This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 331-340 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Professor & Mrs M
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2009
"Perhaps slightly less 'character' than our first two camps, but we enjoyed the view room with outlook over the veld" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Miss F & Mr E
NL

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2009
"Wonderful and welcoming even if we arrived quite late due to our second flat tyre of the trip!!!View room was spacious and confortable and you could watch some of the wildlife passing by from the comfort of your bed.

The staff were very nice and even when, after dinner, we found an extra guest in our room ( a bat), one of the guides came to our rescue.........of course we called him batman after that! Armin our guide for the leopard tracking went the extra mile for us and we found one on top of a tree... He then found Pooh the hyena for us too and we were so close we could nearly touch - really special day... followed by the cheetah sanctuary which was also wonderful!! It was so refreshing to find such a enthusiastic person who clearly loves his job.

The quality of the food was of a very high standard.

We were sad to leave this wonderful place." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W & Ms B
Alaska

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2009
"We had a wonderful stay at Okonjima. While there we participated in the cheetah and leopard drives as well as the bushman walk.

We had a few different guides, and we especially enjoyed Rohan, Arnold, and Martin - they were all very knowledgeable and helped to make our experience a good one. The cheetah and leopard drives were really great, however, we highly recommend the bushmen walk to visitors as well.

While seeing the animals is cool, learning about the people and history of the area was nice." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Lancashire

"Super new VIEW ROOMS"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2009
"The new View Rooms are superb and a big improvement on the room we stayed in last year.
The food is good, staff are excellent. My big complaint would be the game drives, very disappointing and the Wild Dogs were in a very small
enclosure of which I am sure Expert Africa would not approve of." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
T Wells

"Conservation view of big game"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2009
"Our last stay. By this time we were needing something different and this was to an extent. Nice grounds and buildings. This time a (wild) male warthog was in the 'yard', sleeping off a good meal from the lawn; he later moved to the small lawn round the raised pool where my wife was surprised, unlike the warthog, to confront him at the top of the steps.

The game drives were into controlled areas. We apparently came within some 10 meters of the tagged leopard but he was hidden in the scrub out of view but others saw him in the open later in a different part. The 5 man-reared cheetahs were good to see at nil range, especially Portia jumping for the meat thrown to her. The rescue and release programmes for wild animals were interesting to learn about and the staff clearly highly caring for the animals' welfare.

We were encouraged to take unaccompanied safari walks but I chickened out and later was glad to have done so, learning that a cheetah had escaped that day (seen by some guests on a drive catching a young warthog but driven off it by its mother) and that a leopard was one of the visitors to the after dinner viewing at the water hole where the day's leftovers are put out." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Honeymooners
Surrey

"Great for seeing leopards"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2009
"Excellent experience to see the leopards so close (particularly the ones we tracked for hours). It was good to learn about their work with the cheetahs too.

When our guide was talking about the plans for the camp (expanding and introducing other big animals) we were a little concerned that they might loose focus on what makes Okonjima so special - their work with the Africat Foundation! Don't loose focus on the cats!!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms G
Ireland

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2009
"We arrived at Okonjima and were met at the gate to the reserve and the security man seemed to be having some trouble locating our names as guests in the lodge! he then told us that we had been upgraded to the bush camp and that we were not in the main camp. We were delighted as we had tried to get into the bush camp but there was no availabity. We drove down and were greeted and shown to our room.

The lodge was lovely. It was quite dated in terms of decor compared to some of the luxury lodges that we had stayed in but was still very comfortable. we didn't really like the way that our time was spent on lots of differnt activities and that this was all prearranged. We felt that this was a little overwhelming after such a laid back experience. We only did 2 activities here which were very good as these were our last days in Namibia and we wanted to have some rest before our long trip back to Cornwall.

the food was excellent and the service was good. we asked for a packed breakfast on the last morning as we left early to get back to Windhoek to take our flight to SA to go back to the UK. they were great and packed us up with a feast!

Okonjima is a great place to stay to see what they are doing with the community and in terms of rescuing cheetahs and their work is excellent." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr M,P&Mrs L&H
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2009
"This was the beginning of our Namibia trip, the road that leads down to camp is very bumpy and long, however there was a lot of wildlife on the way, we saw a lot of warthogs, giraffe, spring bok and several birds, it took about half an hour, when we arrived we were greeted by June who was very helpful, she gave us a torch to take to our rooms and then shown to our rooms, which were spectacular.

Once we unpacked we were guided to a camp fire with nibbles and pre dinner drinks to arrange our itinary for that evening and the following day, we were greeted by Martin our guide who was very informative, after a lovely meal, we were taken to the hyde a short walk away 5mins at most, there we saw the porcipine being fed with the scraps from our meal (not a lot left though) we must have spent a good half an hour or more just watching them, it was amazing.

In the morning we were given an early morning call about 5ish and were given muffins and coffee, then Martin met us to take us to track the Leopards. Words cannot describe how wonderful it was to see a female leopard walking in front of our jeep, we followed her and were even able to see her take her kill up into a tree. In the afternoon we went out to see the Cheetas and were privallaged to see all nine males sitting on the road in front of us, we must have watched them for about 20mins and they walked around the jeep to look at us also, it was just incredible.

We were then given a full english breakfast in the garden area, which was most welcome, The food was excellent and service top class, the only down side was that they did not seem to cater for vegetarian and one of our party was a veggie, they seemed to think vegetarians ate either chicken or fish. However once informed they tried very hard to please." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Jersey

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 May 2009
"What can we say - just about the best all round accommodation on the whole trip!

Superb setting, fantastic activities,stunning rooms, excellent food.

Cannot praise this establishment high enough with the wonderful work they do for the welfare of cats via the Africat Foundation being the icing on the cake." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Falcon
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2009
"Note; We were upgraded to the Bush Camp - we loved it. It is a very good example of what a really well run lodge should be like.

All the answer below refer to the Bush Camp, not Main Camp. We did visit Main Camp briefly. The general atmosphere was not as attractive as at te Bush Camp." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 331-340 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (219 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa