This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs A from Essex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

More than exceeded expectations

Zambia between 21 Sep 2011 and 6 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"More than lived up to expectation, glad we chose the camps we did and appreciated the help Lucy gave us on our itinerary.

Will live long in our memory and very much hope to return sometime in the not too distant future.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None I can think of"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Wonderful laidback camp in South Luangwa"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"Spent four nights here at the beginning of our Zambian adventure (including one night sleeping in the Elephant Hide) - wonderful camp in the South Luangwa park, excellent guides (special mention to Ian and Patrick), nice relaxed atmosphere. Very comfortable chalets with deck overlooking the river where lunch was served, outdoor bathtub fun, meals excellent and all staff most welcoming and attentive to every need. Particularly enjoyed the hides (hippo and carmine bee eaters). Felt we were really part of the bush and as close as possible to nature, cannot fault it.

Very relaxed camp with comfortable chalets and deck area opposite overlooking the river where lunch served each day. Meals excellent, animals in camp make life more exciting! All staff very welcoming and we felt very much at home - no pretentiousness here! Guiding top notch, special mention to Ian, Patrick and Kennedy. Fantastic game viewing, not only our first ever leopards (more than one) but an aardvark too!

Loved our night in the elephant hide and also hippo and carmine bee eaters hides - this place is a photographer's dream.
Could not ask for a better place to start our safari."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Wonderful laidback camp in South Luangwa"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2011
"[Ed: see below for comments - they spent this night in the elephant hide!]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Wonderful laidback camp in South Luangwa"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2011
"See previous comments [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"A real bush experience"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2011
"Walked here from Kaingo for a 3 night stay, very small camp with excellent food and fun outdoor bathroom, small seating area in front of the chalet overlooking dry river bed. Excellent hide to observe animals/birds visiting for much needed water just a few steps away from camp.

Perfect for those looking for a relaxed bush experience, fantastic game viewing - best saved to the last evening when had a superb leopard sighting followed by lion and two small cubs, so good we missed sundowners that night.

Debbie perfect hostess, staff behind the scenes did an excellent job in soaring temperatures and the legend that is Meyham was not only incredibly knowledgeable but had the best sense of humour ever!

We celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary in Mwamba and they gave us a private dinner outside our chalet which was lovely and much appreciated."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kawaza Village

Kawaza Village

"Fascinating insight into local village life"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2011
"Greeted by our host Constantino, we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived, plunged in straight away with helping with the meal and washing up, spent the rest of the afternoon chatting to our hosts, visited Kawaza School where we met the girl we have begun sponsoring and were surrounded by very excited children desperate to have their photos taken! Dancing laid on in the evening (no light after dark apart from the fire so take torches!)

Loved the interaction with our hosts, spent a surprisingly restful night in our mud hut (apart from the cockerel starting his day at 2.15am!) and were taken to meet other villagers before we left after our breakfast of noodles and sauce.

Staying overnight is probably not for everyone but we are very glad we did, it gave us a real taste of what village life is like and we spent a long time discussing the future of the village and particularly of the younger generation.

Thoroughly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2011
"Perfect camp in which to end our safari, very warm welcome from our hosts Jason and Kayla who were perfect company and food was of an excellent standard. Chalets very comfortable with outdoor shower/bath overlooking the water so lunchtime siestas never quiet with frequent elephant crossings and wonderful birdlife to observe.

Many elephant and buffalo in camp so getting to and from chalets always exciting, could not ask to get much closer to these wonderful beasts.

Guiding topnotch (thanks to Levy and Morat) and our last night drive yielded an excellent sighting of the elusive pangolin in addition to several leopard sightings during our stay.

We very much enjoyed our stay and felt this camp to be a perfect place to enjoy the Lower Zambezi park - very much hope to return in the not too distant future!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2011
""
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team