This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View Guest House


29°40’7.1"S 17°53’10.6"E

Reviews of Mountain View

Wildlife sightings and reviews

19 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mountain View and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-19 of 19
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W-J
UK

"Kasane to Cape Town Day 15"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2011
"Clean, pleasant one or two night stopover with very good breakfast (we didn't eat cooked after our big evening meal but it looked excellent) and friendly staff.

We ate dinner at the Grazdak steak ranch; about a 15 minute walk from Mountain View. Excellent food, HUGE portions, wonderful staff and the chef even drove us 'home' as it was raining hard and refused to accept any payment.

We visited the flowers at Skilpad but found it disappointing – the sea of orange was spectacular but we saw more interesting and varied blooms by the roadside – but then we did take a very 'interesting' out-of -the-way route over the mountains back to the N7! Not quite the short cut we'd envisioned but much more fun than the main road." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs J
Warwick

"Mountain View Guest House"

1 night Arrived 29 Jul 2009
"Very friendy hostess, rooms very comfortable.

Ate well at Taurens Steak Ranch, recommended by MVGH." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B,
Portugal

"Mountain View Guest House review"

1 night Arrived 16 Feb 2009
"Welcome OK and the room was fine. Breakfast good.

Not much elso to say." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs SB
N London

"Springbok, personal service with a smile"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2008
"We enjoyed this lovely location, another beautiful room. Cars parked in 'bay' for each room.

Dining room (a choice of 2!) for breakfast was comfortable, light, pleasant.
Dinner recommendation on main road also great experience - shop, restaurant, tourist info!

Felt well set up and rested for the drive next day to Augrabies.
Also would recommend going to Goegap Nature Reserve while in Springbok. - had to cram that into a half day, but could have spent longer there." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr P
Wallingford

"Beautiful room and excellent wildflowers"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"Another excellent B&B in a good location.

We stayed 2 nights here from where we drove several wildflower routes, the most memorable being Skilpad - large expanses of Namaqua daisies - and Goekap - amazing variety of different wildflowers in lovely setting." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Yellow Canaries
UK

"Mountain View Guest House review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2008
"This was a conveniently situated guest house overlooking some of the other houses with good mountain views beyond. We were given a very pleasant room opening onto the garden, and with the heating full on found it quite comfortable (our car was iced up in the morning, and the grass white with frost, so we appreciated the heat - and the electric blankets!). We had a problem with the shower which sometimes had water, sometimes not, which was a bit awkward for us when covered in soap, and were told this was something to do with the town water supply.

As compared with Wilma at Clanwilliam, our hostess was not very helpful, and on our first night was unable to suggest anywhere for us to go for a meal. Breakfast was not as good as at the previous places, with no proper buffet and an inadequate toaster." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Norfolk

"One night stand in Springbok"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2008
"A very short stay here, but very welcoming and we had all that we needed." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
M & M Oxford
UK

"Mountain View Guest House"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2007
"Another very comfortable and quiet guest house, serving a very good breakfast. We were welcomed by the owner with afternoon coffee and cake which was much appeciated.

The rooms were tastefully and individually decorated.

Again, having a 4 x 4 vehicle allowed us to visit Orbicule Hill, the site of some rare obicular diorite (only of interest to geologists!)." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa; 3n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr E
Scotland

"A good B and B high above the town"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2007
"This was more like a hotel than a bed and breakfast. The breakfast was good and the service efficient.

Our room was excellent with views over the local countryside but others in our group were not as lucky." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-19 of 19
87%
19 reviews of Mountain View by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
10
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Namaqualand

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage

Annie's Cottage is a small, good-quality guest house in a good location near the centre of Springbok.


84% (24 reviews)
Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge

Ndedema Lodge is an elegant Victorian House in the heart of Clanwilliam. Here you'll find four individually decorated en-suite bedrooms with large Victorian baths, separate showers, air-conditioning and fresh flowers throughout.


88% (23 reviews)
Farmhouse Hotel

Farmhouse Hotel

The Farmhouse Hotel is located in the seaside town of Langebaan with sweeping views of the Langebaan Lagoon. An ideal place to explore the remoter west coast.


87% (17 reviews)
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve

Bushmans Kloof

Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve, a luxury 16-room lodge and spa, offering game drives, visits to the area's prolific rock art, botanical tours, nature trails and hiking.


97% (14 reviews)
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

Strandloper Hotel

Set in the quaint fishing village of Paternoster, Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel has beautiful views over the dunes, to the seemingly endless sandy beach and sea.


95% (4 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa