This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

81% success

Wildebeest

72% success

Eland

60% success

White Rhino

39% success

Pangolin

21% success

Aardvark

14% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 181-190 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
The Dassies
Cumbria

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2008
"The visit here was a particular highlight of our holiday. The accommodation was very spacious and attention had been given to small details such as providing a small pool for the birds immediately outside our room and a supply of bird food which enabled us to attract birds to the logs adjacent to the pool. We saw a number of exotic species and spent several hours watching and photographing them.

There were great opportunities here for viewing leopards and cheetahs. We enjoyed a particularly exciting drive tracking leopard and were rewarded with sightings of two leopards relatively close up.

Our guide on this occasion, Maurice, was particularly expert at finding the cats and very helpful in postioning the vehicle so that we could take photos. We also tracked cheetahs on foot which was also very enjoyable and rewarding.

On the last day morning we visited the Africat project and our guide described in detail the work that the project is undertaking, including rehabilitating injured cheetahs in to the wild. It was very interesting and their were numerous opportunities to take close up photos." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms Z
Ford

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2008
"We had a lovely stay at the Bush Camp. On arrival, we were actually upgraded to the Bush Suite, which was absolutely incredible, although by all accounts the accommodation at the Bush Camp was meant to be very good too.

The activities were really interesting as we were able to go cheetah and leopard tracking and the food was delicious.

An excellent end to our holiday in Namibia." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs I
UK

"A fantastic way to end our trip!"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2008
"We only spent one night here but wished we had been able to stay longer!

The Bush Camp chalets were beautifully appointed and the Lapa was an oasis of calm. Staff were very welcoming, friendly and gave a great sense of enjoying their work - this created a wonderful atmosphere for both staff and guests. Activities were well planned, entertaining, informative and hugely enjoyable.

We were lucky enough (sightings are not guaranteed as another group discovered the same night) to successfully track the elusive leopard, we also met around 14 cheetahs. Our guide, Jacques was great fun and seemed to love what he did. Food was of a high standard and a visit at the end of the evening meal from the chef was a nice touch! This was definately a highlight of the trip and we very much hope to revist both Okonjima and Africat again at some point in the future." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr U & Mr G
Germany

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2008
"Okonjima is a special place in many ways. If you have missed out on wildlife viewings of cheetah and leopards on the rest of your trip, this is the place where you are almost guaranteed some close encounters with both. It is exciting, but not quite the same as spotting one or more of these beautiful creatures in the wild. Most animals that are scheduled to be released into the wild have been collared so they can be tracked easily - in the case of cheetahs this is done by foot, while leopards are tracked during game drives. We were kind of lucky on one day, as we came across three out of the five leopards living in the enclosure on a single day - one we tracked and two by coincidence. It is tricky to photograph the collared animals at an angle where you cannot see the collar in the image. Even if the animal looks backwards and the collar seems hidden, you usually spot part of the antenna on closer inspection of the image. Not to worry, the experience is great regardless. And at nighttime you can opt to be taken to a feeding place where you will encounter plenty of porcupines and, on rare occasions, even a wild leopard. Food and service are excellent, the accomodation is spacious and comfortable." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Royal Albatross
UK

"Had the best time at Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2008
"The end of our trip and definitely the highlight. Fantastically helpful and friendly staff, really good room with plenty of facilities (hurrah - a hairdryer!), good food and brilliant organised activities.

Our guide (Albert) was experienced, knowledgeable, engaging and funny. He also was careful to let us know what was happening and to check that what we were going to do was ok with us. As this involved climbing up and down a hill during the on foot cheetah tracking, that was pretty important. As an Africat 'ambassador' we were delighted that he was more interested in locating animals than giving us 'sundowner' drinks!

The opportunity to see the big cats at close quarters was magical - lions, leopards and cheetash - all fantastic. The radio tracking allows you not just to see the cats, but to see the work of Africat in action, as each tracking is done to obtain important information about the cats' progress. I've read other reviews that frown on the tracking devices, but I believe they do this in pursuit of the cat's wellbeing, and only a small number of animals in the rehabilitation area appear to be tagged.

I was surprised not to find more overt advertising / literature available to promote Africat - perhaps this is deliberate. There was nothing beyond the small leaflet in our room and I was initially told they had run out of the usual material. I thought the back of the pool area was a curious place to put the detailed info that I really wanted to see - particularly as in winter the pool isn't the most obvious resting place!

I asked about information and was provided with a pack of info and some cds. I expected the curio shop to be full of books and Africat branded merchandise, and although there were some T shirts I was surprised not to find more. Nor were we encouraged to sponsor or otherwise support the cause - other than a donations box in the reception area. Again I wouldn't want anything to be hard sell, but we are keen cat lovers and so are our friends, so this was definitely an opportunity missed.

It might also be worth warning people about the terrain near the hide where you go to view the nocturnal animals - which was a little tricky to negotiate in the dark after a couple of glasses of wine. Still, seeing the crazy porcupines was worth it!

Fantastic to be a part of Africat's world for a short time." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Caracal party
London

"Africat in style"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2008
"Okinjima Bush Camp was as lovely as ever again with good food and very good guiding, they really do run both a professional and friendly operation there.

Do go on all the activities as we saw great Cheetah and Leopard, and go to the night hide for the Porcupine (but wrap up very warm in winter)" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dune-larks
UK

"Okonjima holiday highlight"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2008
"Another 'wow' place to stay, very select, relaxing, stylish. The activities are all good value and very interesting, our guide Jacque was superb and it was good that we stayed with him throughout our stay.

We had a lovely chalet and the communal dining was well thought out. We still argue whether Okonjima or Mowani was the best place we stayed!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The swifts
London

"A good relaxing experience"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2008
"A good place to relax before flying back home. The rooms were very comfortable and beautifully designed and we enjoyed extra touches like our own birdbath.

Although we support the objectives of Africat, we are less convinced that feeding animals, such as porcupines is helpful.

Very friendly camp, and easy to talk to other guests." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The jays
London

"No catnaps at Okonjima Bush Camp"

1 night Arrived 21 May 2008
"After the half-hour drive from the main road it was pleasing to find that the camp was absolutely gorgeous.

The room at Okonjima is our favourite and it was a big shame that we only stayed there one night.

We did more activities in the nineteen hours on the camp than we did anywhere else, simply because they were so interesting - leopard tracking, porcupine feeding, lion watching, cheetah breakfast and wild dog spotting.

The food here was really exceptional - afternoon cake, 4 course dinner, sunrise muffins pre-game drive and bushmans omlette post game drive. Our guide Dean was full of fun and knowledge." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Mrs A
Chipping

"The highlight of our holiday!"

2 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2008
"Okonjima exceeded our expectations. In all respects, our visit was remarkable.

The lodge itself, the activities (especially tracking the leopards and cheetha with an excellent guide),the staff, the food and facilities generally all combined to make Okonjima truly memorable." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 181-190 of 219
97%
219 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
188
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa