This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp
Pioneer Camp

Reviews of Pioneer Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

123 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pioneer Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 61-70 of 123
Duration
Arrival date
Dr G
Christchurch, NZ

"Pioneer Camp is not great"

1 night Arrived 26 May 2013
"The chalet was satisfactory/

The evening meal was terrible. The breakfast was excellent. The length of time required for preparation was absurd

The Dutch "greeter" who fronted was a non salaried "newbie" who was drowning quickly. She did try very hard - so she said - to find our Bradt Guide which we had mislaid. The owner was away.

I would have preferred to haver overnighted in a standard hotel in Lusaka." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr R
Warsaw

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Mar 2013
"It's a long bumpy drive from the airport. A bit of a surprise and a bit too long if you arrive in the evening after a long day.

Food was so-so - quantity over quality. If there is a modern hotel that is OK and closer to the airport I think I would stay there next time." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr T
Hertfordshire

"A good last night"

1 night Arrived 29 Mar 2013
"This camp provided a good last evening stop before flying out the next day.

The only down side was the apalling road to reach it, made more comfortable in the morning by the use of a Land cruiser." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Croydon

"Very handy for an early flight from Lusaka."

1 night Arrived 8 Mar 2013
"When the government levels out the road, it will be much more comfortable to travel to the camp. At the moment, its a kidney-bashing trip, but nevertheless quite good fun.

The camp itself was extremely well fitted out and the bar area was warm, comfortable and very well decorated. As our room was a bit away from the main lodge, the in-house driver dropped us off and collected us for a quick breakfast before taking us to Lusaka Airport.

Our room was very nicely decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable. Lots of room to scatter our luggage!!

Even though we arrived quite late, the stand-in manager, Phil, made sure we had toasted sandwiches to keep us going." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Westerham

"Ideal for an easy transfer to the airport"

1 night Arrived 8 Mar 2013
"Arrived early evening so just time for a quick snack, sleep, before an early morning transfer to Lusaka airport.

The chalet was spacious and very comfortable" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Bristol

"Africa at Pioneer, not the concrete jungle!"

1 night Arrived 21 Feb 2013
"Thanks again to Paul and all the team at Pioneer.

The great way to relax in similar surround to that in the valley whilst retaining that Africa feeling.

Enjoyed the conversation and the archery at dusk.

Great steaks, the perfect way to end from what was the perfect vacation." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Bristol

"True Pioneer style."

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2013
"Pioneer is the perfect place to unwind and relax after a long flight.

The 'pick up' and transfer was very efficient and the usual friendly welcome and good breakfast that awaits soon after my arrival.
Safe and clean, good birding within the grounds this time of year.

Evenings spent socialising with different people, fellow travellers, sharing stories and enjoying the damn good steaks on offer.

Thankyou to Paul, Alfred and the Pioneer team." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr O
France

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2012
"The chalets are large and clean, very pleasant. The bar area is nice too. Not a lot of choice on the restaurant menu, but the barbequed t-bones were good. There is a very small swimming pool available but we did not get to try it as there were some highly intoxicated gentlemen lounging around... ;-)

Very decent place to spend a night in Lusaka." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Doncaster

"Pioneer"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2012
"Accommodation good, but the access road for the last couple of miles is worse than the tracks in the bush

Handy for the airport, and they were very helpful with check-in, etc." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Convenient and comfortable"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2012
"We stayed one night at Pioneer en route from Mana Pools to Livingstone. We were made very welcome by the staff and would certainly recommend it for a short stay handy for the airport." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 61-70 of 123
79%
123 reviews of Pioneer Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
56
28
4
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Lusaka's Taj Pamodzi Hotel is a typical large hotel, which may be useful as a stop-over for the beginning or end of a safari in Zambia.


78% (82 reviews)
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a small but comfortable, boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style.


93% (59 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


83% (38 reviews)
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck looks like any other Zambian house in the road, but inside you'll find it to be an interesting and eclectic little hotel with a real flavour of Zambia.


84% (38 reviews)
Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi is a boutique lodge on the outskirts of Luaska, located on its own game farm in a lovely rural setting.


92% (10 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa