This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 35 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

82% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Eland

62% success

White Rhino

42% success

Pangolin

24% success

Aardvark

13% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 171-180 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S & Ms J
Cymau

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"This lived up to our expectations, and was a great way to end our holiday in Namibia.

The chalets were great (including integral bird feeding station!) and the food was superb." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
N London

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"At last, leopards & cheetah! Not exactly wild, but great to see them, and good to stay in a place where the people are clearly passionate about what they do." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Honeymooners
Aberdeen

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"This camp looked lovely but it was a shame that we didn't really have time to enjoy it. It was the last night of the holiday and we had to leave early for the airport. The activity to see the leopads was well worth it, although it mean't less time in the room.

We would suggest at least two nights here to get the full experience.

Speeding down the windy gravel road to make the activity was one of the most exciting and memorable drives of the holiday!" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The Pririt Batis
Kent

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2008
"Again, very friendly and helpful staff, both on arrival and throughout our visit.

We stayed in a stone-built building, not one of the chalets shown on the website. Our "chalet" had excellent facilities, but it heated up quickly in the sun and housekeeping staff seemed to feel a need to close all the windows, so each time we returned to the "chalet" we weere met with oven-like heat.

The food was more than acceptable, but dinner menus were a little pretentious and both dinners we had were unsatisfying (for instance, small portions of vegetables that were little more than decorative; too-fancy deserts (such as mille feuille that had gone soggy); we preferred the more straightforward food offered at our earlier stops.

We enjoyed all three game drives - one to look for cheetah, one for hyena, one for leopard, and our guide was excellent. Neither the website nor any other information available to us had really told us what these activities were. It would have been helpful to have had more information before booking - we knew that we would be offerd something to do with cheetahs, and a chance to look for leopard, but we had no indication that each of these would be in the context of a (very helpful and interesting) wider look at game in the area; and we did not know that the cheetah event would in fact be a visit to several different compounds giving us an enjoyable chance to see a number of animals in different situations.

We certainly enjoyed our visit to Okonjima, but it was much the most expensive of our visits." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Elegy

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"Rooms lovely, food good. They are pushing it a little to entertain guests for the two days. Little contrived with Leopards and Cheetahs having radio collars so whilst they make it that they are hard to find, it is not as hard as they make out. Also less exciting for us as we had seen a leopard in Etosha.

Guides, good with sound knowledge." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr B & Mrs E
Surrey

"You must stay 2 days"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2008
"The best experience of all, for us.

Given that we went to Okonjima last, we think we did the right thing - those that go round Namibia anti-clockwise are doing it wrong, especially if they don't come here!

Despite the animals being "in captivity" - we saw cheetah, leopard, wild dog, hyena, etc etc - it remains somehow a real wild experience which the staff contribute to in full measure. We really enjoyed the "tracking" elements, both in vehicle and on foot. They enabled us to believe we were doing what we have done on safari elsewhere in Africa - looking for animals in their native environment. Dean and Sunday were our main guides and super guys they were - clearly there's not much about the place they don't know and their enthusiasm is so infectious, even the cynical would be won over.

The bungalows were great, comfortable amd roomy, with Bungalows 1 & 2 very special. We loved watching the birds feeding, drinking and washing in our private viewing area, even though some take advantage and come indoors to get more food from the tin, causing chaos.

We were told that there is to be a huge expansion to the Okonjima area shortly which, if properly managed, could make it a place to stay for even more than 2 nights.

The food was great and it was nice to be served with dinner and the hot breakfast at the table. It was also good that the guides joined us for dinner - just like Botswana in 2006" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Sparrows
London

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2008
"Very good accommodation with good food and a sociable atmosphere. We benefitted from great guides." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Teddington

"Fun with the Cheetas"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2008
"The staff were very friendly, and joked a lot. We felt like part of the team. They were really committed to the Africat project, and sold it to us by their enthusiasm and gentle explanation.

The accommodation and food was really good too." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Erin

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2008
"We were given the breathtaking new honeymoon lodge which had only recently opened. Everything about Okonjima was first class. It was a perfect end to our holiday." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Pangolin family
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2008
"Unmissable. The whole experience was fantastic, with a huge variety of wildlife - not just the cats - and a really enthusiastic and knowledgable guide - Dean.

The activities were well planned and really filled up the day. We just wished we had stayed for longer than one night.

Really great rooms with imaginative design, but barely time to appreciate it with everything else on offer." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 171-180 of 220
97%
220 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
189
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa