This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp
Okonjima Bush Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

220 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 35 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Bush Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

90% success

Wild dog

0% success

Zebra

97% success

Oryx

94% success

Giraffe

94% success

Brown Hyena

82% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Eland

62% success

White Rhino

42% success

Pangolin

24% success

Aardvark

13% success

Spotted Hyena

5% success

Showing 151-160 of 220
Duration
Arrival date
Dr M.
Loughborough

"Attention to detail"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2009
"What I said about Main Camp also applies to here. I was even telephoned in my room to be asked what kind of drink I wanted for my sundowner later that day.

Outside my very comfortable and impressive room was a small water hole for birds, which had been filled, as had the tin box inside which was good quality bird seed. As a result I saw a great many birds of different varieties close up. The game drive here with Richard to see Leopard was also excellent, and on the morning of my departure I was lucky enough to be taken on the Bushman Trail by no less than four guides, each of which had certain knowledge or skills. I thoroughly enjoyed this educative walk in the bush.

After all the driving in Etosha, this was the perfect place to treat myself to a bit of luxury. First class." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss G
Hertfordshire

"Fantastic place"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2009
"Okonjima Bush Camp was a wonderful start to our trip, made even better by us being upgraded to the Bush Suite which is absolutely out of this world. Thank you Okonjima and I can't recommend the suite highly enough.

The journey from the airport was very easy even though we had just flown in, plus had a 90 min delay, as its on tar roads and is well signposted. It was still posiible to arrive in time to settle in and be ready for the afternoon activity at 4pm.

We found the activities very good with a 2 night stay just right for the number of activities on offer. Going to the hide after dinner was well worth it.

Staff were all lovely, overall we could not fault this camp." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Spotted Cats and Luxury"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2009
"This was our only non Wilderness Safaris camp and we loved it. It is however quite different to the normal safari lodge and one must be aware that it is still a work in progress. The rooms with their bird baths and seed are fabulously comfortable and huge fun. We hunted the reserve all morning to photograph a particular bird only to find a pair at our bird bath on our return!

The lodge is beautiful and the food quite excellent - quality ingredients, beautifully cooked and imaginative menus. We had three terrific leopard sightings and spent a great deal of time in a cheetah enclosure. The unfinished element of this lodge is that the cheetahs are currently kept in enclosures of around 50 acres and the leopard, while free to hunt are collared and kept in a fenced 4000 hectare part of the reserve. Lion are extremely unlikely and those that they have are enclosed mental rescues too dangerous to visit.

The remaining 18000 hectares, while stunningly beautiful, has very little game but is worth a visit by twisting one's guide's arm. The ultimate aim is to fence the full 22000 hectares and release the cheetah and leopard into it with presumably other bought in game. The schedule is also different in that breakfast, lunch and dinner are taken with relatively short game drives/activities. They are just starting night drives but these take place after dinner and are at extra cost even for FBA guests. There is a night hide activity of about an hour to see porcupine and small cats attracted to scraps placed near the hide. This is also after dinner meaning that any night activity leads to a late night.

These are not real criticisms but we feel other Expert Africa travellers need to know that while this is a wonderful lodge to visit it is different. Huge thanks go to our guide Chris but note also that while water is provided on drives, if you take some from the bar it is charged as is all wine at dinner. That said, few will complain as the wines are quite excellent! We really loved Okonjima." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Huntingdon

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2009
"Sadly no rehabilitating Cheetahs were present during our stay but this was made up for by wonderful sightings of a leopard and a cub.

The night hide was well worth the trip especially the views of the porcupines." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr P&C & Mrs P&R
UK

"Don't miss it"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2009
"Wonderful stay. The location was great and we saw loads of cats and hyena. All the staff worked hard to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, even arranging for us to see a cheetah having its teeth cleaned.

I think we were in the honeymoon suite! - a lovely room with a deck, an indoor seating area, an enormous bed, a bath, an indoor shower and an outdoor shower" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Dr S
Essex

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2009
"Okonjima was almost an afterthought, splitting the drive from Etosha to Windhoek, but it turned out to be a lot more than that. This camp is very used to catering for high-end travellers - the rooms are very well designed, have power (and hairdryers! As one guide quoted, every day on safari is a bad hair day but this was an exception), we had the best food on our trip and some interesting activities with top-class guides. One just has to get past the fact that the big-cats here are habituated to humans - or in the case of some cheetah positively tame. While the leopard live and hunt in the reserve they are (mostly) collared and finding them during the day (we were very fortunate to have a long siting of one after a kill), while not guaranteed, is obviously more likely. Tracking the hyena on foot was less successful but at least gave us some exercise and visiting the wild dogs was rather like going to the zoo. Each person will have their own take on these experiences. The Africat Foundation is always to the fore and thinking that one is contributing to such a worthwhile cause in everything one does here is a feel-good factor." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
California

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2009
"Okonjima was my favorite place that we stayed. The accomodations were absolutely lovely and it was wonderful to have so many birds right out our window. There was also a large supply of birdfood so we could be sure that the birds kept coming. The big cats were also beyond belief. We saw leopards fighting over a kill the first night and that was just the start.

During our two full days there, we successfully tracked a hyena on foot and saw numerous leopards and cheetahs (including one cheetah that accomodated us by posing for a photo on top of a termite mound). Really an amazing place!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
D & S on Honeymoon
UK

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Mar 2009
"The activites we did here were brilliant.

Our guide managed to track down a leopard for us and we saw lots of cheetahs, and also a porcupine at the night hide.

Food and service was good and the room was extremely well appointed, although because we were in the honeymoon suite rather than the thatched rooms it was possibly lacking in some charm and character." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Westerham

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 28 Feb 2009
"Bush camp facilities were absolutely first class . Our activities were somewhat twarted by the heavy rain both evening and morning, so both the game drives were curtailed . That is the problem going in the rainy season !" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Much improved Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2009
"Since our last visit two and a half years ago Bush Camp has become much more friendly and informal, though no less professional. We think it's a great improvement.

Rooms and food remain excellent, drinks prices are much more reasonable. Staff were all friendly and helpful. and seemed far more relaxed and comfortable in their roles than previously. We spent an excellent afternoon tracking two leopards and were very impressed by the improvements at Africat the next morning. It was wonderful to see the wild dogs looking so healthy - they are HUGE - much bigger than those we've seen in the wild - they'll surely love their new large enclosure - not sure the antelopes will be so keen !

We were sad to discover that they no longer offer cheetah-tracking on foot, and even sadder to discover that Athena (the cheetah we'd seen previously) had been killed by TJ the leopard. Although we mentioned on arrival that we'd like to go cheetah-tracking again, it wasn't until our second day that they told us this was no longer an option - point for improvement.

Johann and Richard were excellent guides - many thanks to Richard and the guys behind the scenes for assistance with our flat tyre!" See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 151-160 of 220
97%
220 reviews of Okonjima Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
189
28
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

Plains Camp is the most economical option on the Okonjima Reserve. View big cats at close quarters, with great photographic opportunities.


95% (361 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa