This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 181-190 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Worcs

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2014
"An excellent end to our trip. The activities were good value and our guide was very knowledgeable - the chance to get close to cheetahs (on foot) and leopards (in the safari vehicle) was superb.

Although obviously a tourist attraction the enclosed areas are large enough that there is no feeling of a safari park experience. Very comfortable room, we stayed in a Bush View room which was an apt description as it had uninterrupted views of the bush, and some wandering wildlife. Some areas with walking trails which were good.

The emphasis has changed from rescuing to an education and conservation programme." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs S
NOT.

"What a change"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2014
"There has been a lot of changes here the new rooms are very good the food still good but some of the old visitors will be a bit shocked at what has happened different to any other lodge in Namibia" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Guy and Sarah
Kent

"A brilliant end to the trip"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"Okonjima is the home of the Africat foundation and everything is understandably centred on this. The individual lodges are very well equipped with huge beds and bathrooms and a wonderful view across the plains. Don't be worried if you have a 'standard' as opposed to a 'view' room as I really couldn't see what the difference was and the view from the 'standard' room was wonderful.

The food is excellent and served from an outdoor buffet style arrangement.

The activities on offer are focused on spotting/tracking cheetah and leopard, both of which we managed to see in the wild which was a memorable experience" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Ms J
Devon

""

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"Our room had superb views over the plains and was quite secluded.

The food was fine the first night but the service and food the second night were average. The staff seemed tired and we were rushed through dinner. Two mistakes were made on our bill, when we came to settle it and more attention needs to made on billing of drinks to customers. There is no longer the porcupine night feeding, as was previously offered at Main Camp.

The cheetah tracking was excellent and the guides very good. There was one girl member of staff who excelled herself, though unfortunately I don't recall her name." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr W
Michigan, USA

"Outstanding"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2014
"When I selected Okonjima Plains Camp, I was thinking of the United States zoo's. I expected to take pictures of cats in large cages or fenced in areas The ex-farm is a wildlife preserve and it was my introduction to Africa's enormous wildlife diversity, nothing like it on earth.

I went on 4 guided trips which made me late leaving, but I had to make the gamble. Their wild cats and dogs have radio collars and the guides have no trouble finding them. We searched for the cheetahs, wild dogs, leopards and found them all. I loved watching the three legged dog trying to keep up with the others. I toured the AfriCat Foundation and then became a donor.

If I had returned home after my 2 day stay there, the trip would have been a success. I have taken both wolf and Cougar classes in Yellowstone Park but the experience can't match Okonjima Camp. Yellowstone's approach is hands off, which maybe more realistic but observations are at a cold distance. Cat observations are close at Okonjima which makes outstanding wildlife photos.

Food was outstanding. My room had a large picture window where I watched herds of African animals go by. I captured this scene with my camera. There is nothing close to this in the United States, if it were the price would be out of reach." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
W. Sussex

"We have to return!"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2014
"Great place to finish a fabulous holiday. Staff attentive and not too pushy as far as trips etc concerned. We tracked and found Leopard and Cheetah and walked with the Cheetah. Our guide Gideon was the best guide we have encountered, not just on this trip, but on previous trips.

They provided us with a bottle of Champagne to celebrate our anniversary which was a lovely touch. Our room had a great view out over the plain with hills in the distance, and Warthogs, Oryx and Impala in sight. In fact our room was stunningly spacious.

We have to return as we have adopted a Leopard - 2 years time all being well." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Dr H
Berks

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2014
"We were attracted to this place because of the work of the Africat Foundation and it didn't disappoint. Leopard and cheetah sightings were virtually guaranteed because many of the reserve's residents have tracking collars. We enjoyed the prolonged stays and close encounters we had with both a leopard and some young cheetahs as well as a few minutes with wild dogs.

On the second afternoon we went to see the work that the Foundation is carrying out. This was the only disappointing part of our stay here - a short talk and a chance to look at some small photographs didn't really enthuse us (they need some advice about how to conduct educational tours). This trip, however, did enable us to get close to some captive cheetahs who were being prepared for release into the reserve and their "ambassador" leopard.

We enjoyed good quality food here and the whole wonderful experience was topped off by a bottle of sparkling wine to celibrate our anniversary." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Yorkshire

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2014
"Rooms well appointed with stunning views, lovely evening meal in the barn, with excellent food.

Leopard drive fully recommended and not to be missed, Previous was a great guide who gave an excellent game drive and went out of his way to show us as much as possible. The vegetarian options were very good. Highly recommend this camp." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C & Mr R
Bristol

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2014
"This was a great place to finish our holiday. A fantastic room with a fantastic view. Food great. Staff great. Did the night drive, the Africat visit and cheetah tracking and enjoyed them all. The new lounge/eating area behind reception was very impressive.

The information in the rooms referred to a night hide but when we asked about this it wasn't available at the Plains camp. I'm not clear if it was at the other camp, but it is something we would have enjoyed using, particularly as we were a bit unlucky on the night drive and didn't see too much." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The E family
Bath

"Okonjima Plains Camp"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2014
"Very welcoming. New rooms and dining room very smart. Excellent excursions with very committed staff. Thoroughly recommended.

Be sure to take warm layers for early morning drives." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 181-190 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (220 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa