This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp
Sand Rivers Camp

Reviews of Sand Rivers Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

68 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sand Rivers Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sand Rivers Camp.
Lion

90% success

Leopard

11% success

Wild dog

50% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

90% success

Spotted Hyena

90% success

Wildebeest

90% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 68
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Grantham

"A warm, friendly camp - run by a good team"

4 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2018
"Sand Rivers was a busy camp but extremely well run with a wonderful atmosphere.

It was evident that a lot of thought had been given about pairing people up for the safaris. Michelle and Julian were extremely good hosts and were sensitive to the changing dynamics of the group as characters came and went.

We saw wild dogs and, most unusually, a civet cat who stayed still long enough to be photographed.

Would definitely recommend." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr F
Cheltenham

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2016
"Sand Rivers is clearly a well established and slick, professional operation.

The rooms maybe are becoming just a tad tired but not to any significant extent.

Superb guiding (Edward) and such a pleasure to have the option of river safaris too. The trip to Stieglers Gorge is unforgettable with so many hippos and crocs, lions on the banks etc etc.

Having been to Beho Beho some years ago, Sand Rivers for me rates much higher." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Oxon

"Repeat stay after fly camp"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2016
"See before.

[Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Oxon

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2016
"This is a repeat visit to Sand Rivers for us, and every bit as good as expected.

Part of the attraction here is the Rufiji Gorge boat trip. Whilst we failed to see Pel's Fishing Owl (reserved for the honeymoon couple staying in camp!) we had some excellent osprey and Colobus monkey sightings.

The highlight was a fly-camp, sleeping (very well) under a net on a very comfortable bed roll, with the 'car-door slam' of hunting crocodiles in the nearby lagoon to remind you where you are (don't worry, the tents are well back from the shoreline)!" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Mrs K
UK

"A luxury Camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2016
"The setting for Sand Rivers camp above the Rufiji river is very picturesque. The accommodation is luxurious.

The food was good, although we actually preferred the rather more rustic approach to dining at Lake Manze.

The guiding was good, but we did feel that there could have been more discussion with us regarding the activities available. We had booked one night at the fly camp and had a river trip up to Stiegler's Gorge, both of which were excellent; otherwise, it was just assumed that we'd go on game drives. On the last evening we did ask for a short river trip, which was arranged and was very pleasant.

The range of wildlife is good, although not as good as at Lake Manze." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms D
Ireland

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2016
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Ms D
Ireland

"Sand River Camp"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2016
"A very nice camp in a good location overlooking the Rufji river. Spacious and comfortable suite, excellent food, attentive manager (Eric) & overall friendly staff. Activities are varied (but there are no night game drives).

Previous guests had great sightings of wild dogs, but the game drives turned out to be rather quiet while I was there. Sadly, the effects of poaching in the area can certainly be felt (rare sightings of skittish elephants..). You cannot fault the camp itself, but I found the proximity of a hunting lodge and the evidences of poaching in the area somehow upsetting." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C
Cambridge

"FLY CAMPING A MUST"

4 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2016
"great host, and a lot of work for him until his partner joins later in year. Relaxed atmosphere, wonderful location. For us the buffet lunches were better than the more 'casserole' dinners. A bit too safe.
The fly camping was the highlight, beautiful, magical evening with shooting stars and gin!
I guess the rooms could do with a small uplift, just starting to look a little tired.
River trip also a pleasant change.
Game drives disappointing due to scarce wildlife, and some of what we saw was very skittish due to hunting over river and poaching. We were luck in seeing 2 elephants, others saw none during their stay, and no lions." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr H & Ms E
London

"Wild life on the river bank"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2016
"This is a really comfortable camp with great guiding. It's even more comfortable than when we were there 12 years ago as they have added plunge pools to some of the rooms and a lot of white sofas. The location on the river bank is amazing and means the activities are really varied - trips on the river, fishing, walking, as well as wonderful game drives and bush breakfasts.

The staff are all very friendly and professional. The rooms have high thatched roofs and are open sided - so you can hear those hippos and hyenas at night. They do have electricity in them and big bathrooms with indoor and outdoor showers. We were lucky enough to be given a hillside suite which had an outside sitting area and little pool.

The highlight of our trip was the fly-camping - we'd really recommend this. You sleep out under a mosquito net - so the stars are amazing. The bucket shower and long-drop toilet remind you of the old safari days and the team produce wonderful food from the bush oven. The camp fire, lanterns and your ranger with his gun make sure that the animals don't come and inspect you during the night. Thanks to Eric, Edward our guide and all the staff who made the trip so memorable." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Huntingdon

"Five day stay"

5 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2016
"Accommodation and service was very good.

Ernest, our guide was excellent and went out of his way to make our stay so good, very knowledgeable and persevered in difficult conditions to find wildlife.

Unprecedented rains made game viewing difficult and challenging.

Our fly camping experience was very well organised and well worthwhile." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 68
96%
68 reviews of Sand Rivers Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
56
11
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (212 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


99% (14 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa