This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

219 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

81% success

Wildebeest

72% success

Eland

60% success

White Rhino

39% success

Pangolin

21% success

Aardvark

14% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 161-170 of 219
Duration
Arrival date
Dr R & Mrs C
France

"The highlight of our trip"

2 nights Arrived 9 Dec 2008
"We were so happy here and are already talking about returning. Wonderful accommodation, setting, service and food.

We had a brilliant guide, Richard, who showed us cheetahs the first evening and persevered for a very long time on the second one until he finally found 2 leopards for us to watch. This was unforgettable. His enthusiasm for the work of the Africat foundation was lovely to see and he was clearly very committed to his work.

The staff generally were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We greatly enjoyed watching the birds through the huge window in our chalet. It was all marvellous." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Helensborough

"Luxury in the bush"

2 nights Arrived 5 Dec 2008
"One cannot find enough superlatives to describe this experience

Some millionaires may find something wrong but, to we mere mortals, this was a fantastic place. Full marks go to everbody involved in this resort. Whatever you said to any member of staff, the answer was always the same "No problem"." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B & friend
Bodmin

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2008
"This was a very interesting experience and very educational. The camp itself was once again a five star experience apart from the food. The setting is beautiful and the staff were excellent.

Only having one night to enjoy it all was not enough." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Berkshire

"A grand finish to our trip"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2008
"The accommodation was superb. We enjoyed having the open side to the chalet to watch the game and the birds pass by.

The resturant and bar/lounge area were very relaxing. The activities were very well organised and we had the same guide, Richard who was very enthusiastic, all the time.

We were glad we had the opportunity to stay for 3 nights." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs N
Billericay

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2008
"This was an excellent lodge, staff were freindly & informative,lots to see & do." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
The F Family
UK

"Relaxed Friendly Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2008
"The staff were very friendly and welcoming and encouraged everyone to mix.

Meals were social occaisions enabling guests to chat about what each party had seen, and other places they'd been. Early breakfast was tea and muffin, followed by a game drive, followed by a large brunch of eggs and bacon which we could eat leisurely as the next activity wasn't until 4. This meant we could relax and swim etc. After the evening meal we went to the night hide to see porcupine, the only place we saw them up close on our trip. The guide then dropped us off outside our hut.

The huts were all very private, with a view of birds at our own individual bird bath, and warthogs walking by. Extremely comfortable, and the fans worked well to relieve the mid day heat.
Food was excellent.

Pool was small, but good for cooling us down in the mid day heat.
Our guide, Richard, was a local and as well as telling us all about the animals and birds, he gave us a good insight into life in Namibia, and what it was like to grow up there. He also gave us some exciting drives in the Landcuiser, better than a roller coaster ride!
The only downside of Okonjima is that the animals are kept in compounds, albeit large ones. This will improve though as they are fencing off an even bigger area.

We arrived straight from the airport in Windhoek, and it was wonderful to be on a game drive the same day we arrived in Namibia.
" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Ireland

"Leopard paradise"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2008
"Very well run camp, everything went as smooth as clockwork.

Staff very helpful. Lots of activites, almost certain to see Leopards and Cheetah's. Would recommend taking the night trip to see the porcupines and African wild cat.

If you have any energy left after the organised activies there are several walking trails close by." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D & Mr C
Stockport

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2008
"Excellent experience.
Dean our guide was just fantastic! Felt very safe with him and he was fun and oh so knowledgable.
Did not really enjoy the communal dining aspect.
Again place was fabulous but no management presence, no feeling that someone owned it and cared for it, just got the feeling that all the staff, who were absolutely lovely, worked there on shifts.
Room was very nice but nothing near as good as the brochure! Shower area a bit out dated now. Considering the brochure I was really excited about this place and as great and lovely as it was it certainly did not match up to the brochure and in terms of accomodation was one of the poorer places but you would not think so from the brochure!
Great experience on the whole because of the cats though.
Thanks to Tracey for booking us for 2 nights so we drove straight to airport on last day, it would have been a shame to have only been there one night and missed out on the activities.
Great activities.
Good food.
Shame that again they are restricitvie in saying you only have 1 drink at sundowner, I only ever had 1 all trip but it just makes it seem so stingy when you are paying so much for your holiday." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Ms J
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"How many more wows can you have on a holiday! Entering the main reception area was breathtaking. Lovely welcome with iced tea and our program of activities carefully explained.

We were given the new honeymoon suite rather than the bush room and it was amazing. We arrived mid day so were able to have a lovely light lunch and some rest time before the tea and muffins at 4.00pm followed by our game drive to find leopards. Dinner was followed by time at the night hide with the porcupines and then bed. Early start for tea and fresh muffins before cheetah game drive. Dean ,our guide ,was great and showed us so many birds and explained how Africat ran.

We had time for a filling brunch before leaving for the airport.

We had only one night here and my only criticism would be that you had little time to just enjoy being in this beautiful place . Try to have at least two nights." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms J
Cymau

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"This lived up to our expectations, and was a great way to end our holiday in Namibia.

The chalets were great (including integral bird feeding station!) and the food was superb." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 161-170 of 219
97%
219 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
188
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa