This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 191-200 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Family G
Oxordshire

"Okonjima is beautful but lacking character"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2014
"Although the rooms are stunning and the view from the bedroom window amazing, the overall feel of the camp is slightly cold and characterless. The staff are not very helpful and seem disinterested. It has a factory like feel to it." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms & Miss S
Vancouver

"A different experience"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2014
"This was a large operation and didn't feel as personal as the other places. Beautiful facility. Very nice and hardworking guide. I was surprised how hard it was to find cheetahs and the next day how hard to find leopards. In the literature it makes it sound like they're everywhere.

We had a problem getting into the property as the gate wouldn't open. We sat in the very hot sun with cars lining up behind us and with not much information from the people we called. Eventually they did come and open the gate and we did have a good time there. But probably liked it the least of all the other places we stayed. But it was still very nice. We did finally see cheetah cubs and the next day my daughter finally saw a leopard" See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2014
"Very pleasant place to stay for our first night. New camp, just opened with immaculate rooms.

Meals and bar served in the very impressive glass-fronted Barn, which over looks the plains and a small waterhole. Comfortable 3 hour drive from Windhoek airport." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Bristol

"Africat and the honeymoon suite"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2014
"When we arrived at the first entrance gate we were told we had been upgraded to Bush Camp from Garden Suite. When we finally reached the Bush Camp (27 km later) the welcome was very warm and friendly and we found we had been further upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite. Unfortunately there was no heating in the suite which was a grave disadvantage as the temperature plummeted after our arrival and the hot water bottles provided were an essential item.
Food was taken around dining tables which seated 6-8 and was well presented and served, with a good variety.
The game drive on the first day was a disappointment. The tracking equipment did not seem to be working very well. We did manage to get a glimpse of one leopard (which strangely did not have a collar!) On the second day we looked for Cheetah and found two very placid looking ones which had not long since been released into the hunting area. A special treat was the Porcupine watching after dinner from a specially constructed hide." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Coleraine

"Great experience"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2014
"We were lucky to get a room with a waterhole view. Excellent bird life in the garden, good reception area and very friendly and helpful staff.

Rooms were clean but functional." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Taylor family
UK

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2014
"Do not miss!
We stayed at the bush camp which was a wonderful place. Our only regret was that we didn't stay here longer! The rooms were amazing with a large vista window looking out on the bush. Very clean and comfortable accomodation. The chalets were spaced out which was nice so everyone had their own parking area and it was quiet.

The quality of the guides was fantastic, especially Richard and Previus (Hope i've spelt it correctly) who were like a very informative comedy double act. We saw several cheetahs close up and other game one memorable evening. Sadly we didn't see a leopard but it was not for the want of trying. Two of the best guides I have ever encountered, friendly, fun and knowledgeable, and they made every effort to get you close to the wildlife. The food was also lovely and plentiful.

The home of the Africat foundation, I can highly recommend this as a place to stay." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms E
Herts

"Wonderful stay at Okonjima"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2014
"Our two night stay at Okonjima was the highlight of our trip.

Wonderful food and service, beautiful room and the game drives to seek out cheetahs and leopards was great fun." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof & Ms M
Santa Fe

"Okonjima Plains Camp Review"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2014
"Enjoyed the visit to the Africat facilities." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Perth

"Stop and Go"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2014
"We were fortunate to see both one cheetah and two leopard, the cheetah very close. Beautiful animals.

However, the place let itself down by the lack of personal service and the dining staff were not good. The food was OK but rushed. As we saw the animals on two enjoyable game drives, we left a day early and headed to Windhoek for our last night. We were later told that a new lodge is being built and the staff may have been distracted.

Overall, it is a great place to track and see cheetah and leopard, but once you have seen them, move on." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Dr & Mr B
Cardiff

"unforgettable interaction with rare big cats"

2 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2014
"Our accommodation was spectacular --a small villa on the outskirts of the camp with enormous rooms, large picture windows and completely private. Possible to lie in bed watching animals go past .Decorated with modern African art and beautifully furnished.Manager very helpful--arranged for us to be picked up by vehicle because of distance from Lodge.

This place cannot fail to please because of the close up view of the cheetahs & leopards in the wild----a very moving experience

Only minor quibble ---no choice of menu---food could be more imaginative but breakfasts very good.

We found out only after arrival we could have booked to include all drinks" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 191-200 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (219 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa