This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp

Reviews of Pioneer Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

120 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pioneer Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-60 of 120
Duration
Arrival date
Mr P & Ms F
Stirling

"Last night in Zambia before flight home"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"We used this camp as a stopover before flying home, so can't give a conclusive review. It was fine for our purposes, their driver picked us up from the airport and took us straight to the camp. As we checked in we ordered for dinner (spaghetti bolognaise!) and after dinner one of the reception team checked us in for our flights (including our onward flight from Heathrow) and booked our seats.

So all in all. A nice camp with excellent helpful staff ideal for the purpose we used it for." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr K
Baldock

"being a Pioneer!"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"The camp was quite some way from the airport and you certainly felt like a pioneer just getting there!. It was mostly rough and dusty road, not how I imagined it, but was a fun drive. Arriving at night we happened to see 2 Duikers on the road . The camp is safe as theres a fence round it so you could walk back to the main bit at nght OK. The room was huge and there was a kettle to make tea etc." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr D
Bristol

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"Bit of a come down after the wonderful Robin Pope Lodges, Everything comfortable but a lot more basic, including the food.

Very accommodating and offered to check in the BA flight which was very helpful." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Ms M
North London

"OK for an early flight"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2013
"We arrived after dark before an early flight home.

Its a slightly odd place - no atmosphere and quiet with a number of chalets and a camp site. The chalet was large and quite bare and functional, although efforts had been made to make it more homely, with vases and candles etc. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was a bit tired with rusty pipes and water. The food is basic and simple. Apart from the manager, the service was not very friendly. The catering staff didn't speak to or acknowledge us either at dinner or breakfast.

Apart from this, although they took details of when we needed to leave, this wasn't communicated properly. So after waiting, we lugged our bags up to reception where luckily there was someone around who could help. We were told that our bags should have been collected while we were having breakfast. We left 15 minutes late, but our driver still managed to get us there on time. As the majority of their custom must be from people catching early flights, this is something they should always get right." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs T
Victoria

"Very uninteresting place to spend a night"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"Pionee.rr is out in the middle of nowhere and you don't get to see Lusaka is you stay here for a night. The tap water wasn't drinkable and they charged for bottled water.

On the positive side we felt safe there." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 3n in Zanzibar; 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Terrible
Service:
Average
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr S & Ms B
UK

"A good choice for an early flight"

1 night Arrived 1 Sep 2013
"We stayed one night to fit in with flights.

This was a very good transition from being on safari to town. The transfer from the airport worked well, as did the return journey next morning. The chalet and the site were very nice and met our needs well. They are not of the standard of the safari camps, but we wouldn’t expect that. They are very good at what they do.

We tried to check in for our flight online, but internet problems meant we couldn’t do this. However, Lusaka is a small airport with few flights, so it was no problem at all.

Food at the camp was fine, with a nice veggie pasta in the evening. Breakfast was prepared early so that we could get an early transfer to the airport.
" See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr G
Christchurch, NZ

"Pioneer Camp is not great"

1 night Arrived 26 May 2013
"The chalet was satisfactory/

The evening meal was terrible. The breakfast was excellent. The length of time required for preparation was absurd

The Dutch "greeter" who fronted was a non salaried "newbie" who was drowning quickly. She did try very hard - so she said - to find our Bradt Guide which we had mislaid. The owner was away.

I would have preferred to haver overnighted in a standard hotel in Lusaka." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mrs G
Christchurch

"Convenient location to airport"

1 night Arrived 26 May 2013
"Ok for one night before or after a safari. The food was not very good and the blankets too thin for the cold night." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Mr R
Warsaw

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Mar 2013
"It's a long bumpy drive from the airport. A bit of a surprise and a bit too long if you arrive in the evening after a long day.

Food was so-so - quantity over quality. If there is a modern hotel that is OK and closer to the airport I think I would stay there next time." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr T
Hertfordshire

"A good last night"

1 night Arrived 29 Mar 2013
"This camp provided a good last evening stop before flying out the next day.

The only down side was the apalling road to reach it, made more comfortable in the morning by the use of a Land cruiser." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 120
79%
120 reviews of Pioneer Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
32
55
28
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Lusaka's Taj Pamodzi Hotel is a typical large hotel, which may be useful as a stop-over for the beginning or end of a safari in Zambia.


78% (82 reviews)
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a small but comfortable, boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style.


93% (58 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


83% (38 reviews)
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck looks like any other Zambian house in the road, but inside you'll find it to be an interesting and eclectic little hotel with a real flavour of Zambia.


84% (38 reviews)
Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi is a boutique lodge on the outskirts of Luaska, located on its own game farm in a lovely rural setting.


92% (10 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa