This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 35 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

82% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Eland

62% success

White Rhino

42% success

Pangolin

24% success

Aardvark

13% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 201-210 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs E
Broom

"Great seeing the leopards & cheetahs up close"

1 night Arrived 16 Nov 2007
"Seeing the leopards and cheetahs up close was fantastic and the guides were very well-informed. The food was very good although the communal dinner was a little formal (especially as we were probably the youngest by about 25 years).

Everyone was very friendly but for our last night it would have been nice to have dinner a deux. Overall a very well worth doing." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss Alma Square
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2007
"This was brilliant and the place was really relaxed and friendly" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P
Penny

"A glorious end"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2007
"Everything about Okonjima is exceptional. From the first welcome and introductions, through some wonderful meals, to guided activities of the highest standard, this was a treat. Again, it's not all about money; it's about attention to detail, putting your guest first, accurate information delivered with good humour and authority, openness. Even Kulala could do that, with sound management.

Before we arrived, we were concerned about the artificiality of a setting in which big cats were compulsorily housed - we would see leopards because they are tagged and available. The sheer professionalism and dedication of the whole enterprise dispelled all that. The search for the animals was as exciting as any we had experienced in unconfined areas, the final discovery entirely fulfilling. And the opportunity to learn as well as to see was unique. These peple are doing a magnificent job of preservaton and education with no sense of exploitation or intrusion. Special mention of our guide Sanel - enthusiastic, fresh, informed, wholly committed. A model for the country and its tourist ambitions.

Just the smallest gripe; something of a traffic jam when brunch was being served after the morning drive. We had a suspicion that guests staying in the very super accommodation, the suites, were being given preferential treatment in the queue. If that's so, then even here, that won't do." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr I & Mrs K
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2007
"Okonjima was very luxurious and something different. For us, we had never seen a leopard and it was high on our priorities. Not only did we see a leopard, we saw it kill a baby oryx, mere yards away. We considered ourselves to be exceptionally lucky.

It was educational and informative and we were privileged to see and learn of the measures taken in preserving the co-existence of the animals with humans.

The evident enthusiasm and expertise of the staff shone through." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"Brilliant"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2007
"After a long drive Okonjima was a welcome stop. Everything about it was first class, the staff, activities, food. The only downside was that the drink was expensive compared with the other places we visited, We were even charged for small bottles of water and our sundowners ." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms H & Family
Surrey

"Fabulous service at Okonjima Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2007
"Its hard to describe how much we enjoyed our stay at Okonjima! I loved our chalet and the bird bath outside provided hours of entertainment. The shower was so cleverly designed, it was wonderful to lift the canopy and feel surrounded by the bush and thank goodness for the blankets as we were there during a cold snap.

Albert, our guide, was superb, really professional, knowledgable but also with a great sense of humour, with his guidance we trekked two cheetahs and a leopard which was really exciting. Also the blankets on our vehicle were a treat, as was the expertly mixed G&T!

My main comment would be on the service, I have never had such good service before, everyone was really polite, courteous, friendly, charming, and seemed to enjoy their jobs and each others' company which made a big difference. I was also impressed with the attention to dietary requirements and how well the kitchen managed to meet these requests.

I would recommened a stay here to anyone who plans to visit Namibia" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms M
Banstead

"Worth going just to visit Africat"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2007
"We have colleagues in the UK who know Carla and Dave who run Africat and arranged a behind the scenes visit. Dave took us out to feed 78 cheetahs, 3 lions, several leopards and caracal. An amazing experience. We have adopted a 4 month old cheetah cub and a leopard cub who will eventually be released back into the wild.

The lodge was also very impressive." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Okanjima Afrocat foundation"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2007
"Despite having booked in January, we were told at Palmweg that we were being moved from the Bush camp to the main camp. On arrival at Okanjima this was confirmed but no explanation was offered, despite our asking and we would like to know why this happened.

However we found the main camp garden and setting a real oasis and enjoyed our stay. The guides were all very committed and we enjoyed seeing the cheetah and leopard." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
IOW

"A cat experience"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2007
"A must for all who have an interest in leopard and cheetah.

Welcoming and helpful staff who are completely dedicated to their cats. Time is fully occupied with the activities. Close contact with the cats is fascinating especially the cheetah tracvking on foot!

Your own individually located bungalow gives you the feeling of isolation but you are soon back in the midst with the short walk to the main building." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A
St Paul

"Great cat experience!"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2007
"Warm service (they made me a huge birthday cake!) and interesting activities.

Complimentary bottle of wine for honeymooners." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 201-210 of 220
97%
220 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
189
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa