This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 35 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

82% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Eland

62% success

White Rhino

42% success

Pangolin

24% success

Aardvark

13% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 131-140 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Portugal

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2011
"Excellent Game drives and information on the rehabitation, a very good cause.

The hospitality staff seemed pre -occupied in the communial areas had little time for guests.

Loved the venue." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr M & Mrs J
UK

"Final Days with Cheetah"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2010
"What a fantastic place to end our trip.

Although the cats are semi-captive and radio tracked it was still a thrill to see them so close. Leopard, Cheetah and our favourite , Wild Dog. Not sure if everyone gets the chance to see the dogs, we were fortunate to be able to ask the Africat staff. They are hand raised and although can never be released fully wild, they do hunt for themselves. Howeve because they are used to humans we could get off the vehicle and walk closer to them - amazing." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Ms H
Surrey

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2010
"We were somewhat apprehensive about staying here in advance of our trip, having had mixed feedback from friends and fearing it might be too commercialised.

In fact, we liked it very much - well run, delightful accommodation, very enjoyable game drives and a thoroughly professional and friendly staff." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2010
"A wonderful experience.

Staff were knowledgeable and helpful. Although this was relatively expensive there were no hidden extras and it was good value with the included activities. We were glad we started our trip here because it set the standard for game viewing.

Catering was excellent and there was a good atmosphere when sharing the table with other guests at dinner." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs A
UK

"Superb experience"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2010
"Food was outstanding. The dining area was superb, 3 safaris a day which were all excellent except for the night safari for which we paid extra and felt the guide really did not want to do it.

The safaris were a bit false because of what the camp is all about. The walking safari was really superb with good guide." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J & daughters
UK

"Four hungry cheetahs"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2010
"This was a wonderful experience.

Our guide Paul was both knowledgeable and funny. The first night we found the leopard and on the next morning 4 hungry cheetahs feeding on an eland. It was a lovely touch having the birdseed to throw outside the cabin and the other stars were the warthogs - who needs a lawnmower?

My only criticism is that I would like to have learnt more about the work of Africat and seen more of their facilities. Several other people we talked with felt the same way." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M.
Loughborough

"Hyenas and Bushman trail"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2010
"The hyena drive was different from the cheetah and leopard drives because part of it was conducted on foot, right up to the moment when we stood just a few feet away from one of the male hyenas - fantastic.

As ever, the Bushman trail was very informative and another chance to walk through the bush albeit close to the camp.

Excellent bird-feeding facilities too right outside the view rooms, but watch out for the warthogs that come and eat the lot!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mr C
Lausanne

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2010
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B x 2
Kaiseraugust

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 26 Aug 2010
"Rooms were very secluded from one another. Rooms were comfortable. Only one night spent in this camp so would have enjoyed another afternoon luonging just outside the room in a small natural terrace area.. Dinner was very hearty with an extensive wine list and group dining. Fireplace and common area was very inviting after dinner. A great curio selection behind the "front desk"

Our guide (Paul) was very knowledgable and helpful. We saw both leopard (collared and radio tracked) and cheetah--confined to a small fenced in area for the reserve.

While I appreciated seeing the cats--cheetah especially--this was a very differednt feel to the other camps....almost zoo-like at some level. I liked the visit very much, but would not be compelled to re-visit." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms A & M & Miss E
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp - A superb experience"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2010
"Again totally unique compared to all of our other experiences, a little more formal than elsewhere. The grounds were impressive and the room was more of a house than a room.

How fantastic was it, all to a completely high standard we were disappointed we only had one night we could have moved in permanently!!.

Once again, great staff and guides who provided us with everthing we could ask for, seeing both leopard and cheetah was fantastic. People did everything they could to provide us with the ultimate experience. Food was outstanding!!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 131-140 of 220
97%
220 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
189
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa