This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge


21°27’41.0"S 15°52’30.0"E

Reviews of Erongo Wilderness

Wildlife sightings and reviews

411 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Erongo Wilderness and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 25 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Erongo Wilderness.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

21% success

Zebra

17% success

Eland

4% success

Giraffe

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 411
Duration
Arrival date
Mr and Mrs RB
Bristol

"Lovely place"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"This was a great start to our trip around Namibia.

Very comfortable and atmospheric camp in rocky mountain terrain. We came here to do some walking and we were not disappointed. We self guided for one walk and took a guided early morning walk which was very good. We also took an evening drive ( the only activity to pay for ), going to a cave with prehistoric engravings, and ending up with a welcome sundowner.

Good food, guides and staff." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S.
Northampton

"Brief overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2018
"Guide on the activity was fine. Overall lacking the personal attention of other places. room structure was noisy at night." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
A and A
Cossington

"Fantastic scenery and a beautiful lodge"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"Erongo Wilderness lodge is typical of many Namibian lodges - good location (a bit of a drive from the main road), well appointed room with a view, warm welcome, a sundowner spot, a couple of activities and a nice dinner and breakfast.

There are lots of well marked walking trails, all of which have fantastic views." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Family A
Scarborough

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2018
"This was the one big mistake of our trip, in that we should have booked at least two nights here.

We loved it. " See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"Spectacular situation"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"Our last stop, and after Okonjima this was bound to be less exciting, but nevertheless an enjoyable stay. Comfortable tents, although the beds are quite low to access. The situation amongst the granite boulders is both interesting and spectacular.

The food and the staff were very good.

We set out on what we thought would be a gentle walk with Englebrecht and ended up on the top of a mountain, challenging but with a great sense of achievement.

Plenty of bird species, but apart from hyrax and lizards, few animals." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs J
Somerset

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"This was a different experience from our stay at other lodges. It was much less about animals and bird life although rock hyraxes were everywhere. The rock formations around the camp are amazing - more like massive boulders piled on top of each other. I understand that geologically they are very old. Our sundowner on the first evening took us up some rocks which reminded me of Picnic at Hanging Rock for those of you who remember that film. However, we all returned safely! We went on one of the suggested walks - the 5km walk. This was very worthwhile and I would recommend it to anyone. We also went on the trip to see the cave art which was very worthwhile.

Just one point to note is that the camp is built around the rocks/boulders so it is very up and down, so would prevent some challenges for the less able. " See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G
Somerset

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"A wonderful rocky mountain experience - spectacular cliffs and peaks
lengthening shadows and sunsets made the surrounding views exceptional.
tents were comfortable, but surprised the mosquito nets were not lowered at night, this led to our only insect bites of the trip (admittedly we could have done this ourselves - so no complaints) The climb up to the tent was up very steep and rocky steps - not ideal for anyone not completely mobile - as far as I could see all tents were up steep stairs.
Very friendly service. Sundowner was a bit of a scramble up a nearby peak, but the views around were worth it.
The nature drive was disappointing with not much nature - and the guide was not up to much - the trip was saved by a most interesting visit to see 2000 year old rock painting - well worth the bumpy ride.
We walked the 'Gecko Trai'l from the camp which was easy to follow and most rewarding" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Syderstone

"Wonderful time at Erongo Wilderness"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2018
"We enjoyed the wide choice of activity at Erongo and especially appreciated that the walks were tailored to suit individual capabilities. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly. The whole atmosphere was of a friendly family-run lodge.

The food was superb, as was the service, and all the better for being eaten outside under the stars.

Make sure that you are confident in driving a 4x4 before you attempt the steep and rocky final approach to the lodge. If in doubt, leave your vehicle in the secure parking area and accept the offer of transport by the lodge.

The only observation is that there are steep climbs both to the rooms and to the main area. This is because it is built in a ravine, but those with walking difficulties or heart problems may find this a problem." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"Our 3rd visit didn't disappoint"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2018
"I think the tents had been upgraded since our last visit and the one we had this time was really good, very light and airy. The best thing about Erongo are the walks and guides, some of whom were there on our visit 4 years ago. The sunrise walk was wonderful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Very nice walks at Erongo"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2018
"We really enjoyed the walking here.

The guides are very friendly and knowledgeable. Beautiful area and very nice rooms.

The staff was very friendly." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 411
96%
411 reviews of Erongo Wilderness by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
340
65
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

For an economic, rustic option Roy's Restcamp makes for a convenient overnight stop when travelling to Bushmanland or the Caprivi Strip.


77% (24 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa