This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

81% success

Wildebeest

72% success

Eland

60% success

White Rhino

39% success

Pangolin

21% success

Aardvark

14% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 211-219 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs A
Swindon

"Anniversary treat not to be missed"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2007
"Booked a Bush Camp chalet but on arrival we were upgraded to the Bush Suite. Amazing thatched chalet with 2 double bedrooms, inside and outside showers, separate bathroom, kitchen, dining area and sunken sitting room. Set apart from the Bush Camp with its own swimming pool, floodlit waterhole and completely private verandah with spectacular views across the Namibian bush. The chalets have khaki green canvas flaps that can be rolled up to allow a breeze and the sound of wildlife.

The thatched reception and dining area was open at the front to enjoy the view of the waterhole and there is a small pool and gift shop. The game drives are taken open topped jeeps with noweldgeable and friendly guides. The afternoon one starts at 4pm and we went tracking the radio collared leopard and were lucky enough to see one up close sitting against a giant anthill. We followed him for a while until he wandered off through the bush. We also saw a variety of other wildelife on the 2 hour drive and the guide obligingly drove into the undergrowth for better photos opportunities.

After a quick change it was back to the main reception for a drink round the outside fire to discuss the next morning's game drive. After a delicious a set course dinner (mussels, kudu steak and lemon sponge and custard), we were taken to a floodlit hide to watch porcupines fight over kitchen scraps.

Woke at 6am for early morning game drive to view cheetahs as part of the rehabilitation project run by Africat. This is an an amazing experience not to be missed - you won't believe how close you get to the animals. Brunch is served around 10am and as we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary, the staff gave everyone sparkling wine (we also got a card and some flowers).

This holiday was a special anniversary trip and was booked round the stay at Okonjima- which surpassed all our expectations. Staying at Okonjima is not cheap but the experience of getting up close to the big cats and staying in such a remote location is worth every penny. I have never experienced anything like it and I imagine it would be difficult to replicate the experience anywhere else.
" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Devon Pollard
UK

"Big cats and big comfort!"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2007
"Our detached chalet was gorgeous, affording privacy and all mod cons in a 'bush' setting. The chalet was clean and tidied twice a day. Our daughter's bed was to the same standard as ours and positioned so that she too had her own space. Nice to see a hairdryer again after several days!

Part of the chalet was of solid construction and part canvas so that, when we returned from our morning activity, the canvas part was rolled up enabling us to sit quietly and observe the several species of bird which came to feed outside when we scattered the seed provided - a very nice touch.

Although there was a gap of several hours following the morning activity, we personally did not feel this was detrimental, having been up since 5.30am it was good to have a rest.

Lunch is not provided in the full board package as 'brunch' is served on returning from the morning drive, at 9.30am. Tea is then served at around 3pm, prior to the afternoon drive. Lunch can be requested to order, at an additional cost.

The staff were polite and attentive and always on hand to answer queries. Our guide, Sanel, was excellent. Her knowledge of plants and the animals with which she works was very apparent. She was also a great ambassador for the AfriCat Foundation, giving us lots of information about all aspects of their work.

We were able to track cheetah on foot - a great experience and view a leopard at close quarters. The game drive to and from the rehabilitation areas gave us close up views of giraffe, warthog and species of antelope. The night drive, to view porcupine feeding, was less exciting, but nevertheless interesting.

Witnessing the resident cheetahs close to (an occasionally almost on) our game drive vehicle was fantastic. A nice bonus was seeing the rare wild dogs which live at the foundation." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T
London

"A wonderful place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2007
"More than lived upto its international reputation. The welcome was perhaps a little formulaic, however all subsequent greetings with every member of staff were warm and helpful.

The accommodation is charming and on a very cold second night the surprise of a bed with hot water bottles and a soft blanket was very welcome. There is a real spirit of cameraradery amongst the guides who in a very positive way seem to gently compete with each other to ensure the guests within their charge get to see just what the estate has to offer. Sanel, our own guide went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we saw everything.

Individual boxes of bird seed for each lodge creates a suprise opportunity to view the birdlife.

Difficult to identify the highlights, not sure if it was seeing cheetahs at close quarters or watching the porcupines feed in the dark
The Africat initiative is working well and again we wish it every success." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr AT
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2007
"We would have liked to stay longer." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Bucks.

"The best way to end the holiday"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2007
"The lodge and accommodation were superb. The location surrounded by mountains was stunning. The staff were of a very high standard not least our guide Sanel whomis the only female guide here and for that matter the on ly one we met all holiday. She could not do enough for us even arranging a special re visit to see the cheetah on our last morning. The cost also includeds a donation to Africat which was just fine by me.

We had not seen mnay cats on the trip so this was a really good way of getting some close up photographs to bring home. Despite some critics who say thsi is really a zoo great care was taken to expalain the objectives and show us how the cats and other animals are cared for. Another day or two could easliy have been filled but we did not have enough time.

The bonus from my point of view was that Sanel really understood the needs of the photographer in terms of light and placed the vehicle carefully to achieve best results. She was the only one to do this. I woudl highly recommend this lodge even though it si more expensive, you get more back

As a change for game drives there is a nice touch in eash room having its own bird water pool and seed with which to attract them down. We did this on both days and it is not only a good way to get photogarphs but also to just watch the wonderfully coloured birds." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Andover

"Amazing hot water bottles!!"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2007
"All the aspects of Okonjima Bush Camp were great, accommodation, food, lapa and welcome from June. The activities were very interesting and we managed to track down the leopards and cheetahs. The guides were knowledgeable and friendly - Albert even managed to find us an Aardvark.

We liked feeding and watching the birds the greatest variety on the whole trip. Although the evenings/nights were cold our bed was kept warm by amazing hot water bottles which didn't go cold" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Nawas
UK

"Magical finale at Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2007
"Okinjima is a fantastic place to stay. The bungalows are beautiful. The main hotel lovely. The food was good (cold as usual!!). It was wonderful to sit out round the fire and enjoy a drink before dinner.

The activities are extremely well-organised and the chance to see the cheetahs and leopards at such close quarters is something we'll never forget.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly (although every time we went out being told or asked on our return if we had enjoyed our activitiy was a little excessive - a very small gripe).

" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J
Arizona

"A great starting point for Namibia!"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2007
"Albert was an excellent guide and we spent two of three activity drives with him. Ask for Albert!!

The conservation activity was very weak - the guide (not Albert) only knew what he'd memorized and couldn't answer questions to any depth (such as about the relocation of rehabilitated animals or the educational programs for farmers ) If I were going again I would look at some of the other cheetah rehab sites as an alternative.

Somehow this camp seems more "talk" than real action about conservation education/rehabilitation." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Goshawks
Merseyside

"Action packed experience of game conservation"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2007
"Lovely relaxing garden.

Programme arranged to maximise opportunities of game viewing.

Sensitive arrangement of seating at meals made it pleasant and interesting socially.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 211-219 of 219
97%
219 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
188
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa