This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo
City Lodge OR Tambo

Reviews of City Lodge JNB

Wildlife sightings and reviews

132 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited City Lodge JNB and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 71-80 of 132
Duration
Arrival date
Ms J & Ms C
UK

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms H W
Calgary

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Surrey

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2014
"As aiport hotels go it was ok and it met its purpose. Close to the terminal so it did what we needed it to do.

Dinner choices in the restaurant were very limited (mostly sandwiches and only a few hot meals), but breakfast was an amazing selection." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs A
Hawaii

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2014
"After traveling for 35+ hours to get there from Hawaii - we were happy to have a quiet clean place to sleep enabling us to catch flight out the next morning.

Breakfast was excellent. The hotel was easy to find so especially thank your to Maruska for the walking instructions. We were unable to find these instructions or a map anywhere on line for the hotel itself. The comments [ Ed: the ratings ] below are based on that we could rest and catch a plane the next morning and that it was an airport hotel." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Devin & Willow
USA

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2014
"The City Lodge is within walking distance (interior corridors) of the airport terminals, which made the hotel location excellent.

The buffet breakfast was a pleasant surprise." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Hawaii

"City Lodge OR Tambo"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2014
"The staff at the City Lodge were most accommodating, we arrived from our Doha flight early, well before normal check in time, but the front desk people suggested we get coffee, on them, and by the time we were part way through our first cup of coffee they came to us with a room key. Afternoon tea on the terrace by the water feature was delightful." See all these reviews: 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr W
Michigan, USA

"Great"

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2014
"When I got off the plane at Johannesburg after a 19 hour flight, I was tired. It was nice to have a room nearby, so I could get my early flight to Windhoek with no trouble.

There was plenty of help for luggage and directions. A nice young lady at the baggage rack walked with me to the hotel. She introduced me to her friend that showed me how to find my flight to Windhoek in the morning." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Mr J
Guildford

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2014
"Functional but close to airport (easy enough to walk within airport buildings). Good breakfast." See all these reviews: 5n in Mozambique; 5n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
N&A
Cincinnati

"City Lodge OR Tambo: Perfect!"

1 night Arrived 14 Aug 2014
"City Lodge OR Tambo was the best possible choice for our busy itinerary. The rooms were clean, the restaurant more than adequate, and the location couldn't be beat.

I'll definitely recommend it to those who have a relatively short overnight layover." See all these reviews: 2n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
GoldenHill

"City Lodge OR Tambo review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2014
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Showing 71-80 of 132
83%
132 reviews of City Lodge JNB by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
63
22
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Johannesburg

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


InterContinental O.R. Tambo

InterContinental at JNB

A short walk from the arrivals hall, The InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a good quality airport hotel.


96% (23 reviews)
The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand

The Airport Grand Hotel is reasonably priced overnight hotel situated a short drive from Johannesburg O.R. Tambo International Airport.


76% (10 reviews)
The Safari Club SA

Safari Club SA

The Safari Club SA is an original guesthouse with nice gardens and a relaxed atmosphere only a short transfer from Johannesburg International Airport.


77% (7 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa