This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp

Reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

361 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okonjima Plains Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 40 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okonjima Plains Camp.
Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

81% success

Wild dog

18% success

Oryx

100% success

Giraffe

97% success

Zebra

94% success

Wildebeest

75% success

Eland

60% success

Brown Hyena

57% success

White Rhino

19% success

Aardvark

12% success

Spotted Hyena

11% success

Pangolin

4% success

Showing 171-180 of 361
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B
Hertfordshire

"Interesting place"

1 night Arrived 20 Dec 2014
"This reserve is situated 23kms off the B1 - not 10kms as stated in some literature - but the track is quite firm (sand based) and an easy drive.

The Plains Camp (standard room) chalet was very spacious including 2 double beds, large shower/ washing area, plenty of clothes storage, large viewing window (overlooking the plain) and own veranda. Own private parking just outside. Telephone to reception (not working - reported to management but not rectified during our 1 night stay).

Seemed to spend an inordinate amount of time trying to track the radio collared cats but were eventually rewarded with excellent views of leopard and cheetah - 3 resting after a kill.

Good eating/lounge area - food above average." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Horsham

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2014
"Friendly and helpful staff. Larger scale lodge and less luxurious than others we stayed at. However rooms furnished well, great location, and guided drives excellent. Well worth the trip to hear about Africat foundation and to see leopard and cheetahs.

Would recommend." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R & Ms M
New York

"A very special place - add it to your list!"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2014
"If you want to see big cats up close, this is the place for you! Due to time and budget constraints we could only stay here one night, but we packed everything we could into the time we had. We would strongly recommend two nights here!

Approaching the main lodge area is a lot of fun. You pass through three nicely decorated levels of gates, the fences of which serve as the boundaries of the Okonjima Game Reserve. The main lodge area looks like it belongs in Architectural Digest - it's a converted barn which serves as the reception area, lounge, dining room, and gallery. It overlooks an expansive plain with a waterhole frequented by warthogs, guinea fowl, springbok, and other creatures.

We stayed at the Plains Camp and had a plains view room. Again gorgeously furnished and decorated, with a lovely view. It was about a 7-minute walk from our room to the main lodge, but the path is well marked and well lit.

We arrived just in time for afternoon tea and cake, and then to join the evening leopard drive and sundowner. The Land Rover this time was full, and it goes without saying that some people can be extremely irritating! At first the guide was accommodating to these people by answering all their inane questions and stopping for every bird and springbok (which are wonderful of course but we were on a leopard drive and they can be very hard to find so that should have been the focus) but eventually he got them under control. Anyway we did eventually find a leopard who was lying near his recently-killed warthog.

The food at Okonjima was probably the best we had the whole trip. Elegantly plated, delicious, and not as heavy as what we had been eating the rest of the trip. The service was a bit hectic - most of the time the server didn't tell us what we were eating! We had to ask. But it was all tasty. Breakfast was good too, though not much different from what was on offer everywhere else we'd been.

Early the next morning we went cheetah tracking, which was a lot of fun. Again you go with a guide in a Land Rover some distance until they locate the cheetahs with a radar. Once you are near enough, you actually get out of the car and walk (quietly and carefully) up to the cheetahs. We found a group of three siblings, who were in the middle of tracking zebras to hunt. They made the chase, and we chased them! Being cheetahs they were too fast for us, but unfortunately for them they missed the zebra and we found them panting under a tree. We were able to get quite close to them then.

After breakfast back at the lodge we took the Africat Foundation tour. There we got to see another leopard and some cheetahs which are currently being rehabilitated. We then went to see the small lab where the veterinary work happens and learn more about the work they do there. We highly recommend this tour because you get to be so close to the cats and understand more about the challenges the cats face and what Africat is doing to try to solve the problem.

If there is a downside to this place it is only that it is popular and the jeeps will almost always be full on the game drives (depending on the time of year I assume), which means your chances of going on drives with people who are annoying goes up a bit. But it's definitely worth it. They do amazing work there and the cats are gorgeous!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C & Mr M
Hants

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2014
"We really liked the room at Okonjima and wish we had arrived earlier. The main camp area was also very well constructed, and the food was OK. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Computer for 3 mail was easily accessable

The "Locate the Leopard" tour was good and the guide was knowledgeable, and we did eventually find a leopard resting under a thorn bush. The tour of the AfriCat study centre was interesting, and we saw the leopard feeding which was entertaining but fairly contrived!

Undoubtedly the AfriCat foundation does a lot of valuable work at Okonjima, however the keeping of healthy cheetahs and leopards in captivity is a controversial subject. Nevertheless, we had a good time at Okonjima and would recommend this to other Namibia visitors." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
West Midlands

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2014
"We did not realise until we got there that it was a good 3/4 hour drive from the road gate to the lodge reception. There was loads to see on the way in including Springbok, Oryx, Baboons and all sorts of birds so it took us somewhat longer. Visitors need to ensure they get there well before dusk to make the most of this and to find the way more easily.

Superbly equipped, stylish and comfortable room with awesome views over the open plain and distant mountains. We had a standard room and were able to bird and animal watch from our comfortable king size bed thanks to the huge picture window at the end of the bed. We had warthogs nesting nearby, colourful birds on the verandah and passing springbok and guinea fowl. It was neve a dull moment and difficult to break ourselves away to go to breakfast. Location of the room was great from a wildlife and view perspective but it was a long walk over rough ground in the dark to get to dinner. The manager very kindly arranged for us to be driven back to our room. Fortunatley we were able to park right outside the room and the restaurant so went in the car one night and then took up the offer of a lift both ways from the staff on the third night.

The restaurant was stylish, not particularly comfortable and noisy but had a nice view in daylight hours with some common wildlife visiting the watering hole. Waiter service was a bit slow but complaints were handled efficiently by the managment.. The food was average and quality was a bit hit and miss. Breakfast was good but the serving area was some way from the dining area. I think they need to improve the quality of the food if they wish to attract passing travellers to eat there. The gift shop is uninspiring and expensive. Don't plan on doing your shopping here.


Apart from the views and wildlife around our room the highlight for us was the wildlife viewing trips, particularly the Cheetah safari where we were able to get very close on foot and obtained some great photos. There was also plenty of possibilities for birdwatching on foot in the grounds and a very pleasant bird hide." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms J & Ms C
UK

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2014
"upgraded from plains camp to rndevals. very exclusive only eight. Food good. Nice location" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
VIC

"Beautiful setting"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2014
"Would like to have spent another day here and see the cheetahs and hopefully leopards. But what we saw and did was worth the stop.

Will rectify another time." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
UK

"Okanjima a great experience"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2014
"Everything about Okonjima was good. The staff were very organised and we had already been booked onto an afternoon drive on our arrival mid afternoon.

As it would have been a rush to be ready on time we elected to do both a morning and evening drive the following day and the staff were very helpful with that. The cheetah tracking on foot was excellent and we were so lucky to witness a kill.

Our evening guide, Jonas, went beyond the call of duty in successful pursuit of a leopard. We then followed him to 2 further viewing locations. Fantastic." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"Plains camp -view room
It was a nice, clean and comfortable room with a view across the plain from the big bed, and quite private. We were able to watch many animals just from the room! And it was a good place to relax. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful.

We last stayed at Okonjima four years ago at Bush Camp, which we thoroughly enjoyed and the game drives had been very well orgainsed. However, we felt that Plains camp is quite large and more corporate than our previous experience. Although staff were generally very helpful & knowledgeable, we felt that too much pressure was put on a few animals by tracking radio collared animals on foot. This was however for many people the best opportunity to see endangered species, such as wild dogs and Cheetah, and to get close up to an hyena, but it did feel uncomfortable and animals looked not too happy by being continually disturbed.

Despite Expert Africa putting in the request for soya milk and us having completed a form on arrival at Okonjima, confirming the request for soya milk -n o one we asked knew anything about it, nor were they prepared to go and find out if there was any. After asking the 5th person on our second day did anyone actually try to find out, and eventually the soya milk arrived from Bush camp. After that the soya milk was available, but it had been a struggle to obtain it.

REST
After leaving Plains camp, we called in at REST (Rare & endangered species Trust). We had a fascinating guided tour of the facility and were introduced to owls, eagles, a pangolin and a wild cat kitten, as examples of their work. It was an interesting experience." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Midlothian

"Fantastic - accommodation and experiences"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2014
"We loved our time here - it is a stunning location, fabulous accommodation and what amazing opportunities to get close to iconic wildlife.

Great welcome, huge new public area, but beautifully designed and although a busy place, it didn't feel crowded (apart from maybe mealtimes).

Our room was described as a 'Standard Room' - they really should reconsider the naming as it was anything but standard. Huge windows overlooking the plain, huge bathroom and shower area, beautifully decorated and plenty of space for clothes, bags, lounging around.

The food was very good, a choice of vegetarian options and most food was collected from the outside cooking area. On the second night we ate with people we'd met at Grootberg who were on their 14th Namibia visit and knew Okonjima and its founders very well. We sat in a VIP area with them and met the new resident vet, again a very memorable night.

We did 3 Game experiences and yes, some of the Cheetahs and Leopards we saw were collared and tracked by radio, but it was still amazing to get so close (on foot to the cheetahs) to these beautiful animals. The trip to the Africat centre was worth it too as we witnessed a cheetah having a minor op and got to learn what the foundation is all about.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here - great people, lovely rooms, great surroundings and of course, the beautiful cats." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 171-180 of 361
95%
361 reviews of Okonjima Plains Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
290
59
8
4
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Okonjima Nature Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

Roomy chalets, personal service and great food make Okonjima Bush Camp a comfortable base from which to explore the Okonjima Reserve.


97% (220 reviews)
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa is the most exclusive place to stay on Okonjima, offering guests world-class photographic opportunities.


100% (13 reviews)
Okonjima Bush Suite

Okonjima Bush Suite

Bush Suite is a luxurious, private two-bedroom retreat at Okonjima; track cheetah and leopard with your private guide, affording some great photo opportunities.


100% (6 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa