This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs C from Gloucs

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

A Stunning Intro to Namibia

Namibia between 19 Sep 2009 and 8 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have discussed this on our way home and are quite happy to say this is the best Holiday we have ever had. Fantastic country, great people, great food in general and the experience of getting us close to some big animals was wonderful.

We did not really know what to expect but this surpassed any thoughts that we did have, so much so that we have decided we will return at some point!

It also has to be said that the expertise of Expert Africa has truly impressed us even down to this feedback process!!!

Suggestions for improvement:

Difficult really. Perhaps you could do a short survey prior to planning trips to ascertain interest of the group which might help you steer the plan towards certain camps and locations....having seen the facilities in Etosha itself, as a keen photographer I would have rather stayed in the park in preference to the Aobi and Fort Lodges...."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

"The best start to a Namibian Journey"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2009
"The perfect start to our holiday in Namibia, very friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere, and a great welcome from Kate the host.
The walking trails are very well laid out and there are lots of information points to help to gain more knowledge about the local trees and shrubs and ways of life...excellent!

The food was quite the best that we experienced on the whole journey. We can think of no better place to start and finish one's visit to Namibia, and any future trips will have this as the start and finish point!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2009
"The staff were not as friendly at this game ranch and we felt pressurised to do the game drive and sundowner drinks - it felt over commercialised.

On reflection we would also rather experience Cheetahs in the type of surroundings that we had at Okonjima where it feels that they have more space and shelter."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2009
"A good place to stay with lovely home cooking in the evenings. The walking and horse riding options were good especially the Olive Tree Walk.

We did have some concerns as the pool was not as clean as other places and we did witness one of the dogs doing its 'business' near the pool, not very savoury!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2009
"Great location and some lovely staff especially on the evening that they sang to us all. The drive could have been better timed to get us to the dunes earlier to get the best light for photographs..."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2009
"A nice place to stay if you need to be in Swakopmund. That said in future I would not chose to stay 2 nights here I would rather move on back into the 'real' Namibia that we came to see."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2009
"A stunning location especially for the sundowner experience and to see the desert Elephants.

We had an unfortunate experience with a radio failure which meant that we did not get to see one of the big herds in the early morning drive. That siad the camp did allow us to go again in the afternoon where we had a wonderful experience of the herd in late evening light.

The sleeping out experience is NOT to be missed, truly wonderful."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2009
"For some reason we felt quite pressurised here. As soon as we arrived it felt like we had hardly paused for breath and we were being booked on trips.

In the end we went to the hide (which I had to ask for rather than it being offered) and we were really glad that we did as this was the only place we saw lions. We also saw them again at night outside of the room which was a great experience. We also saw 5 rhino at the water hole during and after supper."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

"Etosha Aoba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2009
"After some of the other lodges this one felt rather dated and because it is hidden away in the trees it perhaps lacked the atmosphere of the others."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Onguma Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"In many ways this should have been the highlight of the trip given the location and standards of this lodge. However we were quite surprised to find that the water was heated by gas and we also felt slightly uncomfortable at times with the ostentatious usage of water given the scarcity of this resource in the country.

We would have also prefered to have a little less fuss about getting to a from the rooms by use of golf carts. There was not the same apparent threat as at Ongava. This would have been a great place to sleep out again if they could ahve safety poles and wires on the balconies as at other Doro Nowas.

The staff were celarly highly trained and the food was good, but for us the best bit was the evening songs that we were treated to... fantastic!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2009
"We would have liked to stay here longer!!!

In our opinion, Michael was the best guide we had on the whole trip, very knowledgeable, mature and calm about what he does. The food was good and the pool was superb.

The Leopard drive in the morning was great fun and if we had stayed another night I would have gone on the Cheetah drive again. It was so nice to see them with space and lots of shelter."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2009
"Great location, and really nice to be able to walk around a bit.

There always seemed to be something going on here, either Baboons or other noises and some lovely birds, plus some lovely porcupines in the evenings."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2009
"In some ways this is hard to rate given the other places we had stayed in. It gave us good access to Windhoek which was fine but it just felt restricted.

The standard room was a disappointment after the others we had stayed in."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team