This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp

Reviews of Impala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

275 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Impala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Impala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

9% success

Wild dog

60% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Elephant

91% success

Spotted Hyena

91% success

Eland

64% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 231-240 of 275
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs N
Bourne

"Selous Impala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2008
"Staff incredibly helpful - I would say they enhanced the experience.. The balance of river and land advantageous ( Gerard the boatman deserves a special mention) Had a very unsettling elephant encounter on the way to dinner one night which was not dealt with very well by the Askari - other people at the lodge also commented that they found the attitude to animals in the camp perhaps a little casual.

Food was strictly average overall (poor on one night)but on 2 occasions the staff arranged a different venue with surprises to celebrate birthday and retirement which was much appreciated. Bush breakfast also good, Choice of sundowner drinks limited.
Swimming pool a huge advantage in such heat.

Availibility of fresh coffee also a bonus" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Herts

"Even better than last year at Selous Impala!"

5 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2008
"Our stay at Selous Impala Camp was truly wonderful - we were reluctant to leave after 5 nights which is a longer than average visit. We clearly enjoyed the experience last year as we came back - but this year was even better

We couldn't fault anything. Mara was acting Camp Manager whilst we were there and she was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. Always smiling, she chatted with every guest at several points during each day checking that all was in order, attending to everything in great detail. She certainly gets things moving too - on our first day she located the missing binoculars (which had been promised for a few days by then) - and they arrived the next day!

I had a wonderful surprise birthday meal under the stars complete with a birthday cake (the first one I haven't had to make for myself for ** years!) accompanied by a procession of the staff and rendition of Happy Birthday and Jambo Bwana!

Our guide for the whole time, Ezra, was excellent. His happy smiling face greeted us unfailingly as we met for each new adventure! Ezra's excellent knowledge of birds, animals, insects and plants ensured that we had our best walking safari - and we saw Colobus monkeys too! All the game drives were wonderful (with Rajabu driving) and we enjoyed the huge amount of game viewing - and Ezra we never tired of our Leopard search!!

We had 3 boat safaris - all very different. The birds along the river are beautiful (Ezra's 'bling birds') - the malachite kingfishers patiently waited for us to take photos and we got some really great shots of them, the pied kingfishers and bee-eaters. Gerard got us very (but safely) close to groups of elephants crossing - a wonderful sight in the beautiful sunset.

We also enjoyed our Verandha Safaris, exchanging stories of the days events round the fire, excellent bush breakfasts, evening meals under the stars, the conversations with various staff and much more. This was certainly a very memorable stay. A big thank you to all at Impala!!" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B Dorset
UK

"wonderful camp in a beautiful setting"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2008
"We really enjoyed our stay in Selous Impala Camp. I expect we have stayed in about 20 game lodges/camps and Selous Impala Camp is the best by a margin.

The setting, accomodation, staff and, particularly, the food were excellent. The scenery and game might have been better in other areas but this camp was the tops. I find it strange that at both this camp and Magwusi the guides did not have binoculars.

We raised this locally but the point was not taken. Overall the guides were not as good as Botswana/Zambia but were 'good enough'." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Letchworth

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2008
"Well organised camp. The staff and guides were excellent, the accommodation was confortable and well located.

All the activities were well run, but individual tables for meals made it a bit more formal than Lake Manze, but it meant you had more personal attention!

Everyone was particularly kind as they were aware of Margaret's accident the previous year and we had a special starlight dinner thanks to Tessa Zanacchi." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Cornwall

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2008
"Every care and attention was given to us right from our arrival at the airstrip. Ezra , our guide with the huge smile, and Raja our driver were superb and were even able to show us wild dogs on the way to camp! Chloe, Mara and the rest of the staff took good care of us in camp. The tent was very comfortable and we certainly appreciated the electric fan!

The food was very good, enhanced by the beautiful setting overlooking the river and a view of the resident hippo.

We certainly saw plenty of animals and birds on our game drives, boat trips and in the camp but the most memorable would have to be the day we attempted to have a bush breakfast. A suitable spot had been selected and breakfast preparations started when driving rain rapidly moved in. Even the Land Rover couldn't supply shelter from the deluge so we got soaked and eventually moved on to dry out. Compensation came by way of a pride of lions 'playing' on the road. Suddenly the 4 lionesses became alert as they spotted a herd of eland. You can guess the rest. After many years of safari trips we saw our first hunt/kill – 2 huge male elands brought down by these superb hunting machines. And our vehicle was the only one to witness it!" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
E Sussex

"Good river safaris from Selous Impala camp"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2008
"River location allows good boat trips. A morning walk followed by breakfast by a lagoon and a return boat trip was a highlight. The bird checklist was a good idea

Dining arrangements of seperate tables lead to a less sociable atmosphere in the evenings." See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
The giraffes
Kent

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"This was the second part of our trip and it was absolutely fantastic. The camp is superb - I've travelled the world and don't think I've received such a high level of service. A case in point was on our last night when they moved us to a table to ourselves underneath the stars to celebrate our anniversary - a really nice touch.

The tented rooms are great, very stylish with comfy beds, 24/7 hot water, writing desks, 24/7 electricity and more. The staff were extremely friendly and the guides really knowledgeable. The food was superb - a la carte menus (two choices for each course) all cooked to a really high standard. I don't eat fruit so they would often prepare me a special alternative, another example of great service.

The game viewing was very good, although the animals were slightly more skittish than at Ruaha due to hunting in the other parts of the Selous. You can choose from game drives, boat safaris and walking safaris. The boat ones are very good for bird watchers, and you also get to see an abundance of crocs and hippos. We saw a wide variety of animals, including 2 leopards (very rare!), elephant, giraffe, lions, impala, kudu, baboons, colobus monkeys and loads more.

I couldn't recommend this place highly enough." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Barkestone

"Impala Camp - Haute Cuisine"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2008
"Our first comment here has to be the wonderful food, and the way it was served. Our particular compliments must go to the chef - he even wrote a recipe down for us!

Chloe led a very friendly and efficient team, and again she was always on hand to organise every thing we wanted to do. The tents were very comfortable, with all mod cons. Giraffe were frequent visitors around the tents, but we always felt safe with the Masai ascari escorts.

As well as very good game drives, especially with Dennis, we had 2 boat safaris, which brought us into close contact with the bird life along the river, fish eagles being a particularly impressive sight. Lots of crocs and hippos too." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
R family
Berks

"Selous Impala Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2008
"What a wonderful experience we had here - and we stayed longer than most - 6 nights - the guides so knowledgable about the animals - birds - plants - you name it. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The camp manager Chloe has a great relationship with her staff and the general feeling is of a happy, well run establishment. Nothing was too much trouble and they attended to every detail. Chloe was there to greet each returning jeep or boat or walking party.

We were a family party of 7 with grown up children - we were alloted guides, drivers and waiters for the time we were there which meant we got to know them and they us and helped us understand the country and the people a little more.


One of our party had dietary needs which were discussed and the menu adjusted accordingly. The food was superb and presented beautifully.
Eating breakfast and lunch in the bush is just the best feeling ever!

Every day was exciting and the being able to choose between game drives - boat safari's and bush walks meant that we could enjoy and experience all aspects of the wildlife and the area. It was exilerating being so close to the animals and observing them. Tracking the leopard and finally finding her was just wonderful and then being able to just sit and watch her quietly before any other jeeps arrrived. Waking up each morning to the loud and musical dawn chorus - watching an elephant in the night outside the tent - coming back from dinner to the welcome of the bush baby. It all added to the magic and the fun.

I would strongly recommend the Impala Camp for anyone considering a safari." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The zebras
Newcastle

"Happy campers at Selous Impala camp"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2008
"We had a wonderful time at Selous Impala camp and felt it made an excellent contrast to Mdonya camp in the Ruaha. The river offers another dimension to a safari and we could not have had a better guide than Gerard whose knowledge about the wildlife on the river in particular is outstanding. Our driver and guide Dennis who took us on our bush safari was also very knowledgeable. The camp is very well run by Chloe and her team and is in such a beautiful position that it all adds up to make for a wonderful experience, we loved every minute of it. Our waiter David looked after us very well in the restaurant and made us feel very at home and the food was extremely good. We would recommend this camp to anyone planning a safari. We liked having half day safaris with a rest in the afternoon and found this an ideal arrangement." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 231-240 of 275
96%
275 reviews of Impala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
31
9
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa