This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp
Mwaleshi Camp

Reviews of Mwaleshi Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

48 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mwaleshi Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mwaleshi Camp.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

14% success

Wild dog

25% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

80% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Black Rhino

14% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Showing 41-48 of 48
Duration
Arrival date
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"best bushcamp site again"

5 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2009
"it is simply marvellous here, with Ernst in fine form as a top guide. Miles from any other human contacts.

Could we come back for a 3rd time, I wonder?" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"A wilder bushcamp experience"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2008
"We would not have missed the Mwaleshi camp experience from choice since in a way it was so different to the other camps in the southern park.

All the Tafika standards of service, food etc were here but the game was a lot more nervous.

Our walking Safaris were therefore more exciting and we had to work for our views of the game." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs C
Henley

"3rd bush camp"

4 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2008
"By now we knew how it all worked but it was exceptionally good fun. Ernst with Gill were wonderfully hospitable and as elsewhere the cooks ( little charles, little puttit(?) and brightwell) were on top form. This is an exceptional place with lovely river walks, some with a bit of a breeze, and always with socks and shoes off for the crossings and chance for a dip.

It was very nice of Rupert to let me fly ( mostly straight and level) the Cessna up to Mwalshi airstrip which was real treat - my first flying was at age 17 51 years ago, so I was a bit rusty despite the odd top up meantime.

Here we saw lion (once 40 and once 70 meters away) but no buffalo at all - although a larg herd was somewhere around. The wlks to the Luangwa river were lovely and the surprise lunch at the confluence a great idea - we were up for the 2 hour return walk at 38C at 1130 of course!
The peace of this place, the birds, the variety and the occasional watchful detour to avoid upsetting a (large) animal were wonderful. I cannot think of a place I would rather be just now - well perhaps Huab Lodge in Nambia is a contender as it stay there throughout the year." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The bee-eaters
Cyprus

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2008
"The best part of the trip. Loved the location and Ernst our guide was great.

Some wonderful walking but again the animals were very shy and most were observed only from a great distance.

However on one night drive my husband saw two mating lions." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 7n in Mozambique; 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Partridge family
Kent

"Fabulous Mwaleshi"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2008
"Ernst did a great job in looking after us, as did his staff which included Special (great name!). I never imagined that I would be at ease when wading through a river, but I had every confidence in Ernst and his team each time that we had to cross the Mwaleshi river during our walks. We even played frisbee in the river.

When planning this holiday, Anna had insisted that we should include Mwaleshi in our intinerary, and we were not disappointed. The camp is just fantastic. We perhaps didn't see quite as much wildlife here in North Luangwa as we later did in South Luangwa, but that was just the way it happened to work out, and did not detract in any way from our enjoyment of the place. The animals don't work to a timetable, so nobody can ever be sure how much or what will be seen at any given time!

Though the Expert Africa website indicates that tbis camp is for walking safaris only, we did in fact also go for a game drive one evening." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Leopards
Cambridge

"Mwaleshi - great wilderness camp"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2008
"We were very lucky to have the camp to ourselves so everything was done to suit us; the camp staff are all very friendly and did everything to make our stay enjoyable in an easygoing way. Ernst also seems more relaxed in charge of his own camp so he was very good company as well as being an informative & interesting guide.

The opportunity to go to the rhino reserve was a real treat - besides seeing a rhino, which we didn't expect, we saw a lot of other game that day that we wouldn't have otherwise seen. We generally favour spending most of the time on foot, but we're really glad we spent that day in the car - its nice to have a mix and see other areas.

We really enjoyed the remote area and the site of the camp next to the river - the river crossings were fun. A wonderful combination of relaxation and fascinating wildlife - we hope we can return." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Broadbilled roller
UK

"Mwaleshi Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2008
"Excellent accommodation and layout although we felt a little exposed in our room first thing in the morning if someone was "lingering" by the fire where breakfast was served (not staff) as you could see into it from the fire area.

I was a little phased by wading across the river - not because of any fear that Ernst might be lying about the lack of crocodiles, but my dislike of my feet disappearing into soft sand and not knowing what is below. I really should pack my trekking sandals! I wasn't quite blase by the end of the trip, but almost.

Ernst is a gem - knowledgeable, enthusiastic and good company. His botany walk was excellent. We also appreciated the visit to the Black Rhino Conservation Project to see the two remaining Rhinos left for release." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr M
Oakham

"Truly relaxing at Mwaleshi"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2007
"Ernst was a great host and excellent company. The walking was great fun and very informative. We did not see as much large wildlife here, but on one walk were able to approach a herd of wildebeest quite closely. We shared part of our time here with Anna, so the experience was quite exclusive.

Flights up and down from Tafika with Albert were also great fun. Shinde, the tame squirrel, provided much entertainment. Special and George made our walks even better and Lawrence(?) looked after us exceptionally well back at camp.
The hammock outside our room was fantastically comfortable!

Only downside was that from a photographer's point of view walking is less productive!" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 41-48 of 48
98%
48 reviews of Mwaleshi Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in North Luangwa National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Takwela Camp

Takwela Camp

Takwela Camp is a new property currently under construction in Zambia's North Luangwa National Park.


100% (4 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa