This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Safari in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Safari in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Reviews: Safari in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Below are independent comments from 20 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 11-20 of 20
Date
Mrs L.
Stamford Hill

"Safari in Maasai Mara National Reserve review"

Based at Hemingways Ol Seki Mara on 17 Nov 2018
"I would highly recommend the day trip to the Masai Mara, Richard recommended this and included it in our trip, and it was phenomenal. Yes it does mean quite a lot of driving, but what a shame to miss out on lunch by the river, close to hippos, crocodiles, elephants and buffalo for the sake of a couple more hours in the car. We saw the five cheetah brothers hunting warthog babies (a bit sad as the babies were so cute!), as well as a prolonged leopard sighting. The sheer scale of the reserve is amazing, at one point we drove for two hours without seeing anyone else. Having said that, at the leopard sighting, we were soon joined by about 30 other jeeps, which made us appreciate our stay in the conservancy even more." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Jaybarn
the Chilterns

" Maasai Mara National Reserve was amazing"

Based at Tangulia Mara on 6 Oct 2018
"Our family group had never been to Kenya and were stunned by the proximity of the wildlife to our safari jeep and the animals' closeness to each other - prey and predator and scavenger often side by side. Our kids described it as a Noah's Ark of wildlife - and felt it brought us beyond box-ticking the Big Five or the Ugly Five, etc. into watching behaviours.

Other comments are in the review of Tangulia>

Well worth coming here and I would come back again -- so much to see!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs C.
Beaconsfield

"No wilderbeest crossing but a kill"

Based at Kicheche Mara on 17 Sep 2018
"Our trip to the national reserve was a long, and particularly hot, day. There were plenty of wildlife viewings en route. We saw our only leopard here, but were one of about a dozen vehicles. Quite a different feel to the peaceful setting in the conservancy. We didn’t see any wildebeest crossing, but were in the right place and the right time to witness 2 zebras attempt to cross the river. They struggled to climb the bank to get out - one made it but we could see the 2 crocodiles heading towards the other one. We could hear the crunch of jaws on the zebras head. We wanted to watch, but we didn’t!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Dr & Mrs P
London

"Safari in Maasai Mara National Reserve review"

Based at Ngare Serian on 11 Sep 2018
"Stayed in the Mara North Conservancy and didn’t go into the National Park as the next stage of our trip was to the Serengeti." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Cheshire

"Safari in Maasai Mara National Reserve review"

Based at Kicheche Mara on 3 Sep 2018
"Excellent safari, but let down by the weather in 2018. Mainly cold and grey, frequently wet!" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Dr H
Sussex

"Safari in Maasai Mara National Reserve review"

Based at Naboisho Camp on 4 Sep 2018
"Interesting day, saw young hippos and many wildebeest. Also crocodiles but no crossings.

Grass green on both banks of the Mara. Many cars and vans." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Mrs P
Horsham

"Day Drive to Maara "

Based at Naboisho Camp on 4 Sep 2018
"Quite a long drive to get there but we spotted lepard on the way.

Amazed by the extent of the plains - miles and miles of land with animals grazing everywhere.

Didn't see any migration but got good impression of what it would be like with long trails of wildebeest plodding slowly to the river." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms N
London

"Safari in Maasai Mara National Reserve review"

Based at Kicheche Mara on 29 Aug 2018
"We went to the Reserve in hopes of seeing a Crossing which we were lucky enough to watch after waiting about two hours while they moved towards the river then back again.

Whenever the animals seemed ready to start several other jeeps would rush forward and the herds would retreat. Our guide moved us down river to avoid harassing the animals and to give us a good cross view from leaping off then swimming across then climbing out - but it did mean we were a little far away.

It was not a huge number of animals but enough to be a proper Crossing and to give a real sense of the dilemmas and power of it and to get very caught up in the fortunes of individual wildebeest and zebra. We didn't see alot of other animals on the way through the Reserve - though we all agreed not to search as it was a long drive." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Miss G.
Newark

"Safari in Maasai Mara National Reserve review"

Based at Kicheche Mara on 29 Aug 2018
"We spend one full day in the reserve and surprisingly actually saw less animals than we had in the conservancy. It was also very very busy with Jeeps. We did manage after waiting patiently for 3 hrs to see a river crossing which was fab although a bit brutal. 

After visiting the reserve we were glad that we had chosen to stay in the conservancy and do most of our game driver their." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
B
Illinois

"Maasai Mara Reserve Safari review"

Based at Naboisho Camp on 4 Jul 2018
"Visiting the reserve was a good way to see the landscape, which is somewhat different than the conservancies.

However, in early July when the grass is tall, there are much fewer animals than in the conservancies north of the reserve. It was nice to do for an afternoon, but I'm glad this was not my entire experience." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Showing 11-20 of 20
87%
20 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
11
7
1
0
1
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team