This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 221-230 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Mr F & family
Belgium

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2013
"Okonjima is a place that gave us mixed feelings.

It gives the opportunity to get close to cheetah and leopards, big cats you won't see at Etosha except when you're lucky. The Africat Project is very informative and does a good job it seems. On the other hand it sometimes gives the impression of a commercial fenced in safari park.

The accomodation is good but not so impressive as the glossy brochures and website show. The bungalows are concrete buildings with less attention to style than other lodges in Namibia. The food is good but nothing more than that, we got much better food in most other places. Maybe travelling in Namibia got us spoiled an bit?

The tracking of cheetah and leopard is obvious less exciting than finding animals in the wild. They only track a few leopards they know they can find rather easy, although this still is not a guarantee. Tracking cheetah seems to be easier.

It was clear that at least our guide only wanted to track the animal you payed the activity for. Finding the other cat was for the next activity to pay, although he sometimes mentioned 'to stay in the car because there was a leopard close by'.

The visiting of the evening hide is a joke. In fact the guides only empty a bucket and then the waiting porcupine chases every other animal away (I saw a flash of a genet cat). There is no chance to stay there waiting for other animals, because the (noisy) guides want to return as soon as possible to the lodge! This gave us a very uncomfortable feeling...

" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr J & Ms D
UK

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2013
"A taste of paradise. Everyone was enthusiastic about the camp and activities. The upgrade was definitely appreciated.

The bird seed was great for attracting the birds and although a small gesture was appreciated as we saw a huge amount of birds attracted by the food.

The safaris to search for the cats were well run and successful. The porcupine hide was an amazing bonus and a recommended activity" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
M family
Hampshire

"Okonjima great for cats"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2013
"On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded to Bush Camp.

Staff were slightly business like when we arrived but guides very friendly, and after initial welcome all staff very friendly. We did not arrive in time for evening game drive which did not matter as we were there for 2 days, but it would have been helpful to have been alerted to this if we had only been staying one night.

Good accommodation although I repeatedly fell over an unmarked, unlit step in our room (light present but no bulb).

Excellent viewing of cheetah and 2 leopard at close quarters (although we were warned there was only 50% of seeing leopard). Also porcupine and honey badgers at night hide.

Obviously everything here is a bit more "laid on" and not so genuinely wild but it does mean you have a good chance of seeing leopard which it would be sad to miss. Starts to bring you back to civilisation before the last drive to Windhoek." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mrs S
UK

"Is it a safari park ?"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2013
"We had the experience of cheetahs 2 metres away, a leopard palyng with it's cub and also eating its kill up a tree - unbeatable photo opportunities; although the area is fenced and the animals used to human contact, the area is large and you'd be pushed to get a closer view of leopards in the (semi) wild.

The lodge itself is excellent." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr H & Mrs M
Dunedin

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2013
"I loved the imaginative yet simple accommodation. It was inspirational.

I had on arrival gone out on a very successful expedition looking for and finding a leopard. This was followed by a delightful evening meal. The next morning an early start for another expedition when we found a family of cheetahs, 1 sister 2 brothers. They had become estranged after an early morning hunt and the sister of the 2 brothers was calling for her brothers by putting much effort into a "meow" that had a powerful vibrato sending it long distance. I walked ahead of the group of people and close to the female cheetah. I wanted to talk to her but didn't. She knew I was just a few metres behind her and she and I both,were comfortable. She was reunited with her brothers and there was much joyful licking going to and fro. This was an experience of a lifetime for me.

After that we rode in the truck and the driver/guide managed to find a Leopard and her cub. This too was a memorable experience." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
JBB
Surrey

"Okonjima Main Camp review."

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2013
"I have mixed feelings about Okonjima.

First of all our stay there was very brief and everything was extremely rushed - this may have been because we stayed at a previous location a night longer than originally planned and so had to discard a night somewhere else. Because of the rush I may be a little more harsh in my judgement than is fair.

Okohjima sounded a very interesting nature reserve and we were looking forward very much to spending the last night of our holiday there.

We arrived at lunch time - taken to our room which was well appointed, spacious & had a fantastic view.

We then returned to the restaurant & along with another couple tried to get some lunch. This proved quite difficult & took up some considerable time but eventually some food did arrive.

It was quite to rush to join the afternoon safari in search of leopards (which we didn't find) & then got back quite late to rush for supper followed by a rush to the waterhole to wait for the arrival of Porcupine. The last of the evening was taken up with packing for a pre-breakfast departure for the airport.

Some of my feelings about Okonjima may have been different had there been more time to spend there.
As it is I do not feel they have their act together somehow - the reality of the place does not live up to their very glossy brochure.

The room was good.

The service was almost non-existent.

The Leopard safari was hugely disappointing - when eventually the guide admitted he was unable to get any signal on the radio device he told us there were only 2 animals that wore the transmitters & if, as they probably had, mooched off to the distant hills, he would not be able to find them. This was said as if he was used to saying it! Despite what the brochure says - I wonder how often a visitor actually sees a Leopard & how big a part does Photoshop play in the production of photographs on page 2 of their brochure?!!

The food was poor.

The waterhole was simply awful! Looking at the stunning photographs in the brochure I can't help but wonder if maybe the standard of waterhole goes down with the standard of the accommodation?!!! After the relaxed atmosphere around the waterholes of Etosha it came as a surprise to be led down a track and into a hut to peer out at a dimly lit manky tank in the ground. Our guide then emptied a bucket of kitchen waste beside the hole & proceeded to tell us all to 'Be quiet - be quiet' whilst he went on talking loudly to a friend. Whilst we waited he clearly knew something we didn't - that regardless of any noise the Porcupine would turn up for the evening meal they knew he would bring them!!!!

It was a very sad end to a wonderful trip." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs B
N Hants

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2013
"everything you expect from such a camp. fabulous room with a great view. food was very good. excellent packed lunch on the day we left. activities were excellent. enjoyed walking with the cheetahs. all staff friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Cheltenham

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2013
"We were upgraded to Bush Camp as there were building works at Main Camp

Staff a bit variable in attitude

Guides Defries and Previous excellent" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms E
Sweden

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2013
"It is a good camp but compared with the others perhaps the one least to my taste. It felt a little anonymous and more like a hotel.

On the other hand the game viewing was excellent even though radio tracking does not have the same excitement as "ordinary" tracking. However, I managed to see wild dogs which I've Always wanted to so that was a highlight." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
E Sussex

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2013
"Comfortable accommodation.

The activities were well planned and comprehensive with excellent guides.

The food was good and varied." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 221-230 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (219 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa