This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 351-360 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Lancashire

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2008
"My favourite camp, the staff at this camp are simply the best, very friendly and extremely helpful.

The special photography trip to see Wahoo was excellent." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The rhinos
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2008
"We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Okonjima.

The climax to our holiday - very efficientloy run establishment. The staff were 100% - our guide Jacques gave us the best and most memorable two mornings of Leopard tracking that we could have possibly hoped for. Fabulous opportunity to see big cats at close quarters.

The food was delicous - perhaps the best quality of our stay. The freshly baked muffins at 6.00am were particularly good!

We were sad to leave." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Blackwinged stilts
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Mar 2008
"This was a nice stop en route back to Windhoek. The room was nice enough, a little dated, but clean and tidy. The food was very good but I thought that the cost of drinks was incredibly expensive compared with every other place we had stayed. I thought they had charged me for a bottle of wine rather than a glass.

It seems strange that all the lodges charge roughly the same prices for beer/wine etc and then this lodge really ups the prices - it was a bit of a shock. Service was excellent and the drive was very informative." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The Baobabs
Kirk

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 Feb 2008
"We were late arriving as we had explored the lovely little town of Tsumeb, but arrangements were made for us to join the evening activity, feeding some of the rescued cheetahs, which was unnatural and rather "stage managed" . Similarly viewing porcupines who get a bucket full of food every evening to attract them. Not really what we were looking for / expecting.

The following morning it was tracking tagged leopards in a vehicle, far more difficutl than one would imagine, with the guide so intent on actually finding a leopard there was hardly opportunity to learn about many of the other interesting animals and birds in the area. We do however realise that the big cats are the main attraction here and it was thrilling to eventually catch a glimpse of a leopard .

The camp area is very pleasant with inviting gardens and the food excellent. We enjoyed the informal relaxed atmosphere." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs J & L
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2007
"This camp was a good way to start a holiday in Namibia - it was very friendly and relaxing. Radio tracking the leopard was good fun." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L
Bristol

"Close encounters at Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2007
"What can one say about Okonjima? We found the whole experience wonderful. Although a lot of the animals were tagged because of the very nature of the place, we felt privileged to have close encounters with them. Our guide, Chris, (very recently engaged to be married) was absolutely fantastic and greatly added to our enjoyment of all the activities.

Food again excellent although the wine was a liittle expensive. Hospitality second to none. Every member of staff we came into contact with was cheerful and helpful.

All nine people on our table signed up to an animal sponsorship - a very worthwhile cause. We look forward to hearing about our orphan cheetah!

We enjoyed a helicopter ride which showed us the full extent of the property and we spied on some of the wildlife. We felt very sad to leave such a fabulous place." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
B & F
Hexham

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2007
"Mixed feelings. Felt quite pressurised by the staff when we arriived as we were told what we were booked in for and when.

Dinner arrangements were not properly explained, hence we held everybody up.

Activities : leopard tracking was too artificial and we felt as though we were crowding the poor beast when we eventually tracked it down. The Wild Dog and Cheetah experience the following morning would have been interesting, as opposed to depressing, if we'ld have had chance to read all the background material first.

Perhaps if we had come here before Etosha, etc. we might have felt a bit more positive." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in Mozambique; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr Pix
UK

"Up and personal with the cheetahs"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2007
"We appreciate the work being done at Africat and were impressed by the enthusiasm of the staff.

Guests should check their bill carefully as there were a lot of mistakes on ours." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Beds

"Leopards & wild dog interesting exp"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2007
"Stayed in Bush Camp - upgrade - excellent probably better than main camp as smaller and more individual than previous visit to main camp

All comment s below refer to Bush Camp" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
N Yorks

"excellent"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2007
"really full experience, a bit more upmarket than other places.

would be nice to see the black assistant guides taking a more prominent role" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 351-360 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (219 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa