This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 201-210 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Family P
London

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2014
"The experience of seeing leopard and cheetah at close quarters was extraordinary. All professionally done.

Only negative observation was that we had not been told in advance that game drives would be charged as extras. Why charge this way when it is the main point of people going there? It would be much simpler to have an all in deal like Kulala. With extras also being charged for drinks, save for a sundowner on the game drive, it all came across as quite commercial. We want our money to be taken but in a way that makes it seem pleasant!!" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mr F & Mrs B
Preston

"One of the highlights of the trip !"

2 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2013
"We had New Year`s Eve here at Main Camp in Okonjima and they really went to town and tried hard. Excellent service and food. The activities were excellent and our guide was superb. It was very rewarding to visit the Africat Foundation. We got some superb sunset photos here.

We cannot praise all the staff there enough. No one should miss staying there." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms G & Mr M
Spain

"Amazing place; great experience."

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2013
"The rooms (the ones with views) are exceptional: big, well designed and with beautiful vistas. Great location.

Very interesting the big-cats-tracking activity." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
New York

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2013
"The facility and food were excellent and there was a lovely pool for hot afternoons. The staff was very good. We had a garden room which was fine. Our tour guide, Jonas, was just adequate. We wish there were more information given on tours rather than concentrating solely on looking for cats. On one of our tours there was a private guide with a small group and he was full of fascinating information which he generously translated into English and shared with us. It made us realize what we were missing.

Choosing the education center as an an activity should be skipped as all it involved was reading information boards which could be done on your own. Again, this may have been what we experienced because of our particular guide who was napping in the truck.

The sundowner at the Zen garden and other overlooks was just beautiful and not to be missed. Overall definitely worth the visit." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & family
UK

"Wonderful family experience"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2013
"Great location accommodation and staff . We felt one night here was not enough and felt we had to rush some of the activities or miss some although the lady who met us on arrival did her best to ensure we got the optimum out of our time here . Seeing the leopards and cheetahs in this location was a memorable experience that we as a family will never forget. Previous our guide was brilliant he was so informative and although at times we didn't think we would get to see a young leopard ,he got us deep into the undergrowth where we closely experienced the interaction between mother and cub ...truly wonderful to see .

On leaving the camp we made a detour to the REST sanctuary , that we again thoroughly enjoyed and found fascinating especially holding the Pangolin . We definitely would recommend a longer stay here ." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Haslemere

"Upgraded to Okonjima Bush Camp - great!"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2013
"On arrival we were upgraded to the Bush Camp, so all comments relate to that. The rooms were fabulous, partly walled and part open with roller blinds. A nice seating area to one side of the bed at a slightly lower level, and good shower, basin etc. facilities.

The food was the best we had in Namibia, both in terms of quality and quantity, and David, the manager could not have been more helpful, reconfirming our flights with no problem at all.

2 excellent game day drives to find leopard and then cheetah. And a fascinating evening drive to see porcupines and honey badgers. All very successful. A great stay. If time had allowed we'd certainly have stayed another night and relaxed a bit more! We had a tiny water hole outside the room and bird seed provided - we were soon feeding hornbills, helmeted guinea fowl, sparrows, weaver birds and more!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Kingsley

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2013
"Although much more of a managed 'safari park' type reserve than Etosha with less variety of animals it was still very enjoyable and being able to see a cheetah in such close proximity on foot is a huge thrill. Our driver for the cheetah walk was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable and the sundowner a perfect end to the day.

We wish we had stayed here for longer as would also have liked to do the leopard tracking as we had not seen one elsewhere. The only down side is we felt the activities on offer were a bit of a 'hard sell' and making money was important.

The rooms were excellent with spectacular views and facilities generally very good. Staff friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Ms M
Sante Fe

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2013
"A very nice way to end our trip. Staff was excellent.

We have some mixed feelings as to Okojima as a destination. The area is not as scenic as a lot of the other places we visited and as Africat has (for good reason) made education its main mission, what visitors see is a lot different from what we had read about Okijima. There are not a lot of cats there and they no longer are allowed to roam near the main camp area. They are changing the camp to be a "plains" camp by removing nonnative plants. It all makes sense but as a tourist experience it's not what it was. But we enjoyed it and appreciate the dedication of Africat to deal with the complexities in the survival of large cats." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs L
Norfolk

"Not the Traditional Safari"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2013
"This is not the traditional 'big 5' safari experience. As the home of the AfriCat Foundation it is firmly focused on cheetah and leopard. This should be seen as complementary to safari elsewhere (it is easy to combine with the excellent Etosha National Park) or for those particularly interested in these beautiful big cats.

We had a View Room at the Main Camp which was spacious, well equipped and comfortable. Free wi-fi in the public area. The tariff includes two activities each day - primarily to look for either cheetah (more or less guaranteed) or leopard (much more difficult). Both wear radio collars to assist location for research purposes. We found that the cheetah safari was the most satisfying as you are taken through a bigger area of the park and we saw a very impressive range of animals. In fact during this activity we were very lucky and found a superb un-collared leopard that we were able to see from very close range and get great pictures. We also walked 100 yards or so into the bush with a guide and tracker to see a mother cheetah and her cub. Cheetah don't see people as prey so that makes it possible to do this in relative safety.

Food was adequate if a little hit and miss. As long as you are clear how the Okonjima experience will fit into your overall plan/time available, it is highly recommended. In order to enjoy the activities to the full, I would strongly suggest you stay for two nights." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr G & Mrs F
Canada

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2013
"Due to the large size of the facility, this was our least favourite camp in Namibia. It can't help but be less personal with so many guests. That said, the rooms and meals were fine and we did get to see cheetahs close up." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 201-210 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (220 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa