This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

237 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 51 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

92% success

Wild dog

3% success

Zebra

98% success

Giraffe

96% success

Oryx

94% success

Sable antelope

89% success

Brown Hyena

76% success

Wildebeest

74% success

Eland

58% success

White Rhino

49% success

Pangolin

24% success

Aardvark

8% success

Spotted Hyena

3% success

Showing 221-230 of 237
Duration
Arrival date
Mr I & Mrs K
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2007
"Okonjima was very luxurious and something different. For us, we had never seen a leopard and it was high on our priorities. Not only did we see a leopard, we saw it kill a baby oryx, mere yards away. We considered ourselves to be exceptionally lucky.

It was educational and informative and we were privileged to see and learn of the measures taken in preserving the co-existence of the animals with humans.

The evident enthusiasm and expertise of the staff shone through." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Oxon

"Brilliant"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2007
"After a long drive Okonjima was a welcome stop. Everything about it was first class, the staff, activities, food. The only downside was that the drink was expensive compared with the other places we visited, We were even charged for small bottles of water and our sundowners ." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms H & Family
Surrey

"Fabulous service at Okonjima Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2007
"Its hard to describe how much we enjoyed our stay at Okonjima! I loved our chalet and the bird bath outside provided hours of entertainment. The shower was so cleverly designed, it was wonderful to lift the canopy and feel surrounded by the bush and thank goodness for the blankets as we were there during a cold snap.

Albert, our guide, was superb, really professional, knowledgable but also with a great sense of humour, with his guidance we trekked two cheetahs and a leopard which was really exciting. Also the blankets on our vehicle were a treat, as was the expertly mixed G&T!

My main comment would be on the service, I have never had such good service before, everyone was really polite, courteous, friendly, charming, and seemed to enjoy their jobs and each others' company which made a big difference. I was also impressed with the attention to dietary requirements and how well the kitchen managed to meet these requests.

I would recommened a stay here to anyone who plans to visit Namibia" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms M
Banstead

"Worth going just to visit Africat"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2007
"We have colleagues in the UK who know Carla and Dave who run Africat and arranged a behind the scenes visit. Dave took us out to feed 78 cheetahs, 3 lions, several leopards and caracal. An amazing experience. We have adopted a 4 month old cheetah cub and a leopard cub who will eventually be released back into the wild.

The lodge was also very impressive." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
London

"Okanjima Afrocat foundation"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2007
"Despite having booked in January, we were told at Palmweg that we were being moved from the Bush camp to the main camp. On arrival at Okanjima this was confirmed but no explanation was offered, despite our asking and we would like to know why this happened.

However we found the main camp garden and setting a real oasis and enjoyed our stay. The guides were all very committed and we enjoyed seeing the cheetah and leopard." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
IOW

"A cat experience"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2007
"A must for all who have an interest in leopard and cheetah.

Welcoming and helpful staff who are completely dedicated to their cats. Time is fully occupied with the activities. Close contact with the cats is fascinating especially the cheetah tracvking on foot!

Your own individually located bungalow gives you the feeling of isolation but you are soon back in the midst with the short walk to the main building." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A
St Paul

"Great cat experience!"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2007
"Warm service (they made me a huge birthday cake!) and interesting activities.

Complimentary bottle of wine for honeymooners." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr African Crake
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2007
"another fantastic place. staff excellent and really tried to be as helpful as poss.

drinks a little expensive in comparison to other camps" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Swindon

"Anniversary treat not to be missed"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2007
"Booked a Bush Camp chalet but on arrival we were upgraded to the Bush Suite. Amazing thatched chalet with 2 double bedrooms, inside and outside showers, separate bathroom, kitchen, dining area and sunken sitting room. Set apart from the Bush Camp with its own swimming pool, floodlit waterhole and completely private verandah with spectacular views across the Namibian bush. The chalets have khaki green canvas flaps that can be rolled up to allow a breeze and the sound of wildlife.

The thatched reception and dining area was open at the front to enjoy the view of the waterhole and there is a small pool and gift shop. The game drives are taken open topped jeeps with noweldgeable and friendly guides. The afternoon one starts at 4pm and we went tracking the radio collared leopard and were lucky enough to see one up close sitting against a giant anthill. We followed him for a while until he wandered off through the bush. We also saw a variety of other wildelife on the 2 hour drive and the guide obligingly drove into the undergrowth for better photos opportunities.

After a quick change it was back to the main reception for a drink round the outside fire to discuss the next morning's game drive. After a delicious a set course dinner (mussels, kudu steak and lemon sponge and custard), we were taken to a floodlit hide to watch porcupines fight over kitchen scraps.

Woke at 6am for early morning game drive to view cheetahs as part of the rehabilitation project run by Africat. This is an an amazing experience not to be missed - you won't believe how close you get to the animals. Brunch is served around 10am and as we were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary, the staff gave everyone sparkling wine (we also got a card and some flowers).

This holiday was a special anniversary trip and was booked round the stay at Okonjima- which surpassed all our expectations. Staying at Okonjima is not cheap but the experience of getting up close to the big cats and staying in such a remote location is worth every penny. I have never experienced anything like it and I imagine it would be difficult to replicate the experience anywhere else." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Devon Pollard
UK

"Big cats and big comfort!"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2007
"Our detached chalet was gorgeous, affording privacy and all mod cons in a 'bush' setting. The chalet was clean and tidied twice a day. Our daughter's bed was to the same standard as ours and positioned so that she too had her own space. Nice to see a hairdryer again after several days!

Part of the chalet was of solid construction and part canvas so that, when we returned from our morning activity, the canvas part was rolled up enabling us to sit quietly and observe the several species of bird which came to feed outside when we scattered the seed provided - a very nice touch.

Although there was a gap of several hours following the morning activity, we personally did not feel this was detrimental, having been up since 5.30am it was good to have a rest.

Lunch is not provided in the full board package as 'brunch' is served on returning from the morning drive, at 9.30am. Tea is then served at around 3pm, prior to the afternoon drive. Lunch can be requested to order, at an additional cost.

The staff were polite and attentive and always on hand to answer queries. Our guide, Sanel, was excellent. Her knowledge of plants and the animals with which she works was very apparent. She was also a great ambassador for the AfriCat Foundation, giving us lots of information about all aspects of their work.

We were able to track cheetah on foot - a great experience and view a leopard at close quarters. The game drive to and from the rehabilitation areas gave us close up views of giraffe, warthog and species of antelope. The night drive, to view porcupine feeding, was less exciting, but nevertheless interesting.

Witnessing the resident cheetahs close to (an occasionally almost on) our game drive vehicle was fantastic. A nice bonus was seeing the rare wild dogs which live at the foundation." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 221-230 of 237
97%
237 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
202
32
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve, where big cats can often be seen at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (377 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering luxury, privacy, flexibility and fantastic wildlife-watching opportunities.


100% (14 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite is an exclusive, luxurious two-bedroom retreat with a private guide and chef, offering some great photo opportunities when tracking predators.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa