This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

81% success

Wildebeest

72% success

Eland

60% success

White Rhino

39% success

Pangolin

21% success

Aardvark

14% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 191-200 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Pangolins
Bromley

"Okonjima - The Cat's Whiskers!"

2 nights Arrived 20 Apr 2008
"Waterberg to Okonjima was not very far at all, so we detoured back to Otjiwarongo to see the crocodiles (over-priced!).

We got to Okonjima in time for an afternoon game drive (Leopard tracking) and were not at all disappointed. The guests (usually 4-6) split up on various vans and seek out individual tagged cats. We saw a rare Pangolin, had great views over the game area, and also saw lots of other wildlife. After some trouble seeking out the leopards (they can be hard to find, even when tagged) we found TJ basking in the late afternoon sun; and other cars were not in attendance when we arrived.

The room was lovely and had a wonderful area for birdwatching outside - a bird bath was positioned about ten feet from the room and a box of bird seed was provided to scatter. However, we did cause a stir in reception after seeing a large snake (possibly a black Mamba?) behind the bird-bath - luckily, it did not return (as far as we know)! Dinner was average fare, but presented well. Our room was excellent, but the weather did turn cold and very windy, which rattled the canvas all night.

Our early morning drive was to seek Cheetahs, first by car, then on foot. First though we saw the male Lions they have up close, and took some amazing pictures as they posed superbly in the morning sun. The Cheetah tracking again took plenty of time (Do they drive you around for a while as the other cars take turns?), but we found two Cheetah lying deep in the grass. That afternoon we did the Africat leg of the activities, and saw Wild Dog, plus the five Cheetah who cannot fend for themselves; again this offered superb photographic opportunities, and with just four guests per car, you are not disappointed by lack of clear shot etc.

Our last night dinner was fine, and we washed it down with a bottle of local fizz! It was still cold, but it was lovely to find a hot water bottle for each of us in our bed when we retired that night! We passed on the nature walk on our last morning, as we needed to pack. A perfect place to end the holiday." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sparrowhawks
London

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2008
"We knew this place had a great reputation before we arrived, and it really lived up to it!

Wonderful room, good food and a beautiful setting. The staff were all extremely friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming. But of course it was the animals who stole the day. Definitely worth staying here to learn about the Africat foundation and generally about the cat population in Namibia.

I would also recommend the Bushman breakfast after an early start tracking the cats..." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Cheetahs
Shropshire

"Excellent set up and staff."

3 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2008
"As I wrote in the Guest book at the Bush Camp - Okonjime came up to and exceeded expectations! We saw and photographed Lions, Leopards and Cheetahs in the first 24 hours and the facilities were excellent. The guides, particularly Albert, were excellent and the whole staff very friendly and efficient.

That said, I did not realise in advance that the hides at the Bush and Main camps were seperate, and I would have liked to have had a chance to take some pictures from the Main Camp hide - Oh well.

We were a little alarmed to discover, about ten days before our departure, via an online BBC news report, that there had been an armed robbery at Okonjima in February. Not wishing to be alarmist, for obvious reasons, we did not broadcast this information during out stay. Also understandably, no mention of the incident was made by any of the staff. We did wonder whether you knew of this incident in advance, but understand that if you did it also put you in a difficult position. Mercifully there was no sign of any similar problems and the security, if it had been 'upgraded' was still low key and not intrusive." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Photographer
IOM

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 26 Feb 2008
"Access road poor, especially in heavy rain.

Guide (Sanel) was really excellent and carried on regardless of the rain.

We did not see any leopard here.

I think they got us up early just so that they could get us out of our room by 10.00am." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs C
Berkshire

"mixing it with the cats at okonjima"

1 night Arrived 4 Jan 2008
"Okonjima is an amazing place and well worth including in anybody's itinerary if interested in leopard & cheetah.

Tracking the leopard with our wonderful guide, Arnold, was great fun and getting up close to the cheetahs the following morning equally amazing. It was also nice to see wild dog, even if they were in captivity. The venture is a little bit commercial, but then you could say that about most private reserves and Donna and her team do it better than most.

The night time viewing of honey badger and porcupine also produced a brown hyena sighting - magic.

We'll be back. Top quality service and very good food." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F
War

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Dec 2007
"Okonjima is an eficiently run operation. We we welcomed by a young training hotel manager who belted through a list of instructions and directions in a gasp and clearly needed to learn to hide her stress in fornt of guess.

Happy to report that the rest of our stay was excellent. The food probably the best we had had at all the lodges and the drives were run by knowledgeable and pleasant guides who clearly loved what they were doing.

In a one night stay we packed in a lot in the 20 hours we had (lunch, afternoon drive, dinner, night hide, morning drive, breakfast, exit) and we enjoyed every moment. For a more leisureIy pace I would recommend 2 night stay." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr J
Rose

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2007
"We wish we had come here first. Seemed all together a little false. Rooms very good, staff good, food was great though.

Lots of added costs, most places were inclusive which is a nice touch. Sun downer seemed like a chore to the guide, and at one stage it felt like a disney ride in our 4 wheel truck chasing leopards. Pity, probably a good place to start a holiday when you are non the wiser." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr T & Ms M
W Molesey

"welcoming reception"

2 nights Arrived 10 Dec 2007
"Excellent accommodation , very good food including vegetarian options,knowledgeable and friendly guides.
" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Syre

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2007
"We thought it was fantastic. A wonderful place, great accomodation, excellent food.

Very good at explaining the ethos of the Africat Foundation.

Would love to go back." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs E
Broom

"Great seeing the leopards & cheetahs up close"

1 night Arrived 16 Nov 2007
"Seeing the leopards and cheetahs up close was fantastic and the guides were very well-informed. The food was very good although the communal dinner was a little formal (especially as we were probably the youngest by about 25 years).

Everyone was very friendly but for our last night it would have been nice to have dinner a deux. Overall a very well worth doing." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 191-200 of 219
97%
219 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
188
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa