This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp

Reviews of Sand Rivers Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

80 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sand Rivers Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 23 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sand Rivers Camp.
Lion

91% success

Leopard

35% success

Wild dog

30% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

91% success

Eland

83% success

Spotted Hyena

82% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 80
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Finsbury

"Out of this world lodge in stunning setting"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2014
"What can we say about Sands Rivers, other than that it was perfect in every way! A breathtaking location overlooking the river, with hippos and crocs in the waters below. A beautiful lodge, tastefully decorated, with individual, luxurious open fronted safari cabins all with stunning river views. It was a joy waking up to that view every morning!

We also thoroughly enjoyed the range of activities available at Sand Rivers, with walking safaris, river safaris, fishing trips and more available alongside the classic game drive. There was less game here in comparison to the other camp we stayed in (Mdonya in Ruaha), but that didn't matter to us at all, and we still saw lots of animals and birdlife. Our guide here was excellent - his eagle-eyes and knowledge of the birdlife in the area was astonishing. Because of the lower levels of game though, we think our itinerary of staying in another, game heavy park first, followed by Sands River was a great combination.

The food and service at Sands River was excellent - first class every step of the way. The managers, Kate and Cameron, were also incredibly welcoming, professional and friendly, going out of their way to ensure guests enjoyed their stay.

We cant recommend this place highly enough - stay here and you won't be disappointed." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AR
UK

"Excellent Sand Rivers Safari"

4 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2013
"Sand Rivers Camp is perfect. Decor, hosting, guides, food, trips and facilities all excellent. Kate and Cameron have a great set up there and Laz is a brilliant guide with an exceptional ability to spot animals.

We had a David Attenborough moment where we watched a python swallow an impala whole!" See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Oxon

"Sand Rivers Camp"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"An excellent camp - high on my list of good camps (I love so many, for different reasons!). The staff were great, the sightings could not be bettered, the rooms came with ambient hippo music (you are on safari!), the monkeys were cheeky, but the numerous storage boxes meant it was never a problem.

Our first 15 minutes in camp went like this:
Nick: How are you guys doing? Are you feeling energetic?
Us: We're great. Just planning to relax a while after the flight.
Nick: Because we've just had a report of wild dogs...
Us: *Run for the cameras and ready to go*
A dash out to a wild dog sighting - now that was a great way to start a trip!" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss B & Mr B
UK

"Wonderful setting"

4 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2013
"First time at Sand Rivers we were surprised how different the landscape was over this side of Selous. Some parts of the road were very difficult to drive over ( bumpy) could be quite uncomfortable at times and wildlife was skitttish.

The highlight for us was the boat trip up the gorge it felt almost prehistoric. Food was always very good and monkeys not too much of a problem in the rooms as long as you are aware and act accordingly." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms T
DC

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2012
"One of the most beautiful rooms we ever stayed in. The staff was great, as was our guide. We had a blast." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Marlow

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2012
"Wonderful setting with wonderful, attentive service. Excellent guide who had the ability to spot animals from miles away - we struggled with binoculars! Food was excellent.

We enjoyed the concept of being in a fully catered lodge, where nothing was too much trouble - they even provided everything from sun cream to umbrellas and macs when it rained. The whole experience exceeded expectations." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LB
Alderney

"A different perspective of Selous"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2012
"We enjoyed being by the river and the motorboat trip to Steigler's Gorge was a highlight - as was the breakfast on the spit of sand!

Our guide Iyan was very informative and being a photographer was very good at positioning the vehicle to get the best light and shots. The Bush breakfasts in different locations were great surprises and fun. Matt and his staff were always friendly and helpful.

Our room was lovely and the only thing we were concerned about was the bad lighting in the lounge and dining area and indeed a fellow guest did trip over and fall as there are quite a few steps. Food was good and nicely presented but we thought there could have been more of a variety at lunch." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Reading

"wonderful camp and location"

6 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2011
"The camp was excellent. Rooms were very well equipped and we had a wonderful view of the river with hippos, crocs, waterbucks and lots of birds to watch from our balcony.

The staff were helpful and friendly and tried very hard to give us a varied menu, including an interesting range of cakes for afternoon tea.

Our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable and we got on well with him." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Ms D
UK

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2011
"Stunning views, amazing accommodation (we were actually upgraded to a suite), good wildlife, incredible service. The food was of an exceptional high standard and we enjoyed the communal meals very much.

Again, it was great that the camp was so small and it was very easy to meet people.

Of the 2 managers, Cloe was particularly helpful." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H
Maida Vale

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Showing 41-50 of 80
96%
80 reviews of Sand Rivers Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
67
12
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nyerere National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (278 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in Nyerere National Park that offers a great wilderness experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


94% (222 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (170 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms and superb service offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (82 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


98% (33 reviews)
Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in Nyerere National Park, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (31 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


88% (13 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in Nyerere National Park which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (5 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Nyerere National Park


90% (2 reviews)
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa