This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Roy's Restcamp
Roy's Restcamp
Roy's Restcamp

Reviews of Roy's Restcamp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

24 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Roy's Restcamp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Roy's Restcamp.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 24
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Edinburgh

"Roy's for good vibe and bush babies"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2019
"Good location for breaking up the journey to Caprivi.

Accommodation was fine, staff were great, food was good and the whole place had a very cool vibe.

It was also the only place in Namibia where we saw bush babies so worth staying there for that alone. We would be quite happy to stay there again." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr K & Mrs S
NL

"Squirrels in the cornflakes"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2017
"This was our least favorite lodge, the only accommodation suffering slightly from traffic noise from the nearby road.

Our room was a bit shabby, not entirely clean, with holes in the sheets. The food was less tasty - tinned carrots with lots of sugar added come to mind.

At breakfast, squirrels were diving in the cornflakes. However, because of its strategic location on the highway it may be OK as a stopover for one night.

There were no activities as far as we noticed (but we did not mind)." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"querky camp handy for overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 29 Mar 2017
"Warm welcome after long drive on featureless road.

Fairly basic and querky cabins which have single beds, and odd furnishings.

We liked this restcamp for an overnight stay and enjoyed some of the walks around the grounds.

Everything was clean and well provided, Service was fine, but without polish." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr R & Mrs M
UK

"Roys Restcamp."

1 night Arrived 25 Feb 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr D & Mrs J
IOW

"Very good stay"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"A quirky and memorable place.

An interesting hide for viewing game." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 7n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
W Midlands

"Amusing and convenient stopover."

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2016
"Quirky, thematic cottages. Clean and comfortable. Perfectly acceptable for a one night's stay to break up a long journey.

The food was tasty but no choice.

As we had to make a very early start the next morning we requested breakfast packs. These too proved to be as quirky as the accommodation, comprising of sweets, savoury snacks and more sweets - and a small sandwich!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms A
NZ

"Basic accommodation, yet quirky & comfy."

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2016
"Roy's Restcamp does not aspire to being more than the stopover it is. The facilities were comfortable and the main area had character. Some of the architecture is quite quirky in a rather heavy Germanic fashion.

The dinner was fine and we enjoyed using the hide overlooking the waterhole which attracted ostriches and eland. The compound included a swimming pool and good camping area and the birdlife was varied.

As we had a long drive the next day we ordered packed breakfasts to eat en route. Unfortunately these were terrible, consisting of one soggy ham and cheese toast and lots of sweet things (lollies etc) which we were unable to eat." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Sydney

"Quirky but comfortable stay at Roy's camp"

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2016
"Roy's rest camp is certainly very quirky! Each room is very different. Ours was quite an unattractive white block but inside was spacious and light (compared to my parents which was very dark and small). Bed very firm and bathroom needs an update.

Loved the waterhole viewing hide. Lots of animals arrived at sunset.

Evening dinner was very tasty. Very reasonably priced drinks.

Breakfast pack was terrible - included more sweets/lollies than I have had in years! No fruit, greasy toasted sandwich. This needs a complete overhaul!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms C & Mr M
Hants

"Roys Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2014
"Ideally positioned as a stop over for Nhoma on the road from Grootfontein up to Caprivi. Accommodation is good quality but very quirky. full of wooden carved posts to put your towell on etc. It is known for its birding, although we did not see huge variety. Food adequate.

Good internet access. but must sit in the garden on a specific chair to access it!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr G & Mrs S
NOT.

"More tall stories at roys"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2014
"We have stayed here many times and there is always a very good mix of interesting people staying and working here all with a good story to tell as always the food was great and we were made really welcome by Peter and all the staff" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 24
77%
24 reviews of Roy's Restcamp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
4
13
6
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Central Highlands

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness

One of our favourite lodges in Namibia for many years, we were very sad when Erongo Wilderness Lodge closed.


96% (414 reviews)
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

The rustic Mundulea Bushcamp offers superb and varied walking in the company of a top-class guide on a reserve that features many endangered or endemic species.


99% (71 reviews)
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

For a chance to spot some rare game species, Frans Indongo Lodge is an ideal stop over between Windhoek and the Etosha National Park.


93% (67 reviews)
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

A stylish and peaceful lodge, The Elegant Farmstead is a relaxing and comfortable place to break the journey between Windhoek and Etosha.


91% (38 reviews)
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guestfarm is a charming guestfarm on the site of an old mission station, in an unusually verdant patch of Namibia.


90% (35 reviews)
Cheetah View Lodge

Cheetah View

Cheetah View Lodge offers guests the chance to see cheetahs at close range and to learn about the work of the Cheetah Conservation Fund.


80% (9 reviews)
Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba Lodge

Ai Aiba is a simple and relatively large lodge with plenty of great walking, mountain biking trials and some spectacular San rock art.


89% (9 reviews)
Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge

Hohenstein Lodge is situated south of the Erongo Mountain Range. Each of its ten chalets has been built to make the most of the panoramic views.


68% (5 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa