This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo

Reviews of City Lodge JNB

Wildlife sightings and reviews

132 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited City Lodge JNB and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 81-90 of 132
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
GoldenHill

"Great airport hotel"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2014
"Very convenient airport hotel easily accessed within 10 minutes from the airport, comfortable spacious room, efficient check-in service with a very welcome cool drink available on arrival. Breakfast was excellent.

Would definitely stay here again if flying into Jo'burg." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss J
Leicester

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2014
"The hotel is a surprisingly long walk from Arrivals even though it is right on site and we would have been better taking a trolley!

There was a problem on arrival - did not seem to be able to find our booking but it was sorted immediately with no hassle. Good standard of accommodation with a nice room with all facilities. Eating at the hotel is limited with just a café with snack style meals but otherwise fine. Good breakfasts." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms T & Ms S
UK

"Good Overnight Stop Over"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2014
"Easy to access from airport and comfortable hotel for overnight stay." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"Ideal stopover hotel"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2014
"We didn't have to leave the airport building to get to our room. The desk staff were helpful and recommended a couple of restaurants in the airport terminal for dinner: 'Ocean Basket' for fish; 'Soaring Eagle Spur' for steak.

Our room was clean with a good shower and enough space for our luggage. The hotel breakfast was very good.

Ideal overnight accommodation between flights." See all these reviews: 24n in Botswana; 7n in Mozambique; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Caldicot

"One night at City Lodge"

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2014
"Perfect for our purposes, i.e. an overnight bed & breakast stay to break our journey from Heathrow to Livingstone.

The breakfast was excellent but we chose to eat there in the evening and the menu was limited." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr Z
USA

"City Lodge"

1 night Arrived 26 May 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mr Z
USA

"City Lodge"

1 night Arrived 15 May 2014
"Very convenient to airport. Good rooms with good air conditioner. Average dinner with very small selection. Great breakfast buffet." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Melbourne

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 27 Apr 2014
"Easy access from terminal, efficient check-in, courteous staff, easy to re-enter terminal after overnight stay" See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms J & Ms B
Canada

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 23 Apr 2014
"Very convenient for a one night stay in Joburg." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Alaska

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 17 Apr 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Showing 81-90 of 132
83%
132 reviews of City Lodge JNB by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
63
22
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Johannesburg

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental at JNB

A short walk from the arrivals hall, The InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a good quality airport hotel.


96% (23 reviews)
The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand Hotel is reasonably priced overnight hotel situated a short drive from Johannesburg O.R. Tambo International Airport.


76% (10 reviews)
The Safari Club SA

Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA is an original guesthouse with nice gardens and a relaxed atmosphere only a short transfer from Johannesburg International Airport.


77% (7 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa