This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 341-350 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs T
Welling

"Disappointing Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2008
"Their fame has gone to their heads! The camp has been doubled in size with the addition of 10 very ugly looking rooms. From the outside they look like square concrete storage huts!

Inside they are spacious and modern. They are called View rooms but the view is of a buiding site. Everywhere there is building work and landscaping going on - whilst guests are trying to relax.

A very impersonal service - this and the Burning Shore were the only places where we weren't known by name. The only bright spot was hyena tracking with Jack - he was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The other guide we had for leapard tracking and cheetahs was Arnold and he seemed to be going through the motions." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Poor
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Mr A & Mrs A
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2008
"Lived up to expectations. Very well organised, excellent guiding (succesful leopard tracking and very knowledgeable) and great atmosphere.

New bungalows are probably more modern than the garden rooms (no AC or fridge) and there is an ongoing plan of rennovations to the older parts of the lodge.

Well worth visiting for 1 night or 2. 2 are probably needed to take part in all the activities. Facilities include a pool and also self-guided walking trails which means you avoid the "cabin-fever" of some lodges." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Blue waxbills
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp Review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2008
"What a way to finish the trip. We knew this would be a highspot and were not disappointed. The work they are doing in conjunction with Africat is truly valuable.

Our guide there who took us to see the cheetah and on the second day the leopard was brilliant. He, along with his colleague did more than "go the extra mile" in search of the leopard. He asked us if we minded "extreme driving" We of course did not object and we had an incredible drive literally through, over, round trees, bushes, large holes in the ground that housed goodness knows what to be rewarded with very close up contact with a beautiful leopard. She literally walked calmly along the side of the vehicle and we were able to follow her for some time. A great experience and privilege." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J & friends
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"We stayed in the new accommodation at the Main Camp. This was excellent and will be even better once the surroundings have matured.

Guided activities were also excellent and tailored to our photographic needs whilst recognising that I and some other group members had visited several times before.

It is important to stay for at least two nights to get the benefits of what Okionjima can offer." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A-C
California

"Great cheetah viewing."

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2008
"Wonderful accomodations, good food and game drives. The leopard tracking was a highlight.

Accomodating staff. We arrived late afternoon due to delays at the airport and they arranged to have us join the game drive.

Only suggestion is warmer blankets for the bed. The nights were cold!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Goshawk
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2008
"best combination of comfort, game and service. wished we had stayed one more night" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dune larks
Sheffield

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2008
"If there is only one reason to go to Namibia this should be it. On arrival we were upgraded to the Bush Camp which was wonderful! Lodge amazing, staff fantastic from the minute of arrival at the door to the minute of departure.

Customer service was pitched perfectly - not over done but attentive when required.

The guides were brilliant - we had Marius and Dean - whose knowledge of the animals and their environment together with their great sense of humour just added to the greatness of the place. Don't miss it." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Hyena
UK

"A brilliant cat experience"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2008
"The Main Camp at Okonjima is well situated and offers plenty of "must do" activities.

We went Cheetah tracking on foot. Leopard tracking by vehicle.

Every day was a new experience

We are slightly concerned that by adding more accomodation Okonjima is going to become less friendly which would be a great pity." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Hornbills
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2008
"Okinjima is a highly sophisticated, professional and well tuned operation. The welcome was very warm, but as we arrived at 3pm, it was a rush to take advantage of the afternoon activity- advise others to arrive by 230pm at the latest.

The meals too were of a very high standard and excellent formal service. We were a little surprised to have two European style meals, but the quality was excellent. The bushman's omelette as a brunch was excellent too!

The viewing of the cheetahs, leopards and the rescue work was all very polished too, but again excelllent, and the guides were keen to please the guests, as were the rest of the very professional team. The tracking of a cheetah on foot was exciting, especially as it had a kill, and although it is easier to be successful, when the animals are tagged, it was stiil exciting and rewarding.

The rooms had some quality and thoughtful touches (wall hangings, ornaments etc) and were good, but not outstanding, compared to 2 other lodges we had stayed in.

Overall, highly recommended, used to high turnover and we hope they maintain the quality with the big planned developments and extensions" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Harriers
Switzerland

"Great AfriCat experience at Okonjima Camp"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2008
"Had fanastic time from start to finish. Could have stayed here for 2 days and done bush walk and other activities. Again did not enjoy forced sharing of table with hard to talk to strangers.

Guides were very friendly and knowledgeable and shared their enthusiasm for their work and AfriCat Foundation.

Loved being woken up by roaring lions at 4am.

Very comfortable home from home accommodation. A wonderful way to end our trip." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 341-350 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (219 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa