This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kilindi
Kilindi
Kilindi
Kilindi
Kilindi
Kilindi
Kilindi

Reviews of Kilindi

Wildlife sightings and reviews

21 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kilindi and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 21
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Cheshire

"Perfect location opportunity to deliver more"

6 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2013
"Great location, brilliant rooms and facilities. New management is looking to raise standards and deliver more.

We thought the food was average and did not like the personal butler system." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
London

"Kilindi review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2012
"This is an amazing place. It really made us feel special on our honeymoon. The setting, service, comfort and style were all outstanding and our personal butler, Mary, couldn't have done more to our stay so special.

The only criticism would be that the food could have been a slightly higher standard. Green and Blue probably shaded Kilindi in this one area." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms J
N London

"Incredible luxury and impeccable service"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2012
"Kilindi was a really perfect way to end the honeymoon. The villas are very well done and have everything you could want which is probably why a lot of people stay there for most of their stay. There are lovely sun bathing areas overlooking an idyllic coast line and plunge pools for when you get too hot!

The main pool is well worth going to as it is normally very quiet and you often get it all to yourself. It's also next too a very well stocked bar with a variety of excellent cocktails available.

You can eat whatever you like, whenever you want, wherever you want, which makes you feel a bit like royalty! The beach gets some criticism on some of the online forums but we really liked it and couldn't see any issues.

Our only criticism would be the snorkelling trip which was organised which was done through a neighbouring resort and could have been better (not proper checks that masks fitted properly and no spare equip on the boat) and no warning that the reef we were going to was actually quite cold at the time of year we were there." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms F
Canada

"Kilindi review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2012
"A very well run high-end experience. The rooms are individual cottages built around an outdoor experience, like a house without walls - that is, each room is its own module with openings to the outdoors between rooms. Sounds odd, but very good. Service is excellent. Each guest has his own "butler"; and food and drink, for example, are delivered wherever one might like.

It's a place for the beach and the pool, with some access to snorkeling. Not a wide range of activities, but a great place to relax.

For a two-day stay at the end of a safari, it was perfect." See all these reviews: 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The F family
London

"Kilindi review"

6 nights Arrived 1 Jan 2012
"amazing, best gluten free food ever great experience after an energetic first week which was outstanding, Kilindi was a welcome relaxation and matched first week" See all these reviews: 8n in Rwanda; 6n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya; 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr P & Ms H
UK

"A great retreat"

8 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2011
"A beautiful hotel in a good location, the rooms are amazing as is the service and the level of hospitality from all the staff.

It was very quiet when we were there, probably a little too quiet and the guests that are there you never really see. Everyone eats all over the hotel each night and there are no communal areas such as a bar inside and outside, where you can sit and have a drink withothers around. I know people like to be by themselves on holiday to an extent but I think the hotel would be enhanced by a slightly more sociable approach and just having a good lively feeling bar with decent seating for before and after dinner would help this.

Appart from that one observation, I can not fault the hotel, it is a wonderful place." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Petersfiel

"Kilindi review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2011
"Failed to reach the outstanding standard it was aiming for in 2010" See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Oman

"Kilindi review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2010
"It was lovely. We were looked after extremely well by Edgar, who was introduced as our Butler: but the poor chap seemed to be the Butler to ALL the guests so had a potentially arduous job! He was wondeerful.

The grounds were beautiful. our 'dwelling' was spacious and airy and delightful. The bathroom was interesting in that it faced towards the beach and had no screening at all. It also had virtually no light at all at night, except the carried in oil lamps, but we gathered this was going to be changed.

The food was mostly delicious, and drinks were too, though we found the coffee an extremely bitter blend.

Would be happy to recommend it as a very good holiday destination. Plus the road there (new) was excellent so it only took about 40 Mins from the airport." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Danny Jury
Tonbridge

"Kilindi review"

5 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2010
"Amazing location, great food and very relaxed.

Buruti our butler was so attentive and made sure we were very well looked after.

Some of the meals were a bit confused so I think the chefs may not be experienced enough to cook all western dishes (e.g The meringue was more like a marshmallow and the red snapper was rather spolit with the sauce tasting like a bolognese sauce." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Petersfiel

"Kilindi review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2010
"Better than we thought ever possible fantaastic" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 21
96%
21 reviews of Kilindi by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
4
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Northern Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Zuri Zanzibar

Zuri Zanzibar

Zuri Zanzibar is a smart resort hotel on a beautiful beach where you can swim at all stages of the tide.


94% (7 reviews)
The Z Hotel

The Z Hotel

Appealing to younger travellers, the Z hotel is a modern, stylish beach hotel with good facilities located on the vibrant Nungwi peninsula.


83% (7 reviews)
Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Essque Zalu Zanzibar

One of the newest hotels in the north of the island, Essque Zalu has the finish and facilities of a large, international-style hotel.


93% (3 reviews)
Zanzi Resort

Zanzi Resort

Zanzi Resort is located on the quiet north-west coast of the island, around 30 minutes' drive north of Stone Town.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa