This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge
Nxamaseri Lodge

Reviews of Nxamaseri Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

72 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nxamaseri Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nxamaseri Lodge.
Hippo

60% success

Sitatunga

20% success

Elephant

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 72
Duration
Arrival date
5 friends
Amsterdam

"Beautiful birds at Nxamaseri Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2009
"A beautiful secluded spot for a restful visit to the Okavango Delta. Excellent guide for birding trips on the water - rich variety of the local bird life. Fantastic sunrises and sunsets!

The service was very personal. The chalets themselves gave a lot of privacy, but didn't have a proper front wall. You could solve this - if you didn't want to be brave at night - by pulling down a transparent tent canvas." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Maida Vale

"One of the highlights of our holiday"

3 nights Arrived 2 May 2009
"We visited Nxamaseri in May after unusually heavy floods and we thought the area was absolutely stunning. The boat transfer to the lodge is an amazing experience in itself through the most beautiful wetland area.

We thought the lodge itself had a lot of character and charm. The (relatively new) managers are a delightful South African couple who really looked after us well.

Our guide was very good on birds and we saw lots of species on our boatrips (with a bit of walking on dry land) even though this was not the best time of year for birds.

We'd love to go back and visit the lodge again at a different time of year.

Day trip to Tsodilo Hills - We really enjoyed this trip although a lot of of the rock art we saw had been damaged by human contact and therefore was a little disappointing. However a couple of times we did some rock scrambling to get up a bit higher and the condition of the pictures was much better once we got away from the most accessible areas.

Nevertheless we did think the trip was worthwhile to soak up the general ambience of the place and find out about its history. It took us about one and a half hours from Nxamaseri (including the initial boat transfer) and the lodge provided us with a very splendid picnic lunch which we ate on a table and chairs under the trees.

We also 'visited ' a San village near the hills. I felt a little doubtful about doing this but our guide said they welcomed visitors to sell their shell jewellery. I bought a couple of necklaces - we didn't look round the village, it wouldn't have been appropriate and I would not suggest visiting unless you're going to buy something." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2008
"Beautuful situation very helpful and knowledgable guide assigned to us for whole stay, but we did have trouble making contact at the road, their sign is tiny and mobil phone signal was nonexistant.They thought we should have rung the previous evening, but this wasnt clear in the briefing.In typical english way we were afraid to misjudge times and keep them waiting.

It was the only place wher strangly enough they didnt offer some sort of cooked breakfast, which was strange,because the rest of the food especially the lunch was delicious, It would have been nice to have something however simple especially when going on a boat trip at 7am." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs F
Nottinghamshire

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2008
"our favourite lodge with Chobe. we had difficulty with meeting up as our mob phones would not work, so they didn't know when to expect us and blue 4wd turned out to be green.

lovely atmosphere, wonderful lady-Lisa running it (locum) and great to have own guide.L ove to return only comment would be poor breakfast - nothing cooked, we felt even boiled eggs would have been good. lunch and dinners excellent" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Mrs L
Cumbria

"a perfect place to relax."

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2008
"Very much a place for peace and relaxation.

The car was left at the local village and we did not have any problems driving on the sand, as our vechicle was not a 4x4.

On arrival, Kat made us welcome and even laid on food as we had missed lunch. Rooms were different with the open view, insect spray and nets were provided.

Execellent place for fishing and bird watching." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr F
Kent

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2008
"Nxamaseri is a very relaxing place to stay. Add that to the great tiger fishing, bird life and our trip to The Tsodilo Hills and we had a superb time." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Mrs L
UK

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2008
"What a stunning place, two days was simply not long enough to explore this fascinating area.

The personal touch and friendly atmosphere made us very sad to leave." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Caracal party
London

"Wonderful island lodge"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2008
"Nxamaseri Lodge was wonderful and the new manager Cat is terrific, it was a total contrast to Kwando [Ed: this refers to Camp Kwando, their previous stop] and we again felt like welcome guests, even friends.

The birding and boat trips were excellent but don't expect any big game because it is right among the reeds and delightful for that." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr I
Combs

"Nxamaseri Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Dec 2007
"Journey to the lodge made stressful. Instructions from Expert Africa to phone Lodge in the morning proved difficult and in fact we could not make contact until we reached border crossing where a most helpful Botswana official contacted them.

We had tried all day, from garages, other lodges , mobiles etc. adding at least an hour onto our journey. Sarah and Darren are new owners and said they had been in but I think it must have been problems with lines.

Better to arrange a time and place to meet at time of booking or just before departure.. and then contact ONLY if there is a problem.
However we enjoyed our stay. The food and company was excellent and the birds exceptional. The only comment would be it would be good to have a boat with a cover.. (this was also a problem at Ichingo and Camp Kwando when it rained ???? )" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs K
Berks

"A rather unique experience for us"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2007
"Rooms were more basic than we expected but the service and meals were very good and we very much enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 61-70 of 72
93%
72 reviews of Nxamaseri Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
52
16
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in North-west Kalahari & Panhandle

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Lodge at Feline Fields

Feline Fields

In a remote corner of the Kalahari, Feline Fields offers guests a luxurious stay in a seldom-visited part of Botswana.


No reviews yet
Shakawe River Lodge

Shakawe River Lodge

Shakawe River Lodge has a picturesque location on the banks of a channel of the Okavango River.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa