This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge

Reviews of Fish River Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

58 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Fish River Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Fish River Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Zebra

54% success

Oryx

36% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 58
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs W
Kensington

"Exceptional views over Fish River Canyon"

2 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2015
"We truly enjoyed our stay at Fish River Canyon Lodge. Fantastic drive up to the lodge which is set in a spectacular location overlooking the canyon (with magnificent views from the room as well as the pool and sitting area).

Excellent throughout, we particularly enjoyed the full day drive in the Canyon, which included a swim in a natural rock pool." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Washington

"The Edge of Eternity at Fish River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2015
"The first view of Fish River Canyon from the Lodge is quite literally breath-taking, more than adequate recompense for a long and somewhat grueling drive in on the access road.

Extremely comfortable cabins of modern design perch atop the west rim of the Canyon. Incredible views in all directions. Very attractive common areas with fine, attentive service. The day-trip drive into the Canyon (with a swim in the Fish River) was well worth the time and effort, and our guide (Paul) was excellent. Extremely windy at times, especially in the late afternoon.

An excellent place!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Stunning position with amazing views"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2015
"This lodge is in the most amazing situation, perched right on the edge of the canyon, it is rather a trek off the road to get there, but well worth the effort, and nothing can prepare you for the view!

The lodge is well run and organised, the bungalows are a modern design, but somehow fit in better than thatched rustic, and cope with rather a windy location. There is nothing else within sight on this side of the canyon, which make the walks along the rim particularly memorable. The food and wine were good quality, and well cooked.
We went on a sunset drive, which gave us views further down the canyon, though not a place for wildlife really" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr I,Mrs A&friends
UK

"Great views but disappointing & underwhelming"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2015
"Stunning location. In good weather would probably seem much more inviting. Hot water bottles at night a nice and very necessary touch.

Weather was cold and staff failed to light the central fires in the morning and during the day, despite the issue having been raised with them. Doors and windows very poorly sealed against the biting wind. Supposed to offer ear plugs for the wind noise but they had run out. Staff not engaged or appearing to be happy in their work. Lack of sufficient seating in the lounge area. Food at breakfast served cold.

Access to the lodge very difficult and road really not suitable for standard saloon vehicles. At least one was badly damaged during our short stay. You must advise your clients of this. Our least favourite place of our stay." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Wonderful experience at Fish River Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2015
"The location is perfect. Stunningly beautiful.
Accommodation excellent.
Dining/guest area very spacious.
Food very good.
Staff attitude excellent-concerned when things went wrong with two leaking hot water bottles.
4WD drive tour with guide "Polis" to the bottom of the Canyon was very good.
Our only observations (and we understand that due to ownership this may be difficult to resolve) is that when you have done the two rim walks and Canyon trip that is it unless you are prepared to drive and pass over the very rough 19 kms access track again.

" See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & Ms G
Surrey

"Eco rooms on the edge of the windy canyon"

2 nights Arrived 9 Mar 2015
"Quite a taxing 20km drive from the main road - we're told you can make it in a 2 wheel drive vehicle if you are willing to try, but we were grateful for 4WD.

The staff were lovely and the walking tour (we didn't feel up to the 7 hour canyon trip) along the canyon rim was good. There's not much food choice but considering how difficult it is to get here, that's not too surprising. The rooms are quite plain, in line with the eco credentials.

Be warned: earplugs are standard issue with the room key because the wind whistles up from the canyon and around the rooms most evenings and nights. The earplugs are only needed if the noise gets particularly bad or you are particularly sensitive - we managed two nights without needing them.

Great views and the staff danced and sang for the guests one evening - much better than TV!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs E
Cornwall

"Lodge in breathtaking location"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2014
"This lodge is in a stunning location that takes your breath away and was one of the highlights of our trip.

We chose not to do the guided tour having spent the previous day in the car and did one of the recommended walks around the rim of the canyon and are so pleased that we did." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
W Lothian

"Fish River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2014
"what a place !!!!!!!!!!! words fail me, you MUST do this. The trip to to the canyon floor, and swimming in the pools. What is the point of going all the way to this place and not visiting the canyon floor. This is NOT a one night stay place.

Owned by Rockerfeller, I understand. Airstrip available if you want to fly in. The Toyota Landcruiser trip to the canyon floor is one hell of an experience. Must be done. Nine and a half out of ten. (Nothing is perfect)" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Leatherhea

"Fabulouis views from a wonderful lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2014
"The view from our room was so spectacular it took our breath away. The room was quite simple and bare but we did not care! The lodge and facilities were very good and the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. The food was good and all the meals were enjoyable.

We enjoyed an easy walk for 2 hours by ourselves along the cliff top through glorious quiver trees, aloes and many birds. We used this stop as a relaxing break so did not try out the more arduous activities. Wonderful clear starry night with no moon - but not cold.

The gravel D463 from the B4 was excellent but the19 km access was rocky and very slow (about 1 hour) and in places hard going in a 2 wheel drive although always passable." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Guy and Sarah
Kent

"What a view."

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2014
"I have to confess that having driven nearly 100km along a gravel road, then negotiated the 19km driveway to this lodge I was rather nervous that this would have been worth the effort. I need not have worried as the first thing that greets you on arrival is the quite incredible view from the main building out over Fish River Canyon.

The main building is where meals are served and you meet for the various optional activities. The rooms themselves are individual chalets perched on the edge of the cliff, each with an equally amazing view. They are described as minimalist but are totally acceptable for most travellers. the beds were comfortable and there was even an outside shower. A door on the toilet would have been a welcome feature as it does intrude on one's privacy ever so slightly.

Meals were generally pretty good although the steak on the first night was a little chewy when compared to the fantastic meat we had tasted in SA. On the whole though the food and wine choice was perfectly acceptable. What set this place apart though, aside from the view, was the warmth and friendliness of the staff. The hotel manager spends a while at each table each evening and discusses feedback and life in general; this is a really nice touch. The remainder of the staff performed a group sing song which although it sounds cheesy, was absolutely brilliant and wonderful entertainment.

We didn't carry out any of the activities other than a self guided walk, as we were quite tired and did not fancy a 7 hour driving tour after the long journey to get to the lodge. To get the best out of this lodge you really need to stay at least two nights. A party of pensioner adventurers arrived on a coach one tea time and only stayed the one night. Luckily we had two and could quite happily have stayed more." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 58
93%
58 reviews of Fish River Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
43
11
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Fish River Canyon

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

Just 20km from Fish River Canyon, Canyon Lodge was the first lodge in the area, with individual chalets built amongst huge granite boulders.


89% (96 reviews)
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

Relatively close to Fish River Canyon, Canyon Roadhouse combines the feel of an old farm with an extraordinary array motor memorabilia.


88% (34 reviews)
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

Close to Fish River Canyon, the reasonably priced Canyon Village features interior walls covered in murals by Namibian artists depicting the history of the area.


90% (12 reviews)
Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Vogelstrausskluft Lodge

Sadly closed, Vogelstrausskluft Lodge used to offer lovely views, welcoming staff and delicious food.


77% (6 reviews)
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

Ai-Ais Hot Springs Spa

The government-run Ai-Ais Restcamp is situated on a site of natural hot springs, down at the bottom of the Fish River Canyon.


80% (4 reviews)
Hobas Lodge

Hobas Lodge

Within a stone’s throw of the Hobas entrance to the Fish River Canyon, Hobas Lodge offers both bush chalets and camping.


40% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa