This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 311-320 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S & Ms M
USA

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2009
"We were upgraded to a Bush Chalet (we had been booked into the Main Camp). This was superb.

Service was excellent and the best we experienced in Namibia. In addition the food was also excellent. Although the animals are in an 'enclosed' space -- this is so huge (thousands of square kilometers) that even the animals that are radio-collared were difficult to find." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs VanZylrus
UK

"Brilliant place for Cheetahs!"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2009
"We were booked in to stay at the Main Camp but got an upgrade to the Bush Camp. It was such a lovely place. The lodges are far apart from one other and very well appointed.

Main draw here for us are the cheetahs and we had a lovely afternoon seeing six of them. Activity is itself limited to well worn tracks within well-secured pens. You will not see any part of the action or works they do here, as they are all tucked away somewhere.
The guided walk tracking collared hyena is very good in itself as you get chance to have a couple of hours to walk and get a bit of exercise.

The waterhole by the main area is lovely and lots of Oryx's' are always around. They serve lovely a breakfast and especially the freshly made omelets. The dinners are very good and have a very nice selection of wine too. There are very friendly and professional staff and guides, which made our stay very memorable. We loved the swimming pool here.




" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Inverness

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"Good situation with fine communal facilities and pool and well planned rooms with the large picture windows giving a great outlook both by day and at night. The food was very good as was the service. The outings were enjoyable and we managed to see all that we had hoped to, and were enhanced by the knowledgeable and lively banter between the guides driving our vehicles.

One of our party had a birthday during our stay, and arranged for special pre-dinner drinks to be served. The method of preparation was unknown to the staff, but during our afternoon excursion, they had consulted the internet and prepared two alternative versions for us which showed commendable initiative and commitment to service. Following this, at our brunch after the next morning's excursion, we were provided with two complementary bottles of champagne, a very thoughtful touch.

The one slight downside was the fact that a small number of staff carried pistols, which surprisingly were said to be for personal protection after an organised robbery at the site a couple of years ago and the theft of the camp's takings in the local town en route to the bank. However security arrangements appeared to be very good and there was no feeling of concern whatsoever among our group. In fact only a couple of the more observant, and ex-military, members of the group noticed the weapons and made the subsequent enquiry." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Gloucs

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"We would have liked to stay here longer!!!

In our opinion, Michael was the best guide we had on the whole trip, very knowledgeable, mature and calm about what he does. The food was good and the pool was superb.

The Leopard drive in the morning was great fun and if we had stayed another night I would have gone on the Cheetah drive again. It was so nice to see them with space and lots of shelter." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AH
York

"an excellent place to visit"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"what a wonderful place with really good trips to see cheetahs and leopards which were quite magnificent. The whole experience from arrival to departure could not be faulted.

I left wishing we had had more time here." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L & Mr H
USA

"The cats were a treat"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"I did not think that seeing radio-collared leopards would be a big treat, but it was actually quite exciting.

The new rooms are beautiful; the older rooms looked as though they were small, but I did not see any interiors.

The gardens were a great place to relax, with many birds (thanks to several birdfeeders).

We only stayed here one night, but I think two would have been nice, because there seemed to be good walking, in addition to the cat-viewing rides, and it was just a nice place to hang out." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B & Ms D
Dublin

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2009
"Leopard tracking is an excellent experience!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
W Sussex

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2009
"After a minor hiccup regarding which room grade we had booked, fortunately Expert Africa's voucher system confirmed our booking precisely our luggage was transferred to one of the new view rooms ( a bungalow really ).. These are huge with a wall of glass over looking the savannah.
We arrived early afternoon and after lunch went on a game drive in search of Leopard... did we find one ? yes we did.... a beautiful male out walking, thanks to our guide.
Back at the lodge we had a very good evening meal with our guide.. Martin... joining us which was a very nice touch.
After dinner we went to a hide to watch porcupine.
In the morning after breakfast we went on another drive this time to look for cheetah... did we find them ? yes we did... not one but 5.. and they came right up close to the vehicle.
On the way back we also found a female leopard with a cub although they were hard to see as they were so well concealed in the bushes.
Our only negative comment was that the gift shop was closed and since the trust receives its income from the lodge and shop we found it strange that they were not prepared to open it... this was our last day in Namibia and we were ready to buy gifts... this therefore had to wait until we were in Cape Town" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AS
York

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2009
"Cheetah are guaranteed.

Leopard is not guaranteed but is so worth the extra time and far more exciting." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Hereford

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2009
"Compared with our last visit three years ago this camp has lost its charm but no doubt it caters for more clients.The new public areas are pleasant to look at and provide a good dining and sitting area,The new cabins, however, give the impression of luxurious garage conversions.

Activities were extensive and well organized,collared leopard tracking was particularly rewarding considering how difficult these cats are to see in the wild. What a pity we have to cheat to achieve it but I am not really complaining. Our only complaint, a serious one, was using a metallic radio tracking aerial on top of a hillock in a tropical thunder storm with lightning strikes within half a mile of us. On the positive side, the bushman trail was very well done and should not be missed." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Showing 311-320 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (219 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa