This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko

Reviews of The Emakoko

Wildlife sightings and reviews

116 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Emakoko and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 53 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Emakoko.
Lion

75% success

Leopard

3% success

Cheetah

13% success

Wild dog

5% success

Zebra

88% success

Giraffe

88% success

Black Rhino

80% success

White Rhino

79% success

Buffalo

74% success

Eland

61% success

Wildebeest

56% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Striped Hyena

6% success

Pangolin

3% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 101-110 of 116
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Colchester

"The Emakoko review"

0 night Arrived 29 Jul 2014
"As before - a good way to wind up a happy safari.

[Ed: see their comments of the Emakoko from their first visit there, at the start of their trip, below. ]" See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Miss S & Mr P
Suffolk

"The Emakoko"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2014
"Arriving at The Emakoko was a perfect way to start our week in Africa. A very warm welcome and a late supper prepared for us on our arrival.

Nothing was too much trouble." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Surrey

"The very best spot in Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2014
"Our experience at The Emakoko was truly amazing. We were warmly greeted on our arrival, which was very late at night, and served a superb cold supper and drinks before being escorted to our rooms. The accommodation is first class and everything we needed was on hand. Our wake up call was prompt and friendly and the curtains of our room were opened to reveal a magnificent view across the valley into the Nairobi Game Park . Breakfast was served with courteous efficiency and bags collected for a prompt departure for Wilson airport. Anthony and Emma were on hand and very visible at all times and took pains to make sure we had everything we needed. All the staff came to see us off even though we had been there for only a few hours.

On returning to Emakoko after the safari, the same warm welcome was afforded us - excellent greeting with flannels and a refreshing drink followed by yet another delicious lunch. Even though we were only booked in for day rooms, the attention to detail and concern for our well being was exceptional, even to the extent of Yvonne, in the office, booking us in on line and printing boarding passes for our return flight. We had time to relax by the pool, enjoy tea and cakes, have a leisurely bath or shower and yet another superb 3 course meal before our departure to the airport.

The ambience of the hotel is incredible and all the staff are committed to providing the best service at all times. Emma and Anthony are to be congratulated on running such a wonderful hotel - I would love to return one day.

My only concern is that because of the location of some of the rooms - ours was number 9 - a steep climb of 144 steps, any elderly or physically challenged guests should be sure to ask for rooms close to the main reception area. However for us the view from the top was well worth the effort!" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs AS
Herts

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2014
"Excellent service - wonderful location and good food" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Dorset

"Made very welcome"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"Our accommodation was first class. We were made very welcome and wish we could have spent a little more time there. The staff were very efficient and helpful.

The setting was lovely and our rooms had everything we needed with very attractive décor." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Colchester

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"We much enjoyed this Lodge.

Well run, a good welcome, and again many chats invariably in Swahili, withe engaging and delightful staff.

The otherwise good bathroom had some awkward fittings for example if one dropped the soap/shampoo on one side of the bath it became almost impossible to retrieve." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Good base for Nairobi"

0 night Arrived 20 Jul 2014
"We only spent about 8 hours in the Emakoko while waiting for our flight home to London. It's reasonably close to the International Airport, approx 40 mins drive and access to it is via the Nairobi National Park. It's a realy lovely hotel with individual bungalow type rooms. It's hard to believe that the major city of Nairobi is only a mile of so away.

Anton the manager greeted us on our arrival and was most attentive despite our short stay. His efforts at keeping us in touch with the final moments of the British Open Golf were much appreciated.

Standard of accommodation were excellent, it was great to have unlimited hot water for a change and it's an ideal place with which to start or end a safari in Kenya." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr P & Ms F
London

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2014
"comfortable and efficient for overnight stay.
friendly welcome." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs Lysiuk
UK

"Exploring with Rhinos"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2014
"Great introduction to first time on Safari and to Africa. Wonderful hosts filling in for the owners but we wouldn't have known!

Wonderful food, very fresh and varied. The service was great from all the staff we met. Our game driver was fun and friendly and we learnt so much about the country and wildlife! We spotted lots of animals - giraffe, lion, rhino and hippos!" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The B family
Leics.

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 15 Feb 2014
"All aspects excellent" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 101-110 of 116
97%
116 reviews of The Emakoko by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
14
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Four Points Nairobi Airport

Four Points Nairobi Airport

The Four Points by Sheraton, set within the perimeter of Nairobi International Airport, is ideally located for a first or last night in Kenya.


91% (145 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (62 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (59 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (59 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


91% (53 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


98% (35 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


82% (34 reviews)
Tamarind Tree Hotel

Tamarind Tree Hotel

The Tamarind Tree is a stylish international hotel in a great location next to Wilson Airport.


90% (22 reviews)
Karen Gables

Karen Gables

Karen Gables is a small, high quality hotel in Nairobi with expansive gardens and only seven rooms.


100% (14 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


98% (8 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (6 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


88% (5 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


84% (5 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Eden Nairobi

Eden Nairobi

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
Ololo Safari Lodge

Ololo Safari Lodge

Ololo Safari Lodge and Farm is a luxury property on the southern edge of Nairobi National Park.


100% (1 review)
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Gardens and Cottages is small luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen.


60% (1 review)
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa