This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp


7°39’53.8"S 38°3’52.1"E

Reviews of Lake Manze Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

208 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Lake Manze Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Lake Manze Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

25% success

Wild dog

53% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

94% success

Striped Hyena

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 141-150 of 208
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs V
Harlow

"Lake Manze camp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2010
"Manze was a disappointment after Kwihala. The location was nothing special with next to no view despite being almost on the lakeside. The camp seemed crowded with the tents too close together and without much privacy. The furnishings were flimsy and the provision of candles for lighting seemed dangerous- most camps manage some sort of electric lighting nowadays. This indeed seemed a strange choice as they did have solar water heating. The food was OK but the camp seemed rather threadbare with dirty sand floors and rickety furniture- a chair broke under my not excessive weight! Our main gripe however was the water. This we were told was filtered and boiled water from the lake and was 'perfectly drinkable'. It may well have been safe but it tasted like pondwater and was simply foul and as they made tea and coffee from it they too were undrinkable. The alternative was to buy bottled water.
The game was actually excellent and the guides did make some effort to find things we were interested in but we got the impression that they were pretty disinterested and they lacked much more than minimal knowledge of the basics. They belonged to the 'find a lion at all costs' type of guides. We spent ages on one drive gathered round part of a dead impala up a tree with 8 other vehicles in attendance and then 'bundi bashed' the locality looking for the leopard that had evidently long since gone and was never coming back.
Given the large number of first timers at this camp we got the impression that it was actually directed at that group of 'first-timers' that combine a few days safari with a beach trip to Zanzibar and to be fair many of them thought the camp was fine although we suspected that it was because they did not know better.
We got the impression that it was not an altogether happy ship" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Steve H
Leeds

"time of a lifetime at Lake Manze tented camp"

5 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2010
"Altogether a wonderful experience made even more special by the friendliness and attentiveness of staff and the bespoke approach to activities" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Y
Angus

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2010
"A wonderful start to our safari adventure, the tents were great and we throughly enjoyed the hurricane lamps and no electricity.

Brilliant sightings of lion, leopard and elephants, our guide and driver were such fun but also very knowledgable and answered all our questions as if it was the first time they had been asked them. Loved the bush breakfasts and the trips on the lake gave another dimension to bush life.

The early morning walk was fascinating, and we learnt a huge amount. We really enjoyed the visits of Rifiki, the camp elephant, especially to the palms next to our tent, and to the bar area just before lunch, everyone rushing for their cameras! Sarah the assistant manager (Richard was away) was absolutely excellent, always smiling and really ensuring that everyone was happy and enjoying all the facilities to the full.

5*** plus We would go back tomorrow!" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Surrey

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2010
"Facilities were very good, food again very good, the idea of having the evening meal all together outside under the stars, with the opportunity of seeing the night roaming animals under the spot light meant the the safari was an on going experience.

The only slight negative was by the 3 day the taste of the water had lost it charm & I switched back to the fresh bottled water.

They are still in the early days of the fishing experience & I have agreed with Richard to send him out some fishing lures." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs N
Hants

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2010
"A fantastic location by the lake, an almost total contrast to Mdonya.

We loved our stay here and the variety of activities on offer was excellent. Our guide, Nukumah, and driver, Ally, were tremendous - great company and so anxious to find any animals we were keen to see. The organisation of the camp was excellent and we have absolutely no complaints, but, for us, the atmosphere was somewhat more organised and timekeeping seemed more important.

There wasn't the same flexibility we had enjoyed previously. Having said this, we had fantastic game viewings and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Wiltshire

"Lake Manze"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2010
"Food was very good (particularly the lunches)

The seating allocation at dinners was over regimented - they seemed determined to keep Italians and British apart - a better way would have been to have 2 separate tables rather than one large one.

The last day was spoilt by being told at dinner the night before that our tents would be required for guests arriving during our morning game drive. As it was then too dark to pack, the decision was made to leave later for that drive and continue on to Selous safari camp taking a bush lunch when that could have been decided days earlier and we could have had a proper lunch at Selous safari camp.

Mosquitos were present in tents and dining area which caught us unawares because our previous camp (Mdonya) had none
Adam (our guide) was disappointing with limited bird knowledge and he did not know the area well having only been there a short time" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr H & family
London

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2010
"Lake Manze's setting is delightful, sensitively blending in with the beautiful Selous bush and the lake in the foreground. The tents are very comfortable and all the facilities (showers, loos etc) work well. The communal area allows people to mix but also to remain in their separate parties if they wish. The food was excellent, freshly prepared and very tasty.

Lake Manze's staff were all friendly, welcoming and gracious. Our driver was a great character, who got on very well with everybody in the group, aged from 16-53, and worked hard, with his guide colleagues, to ensure that we saw the full range of game - hinting dogs, leopards, lions etc,. We had two guides for walking and driving safaris, both were excellent, providing detailed information and answering all of our questions. Our second guide was outstanding with excellent English and detailed knowledge of game and birds, despite being the youngest guide at the camp.

Our boat safaris and fishing trips were equally enjoyable, with plenty of opportunities to view the spectacular birds, hippos, crocodiles and other game and good advice on fishing - we caught two catfish of 8 and 10 kg respectively. All three managers were excellent and the trip went smoothly from beginning to end.

Our day trip to the hot springs was particularly enjoyable but the biggest surprise was the spectacular bird life." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C & Ms B
London

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2010
"We loved Lake Manze Camp.

The guiding and driving was superb: the food excellent: information and conversation with the camp's management very good.

Altogether a wonderful experience" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss J
Reunion

"Good safari at Lake Manze tented camp"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2010
"Good camp to stay .

The tents are clean and comfortable. The food is good as well. The manager and his assistant do their best to make guests happy.

I really enjoyed the boat trip in the channels." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Suffolk

"Lake Manze Tented Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2010
"Everything possible was done to make us feel at home. As a family group our individual needs were catered for and the activities were very flexible. If you wanted to go on a game drive half an hour later, or do more another day, then all you had to do was say so.

The food was excellent. The only thing was that at breakfast there were more options available then we first realised. For instance we didn't know they did porridge or omelettes until onther guest asked for them." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 141-150 of 208
93%
208 reviews of Lake Manze Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
147
54
5
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa