This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 211-220 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Norwich

"Loved it!"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"The bungalows are really well appointed with a large picture window opposite the beds. There is a large shower and 2 basins.

This camp is all about the activities and we were booked on them all! We tracked leopards (twice), walked up to a group of cheetahs and visited the Africat Foundation.

We were grouped with 2 other couples from the UK for the game drives and meals and kept the same guide throughout.

We couldn't visit the hide though as the storm knocked out the lights there." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr N & Mrs J
Wilts

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"Another highlight of our stay. We enjoyed the emphasis on conservation, and admired the dedication of the staff.

The rooms were excellent and the trips really informative." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs V
Avon

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2013
"The staff were extremely friendly,helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were excellent and fully equiped with fridge, coffee/tea making facilites and quality toiletries etc.

Given the size of the lodge dinner was disappointing. There was no choice. Whilst it's presentation was more sophisticated the quality of the actual food was no where near the quality we had experienced at the other lodges. Breakfast was good.

We were rather rushed into an afternoon activity as soon as we arrived and didn't get a chance to catch our breath. The same guide (Norman) was allocated to us during the stay who was very good and obviously very committed / enthusiastic about the project. It did feel a bit like being bomarded with information. Our other activities with Norman were excellent and possibly the highlight has to be the afternoon drive through a thunderstom being pelleted with hailstones and getting soaked. All was taken with good humour as we sought refuge at the other camp, were given warming drinks, dried out a little and then continued our drive." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Prof P & Prof S
Derbs

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2013
"Well worth a visit - beautiful lodge. The staff were absolutely superb. Bush view rooms have stunning vistas. Afternoon tea and cake is a really nice touch when you have just arrived.

Be aware the cheetah tracking is on foot from the vehicle." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Miss M & Mr M
Ireland

"Got upgraded to Bush Camp!!"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"We were upgraded on arrival. Loved bush camp. Rooms were amazing and we had our own family of warthog!! Food was fantastic and all staff were very friendly and willing to help.

Bit dissapointed that we didnt get to 'adopt a spot' and felt surprised that staff werent more willing to assist with us donating to the Foundation." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Ms S & Mr B
Charlotte

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2013
"We stayed in Main camp. It is hard to imagine 2 levels of nicer facilities at this place. This was beautiful. My favorite interior design was at this facility. I took pictures all around the room.

We loved our Cheetah walk and leopard tracking. We had a sundowner with a sleeping leopard. The staff seemed to be completely oriented toward our satisfaction. The internet was unusable. It was just too slow. Our view room was nice but we had quite a hike to the lodge. The food was excellent.

We had a little ant problem... but no big deal." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Mrs A
Herts

"Okonjima main camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2013
"Not to be missed. We loved it here and the work they are doing with cheetahs. Definitely choose the 'view room' which is lovely- clean, comfortable, tea/coffee/hot chocolate. Amazing to wake up looking over Oryx and Jackall across the land. We would thoroughly recommend it as a great start to any holiday- a chance to get to see Cheetahs and Leopards close up and to go with a guide to radio-track them.

The lodge and surrounding area is 'safe from predators' so don't worry if you have children - it is fine. Our guide (Martin) was fantastic. Lovely food, cakes with afternoon tea and breakfasts excellent. Our only very minor comment was we felt the staff were just a little too enthusiastic in constantly offering drinks to us and the children during every evening. Just left a slight feeling of them trying to extract as much money from us as they could." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Bristol

"Upgraded!"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2013
"We were upgraded from the main camp to the more exclusive Bush Camp!

Lovely room which opened down one side straight onto the open bush. We had Helmeted Guineafowl and Hornbills sitting outside waiting to be fed!

We all ate at big tables, which gave us a chance to talk to the other guests, who were mainly Dutch, German and Swiss, all speaking excellent English!

Two amazing trips out with Rohan , tracking both Cheetah and Leopard, with really close sightings of both. Should have stayed another night!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs KP & Mr P
Dorset

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2013
"We were upgraded to the Bush Camp where we had a rondavel surrounded by guinea fowl, warthogs and hornbills.

A lovely place, with wonderful big cats. The leopard tracking and cheetah tracking were very special - did leopards twice." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Newbridge

"Final night"

1 night Arrived 2 Aug 2013
"Arrived in time for afternoon tea. After a slightly stressful journey as our car had been damaged in Etosha it was lovely to arrive to the relaxed hospitality of Okinjima. We were the first residents in 1 of the new view chalets. Amazing acoomodation with panoramic windows. Enjoyed afternoon watching oryx and warthogs

Dinner was very good and enjoyed the company of others during the meal. Went on the after dinner drive in search of cheetah - no luck but did see a pangolin

Exceptionally comfortable night's sleep" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 211-220 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (220 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa