This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp


7°39’53.8"S 38°3’52.1"E

Reviews of Lake Manze Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

207 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lake Manze Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lake Manze Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

25% success

Wild dog

53% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

94% success

Striped Hyena

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 161-170 of 207
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Cambs

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2009
"The camp has considerable potential but we felt they were cutting costs in some areas, for example food quantity and quality were not highest standards.

The walks were a bit repetitive about animal droppings." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Miss H & Mr B
UK

"Fantastic Game Viewing at Lake Manze Camp"

4 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2009
"The camp is located in a very good game viewing area. Plenty of animals wandered through the camp during our stay including elephant and giraffe. One evening on our way back to camp we passed four lions who were lying a few hundred yards away from the camp entrance!!!

The rooms were just as we expected from the brochure description - comfortable with everything we needed for our stay. They could get quite hot during the day and remained very warm at night, but we have experienced this in alot of other camps which we have stayed in so were expecting it.

Although the food was well cooked and tasty we did find it a bit repetitve and unimaginative. We are both vegetarian and found that for most dinners we were given the potatos and vegetables that the other guests were having with their meat or fish and nothing else. We have been to similar camps and have been served more complete vegetarian meals so we know that it is possible to be more favorably catered for. Also, we found that having aubergine all 4 evenings was very repetitive and disappointing particularly as we are not overly fond of aubergine!!!

The activities were extremely flexible with a choice of walking, boat trips, full day game drives, half day game drives and shorter game drives. The driver who took us out for all of our game drives - Ally - was very competent and was very good at tracking and finding animals. We were very lucky to see Wild Dogs on two separate occasions and also a leopard who started off in a tree before getting down the tree, walking right past our vehicle and then started stalking an impala!!! The guides who accompanied Ally on our game drives - Samuel and Ian - were both very informative and knew alot about various animals and birds but it did seem that they had memorised the text book and were telling us everything they could remember about a certain subject.

The only negative point to mention is the fact that we had to pay for water on the game drives. This should really be inclusive in the daily rate as it was at all of the other camps we have stayed at.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay at Lake Manze, which was made particularly special by our great game viewing encounters. Thank you to all of the staff at Lake Manze, particularly Ally our driver.
" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & party
Portugal

"Wonderful location"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2009
"Once again we were driven from Mikumi to Selous GR by Mr. Ezequiel , and it was a very enjoyable and different drive through minor routes. Lake Manze Tented Camp is very well situated and we were able to enjoy both aquatic and terrestrial activities. The stuff were as always very helpful and attentive.

Although they offer the chance of a very early morning drive, we were not able to do one on our three days there, mainly because other guests were not so kin in getting up early to see the wildlife! Probably they should reconsider how to offer early drives to guests.
Unfortunately we did not take the full day drive, because of our former experience at Mikumi, but by the reaction of other guests, and our posterior experiences at Selous and Ruaha, it is probably worthwhile to take it.

The boat drives (lake and channels) are indeed a "must to do", specially the afternoon drive.

Although the quality of food was very good, we think that they should offer more "africanized / traditional" biased menus, rather than Italian/ Continental.

" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Kensington

"Great location and food in Lake Manze camp"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2009
"We spent two nights in Lake Manze camp. The location is fabulous, and elephants are in the camp all the time. We were happy to divide our time in Selous between Rufiji River camp and Lake Manze camp because we made two part of Selous: south east and north west.

The food was very good in this camp, this may be coming from the Italian touch in the management (same comment goes for his sister camp Mdonya in Ruaha). Like all other camps, the negative point about food was the lack of fruits.

Sara, a new manager in the camp, is very nice, always smiling, and helpful. We would like to thanks her. The guides we had were good.

One point we thought as negative in this camp (same comment on his sister camp Mdonya in Ruaha), is that the majority of the guests are Italians, and by that I mean non English speakers. It is obvious that we go to a safari for the animals, the landscape, and the whole experience. But this also includes meeting other guests at dinner to discuss what we saw, and simply talk. We were there in a low season, and there were many Italians, and it was not possible to communicate with others. We were told that in hight season the camp is full of Italians. We think it could be difficult for non italian speakers to be in the middle of all that the high season." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms ES
Hornsea

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2009
"We thought the location was great,ideal for birds and animals, Victor was our guide and he was really nice and enthusiastic.

Richard the camp manager was always interested in what we had seen and was always there to greet you back from your activities. The service and food was good and would recomend this camp." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Berks

"Beyond criticism"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2009
"This is an absolutely exceptional place to go. Superb service, great game, magical location, excellent staff.

Cannot recommend highly enough." See all these reviews: 3n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Honeymooners
London

"Safari from Lake Manze camp"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2009
"This was our first African safari so we don't have any personal comparisons to draw but we had a fantastic time enjoying the vast variety and abundance of wildlife on the game drives, boat safari's and walks on offer at Lake Manze. The benefit for us was that Lake Manze was both readily accessible from international flights to Dar Es Salaam and was also a short transfer to Zanzibar.

As well as the location, we heard from other travellers that the Selous is quieter and less commercial than some of Tanzania's Northern game parks and so it was not unusual to be able to spend as long as you wanted with the lions, crocodiles or birds in an afternoon and not be disturbed by many other cars or visitors.

The camp was welcoming, well run and we thought the drivers and guides were generally very informative, experienced and worked together very well to ensure that guests saw what was of most interest to them.

The tents were clean and comfortable and the lack of electricity or fences really gave you a feeling of being 'amongst nature'. It was quite common to see elephants in and around the camp and Giraffe and Hippos were never far away. We were both surprised and pleased to see so much and would definitely consider a safari again." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P & Miss N
UK

"First ever safari at Lake Manze"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2009
"This was our first ever safari and we couldn't have wished for a better experience. Liz and I had a very specific notion of what we were looking for, as well as what we wanted to avoid, and Lake Manze Tented Camp was absolutely perfect in both respects. We were thrilled with our decision to visit the Selous and to stay at Lake Manze.

The reserve was wonderfully quiet in terms of other safaris - we barely saw another vehicle all day - the walking and boat safaris were fantastic, the animal life and the scenery was superb and the camp itself met all our expectations. Richard and his team were wonderfully hospitable, without exception, and the camp offered just the right level of comfort, without ever feeling like we were too removed from the reserve itself and the animal life that surrounded us. The ability to tailor each days safari to our particular interests and whims was also a huge plus.

Thanks also to Claire at Expert Africa for helping us to not only find exactly what we were looking for, but also for arranging it all at the last minute for us." See all these reviews: 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr E & Ms W
UK

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2009
"This was a great start to our honeymoon.

The tents were lovely, the lack of electric and community dining was nice. Staff were very friendly and seemed to enjoy their jobs. Guides were knowledgeable but sometimes had to be prompted for extra information.

The only negative thing we would say is that it would have been nice to have been told about the different activities which were available to us rather than having to find out from other guests." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Manchester

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2009
"This could be a great little bohemian style eco lodge as the location, the staff and the guides are great. However, Richard the camp manager is a little bit sergeant major. We found him to be very unaccomoadting and condesending. He offered us no advice as to what was on offer from manze other than that we could go on a drive, a walk or a boat.

Being safari virgins it would have been nice to have been told the best time for a walk is the morning when it's quiet and cooler, a good time to go on the boat would be the evening so you can watch the sunset, and also offer the chance of fishing. None of this information was passed onto to us by Richard and was retrieved off other guests who had been offered bush breakfasts and lunches along with trips to the natural springs. I'm not saying we would have taken him up on the offer but it would have been nice to be offered the options. Because of this it wasn't the most relaxing of places and when you are paying that sort of money to stay there you want to be treated well.

The camp should also come with a serious mosquito warning and have spray and additional nets provided over the beds. Whilst I found it amazing showering under the stars and watching the wildlife go past, it's not everyone's cup of tea and you can leave yourself open to a good old stinging.

The camp is also a little bit too communal, whilst it's nice to get to know people, not so sure it's that great a suggestion for honeymooners. A few seperate tables could offer some flexibility, rather than being told where you had to sit by said sergeant major and then if you were lucky enough you got to dine next to him at the top of the table (thank god we were spared that experience). That said we did meet some interesting and nice people over dinner and had a good laugh.

I'm painting a pretty bad picture here and that does the camp an injustice. Although fairly basic the camp is in a great location with all sorts of animals wandering through and the lack of electricity and the use of storm lanterns and camp fires at night creates a speacial atmosphere and adds to its charm. Furthermore the game in this location was amazing and the best we saw on the safari.

I have graded the service as poor, not because of the bar staff and guides etc but because of the camp manager." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 161-170 of 207
93%
207 reviews of Lake Manze Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
146
54
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (67 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa