, Dean, was both knowledgeable and tenacious in his tracking which meant we found a leopard after an hour driving in and out of a specific area of bush where she was lying until he was able to see her. I specifically enjoyed learning about the Africat foundation and thought it was important to inlcude an educative activity on this organisation." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs L
Notts

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2009
"We knew from comments from other travellers we met that Okonjima was going to something special and we weren't disappointed. I think the word that sums them up is 'cosseted'. From the moment we arrived to the last goodbye from the people at the gate, we were made to feel special. Nothing was too much trouble, everything was done to make life easy and comfortable and the experiences offered just made you feel that you were part of soemthing unique.

Our guide, Martin, was delightful - full of information, and with a determination for us to get as close as possible to every animal and bird, to get great pictures and a very special experience. I never knew 4x4 trucks actually went through bushes and trees! Martin found 'roads and tracks' in places that looked totally impossible so we could get to see a very elusive leopard. The cheetahs were delightful, and I really enjoyed looking for the hyenas on foot - even radio collared these animals take some finding if they don't feel like coming out of the very thick bush.

The new View Rooms are beautifully designed, with huge windows looking out over a field to the mountains. Every time we opened the curtains, yet more wildlife was quietly grazing outside the window, oryx, kudu, warthohs - we could have stayed there all day and just watched them wander past.

The food and facilites are beautiful, wonderful dinners in such a beautiful setting and so nice to have the guides to eat with us and find out more about their training and the plans for Okonjima in the future.

Again, we were glad to have put this at the end of our trip - such a special and luxurious place, they really spoil you. It has the space, peace and tranquility that summed up our trip to Namibia, with some very special animals as well. A place to come back to and see what happens next in the Okonjma story." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Ms S
Colorado

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2009
"Wow, we should have stayed here 3 nights at least. I LOVED it. I loved the work they are doing with the cats, and their environmental education programs with kids.

We had very close up views of leopard (eating a baby zebra) and cheetah. The lodge was wonderful, we were upgraded to the bush camp whichi I would highly recommend. They gave us birdseed and told me to feed the birds from our cabin...I saw dozens of new species in just a few hours doing that.

Great lodge, great guides, wonderful food, great company. Highly recommended. Wish we would have stayed longer." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Chelmsford

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2009
"We left Okonjima until last on our trip to Namibia so that if we didn't see leopards or cheetahs anywhere else we could be sure to see them at Africats. We were not disappointed, although it is not the same seeing them wearing tracking collars or in fenced enclosures as finding them truely in the wild.

It was very quiet and seemed only half full, so were lucky enough to get upgraded from the main camp to the bush camp, where the accomodation was large, comfortable, well-fitted and totally secluded. Seed was provided to temp the birds and we spent hours on our open veranda watching and photographing numerous beautiful species.

The main reception area was excellent and the food was very good, if limited to one option only. Dave Houghton, the owner who we knew from the TV series about Africats, was eating there with his guests. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, as we found everywhere in Namibia.

Activities were included morning, afternoon and after dinner and our guide Chris was very knowledgable, entertaining and chatty. The activies included tracking leopard by vehicle - we found the male leopard and watched him eating a young zebra he had killed. We tracked and found spotted hyaena on foot, and had close encounters with 5 cheetahs in their large encosure. The porcupine feeding after dark was fun, but the honey badger didn't turn up (not that he was expected, just hoped for). The final morning was spent learning bushman crafts and hunting techniques, and we found fresh leaopard tracks about 200 metres for the camp - maybe made the one that woke me by roaring at 4am." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 321-330 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (219 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa